Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
who's reconfigged my LAN? [NOT solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 7:40 pm    Post subject: who's reconfigged my LAN? [NOT solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

the desktop m/c is connected to WAN via a one port ADSL router supplied by my ISP. That is set to configure by dhcp

I also have a small embedded system linked to another NIC on the desktop, that is statically configured on each end.

Three days ago I was able to view the http server running on the embedded system, all was as expected.

Yesterday Firefox failed to connect to it. So I tried command line ping , no resp.

So I checked ifconfig

Code:
eth_real: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 169.254.102.87  netmask 255.255.0.0  broadcast 169.254.255.255


[I have a udev rule that names it eth_real]

Since the other end is configured in 198.162.x.x space I'm not surprised I cannot reach it any more but where did this address come from ???


I should add that in this time frame I've been rebuilding kernel (2.6.32) a few times to remove the old ide_core and migrate to all SATA names.

On the face of it this should not affect networking and I have not knowingly messed with anything net related in the kernel in that period.

So I have several questions.

1. where is this IP coming from , I can't find it /etc/conf.d yet it remains on reboot.
2. who changed this setting in the last few days? If it was I, how?

There's some comments about APIPA net.example using this range but I don't see that being used anywhere.

:(

TIA, Gentree. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86


Last edited by Gentree on Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:54 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4681
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe this is the fallback address you get if your network connection cannot be established.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no 'fallback' if I specify a fixed IP in /etc/conf.d/net

That's what I don't get. I should be able to configure the NIC even if there's nothing plugged into it.

what am I missing?

Thx 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32091
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree,

dhcpcd, or one of its friends, ran for the interface.
It could not contact a dhcp server, so it assigned itself a link-local IP

I guess your net file is in a mess ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ned.

/etc/conf.d/net has not changed since 12th Jan 2013 according to its datestamp.

Three days ago it worked.

:?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32091
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree,

Look in emerge.log to see what got updated in the last 3 or 4 days
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No emerge activity since June. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aim nano
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Location: Jackson, MS

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps their is an issue, then, with your DHCP server/modem/router. I just had to replace a modem for a client that had a broken DHCP server (was assigning conflicting ips)...it can happen
_________________
Unanswered posts need love too.
--
~ # emerge -pv gentoo-love
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for suggestion but the problem is that this NIC should be static with an IP I have written into conf.d/net

Also there is no dhcp server available to that interface, so if dhcpd does try to configure it , it will fail (and presumably attribute the IP I'm seeing as a fallback).

So I have two problems. Firstly conf.d/net is not using the static IP config for this NIC and second that something , somewhere is trying to use dhcpd on the this interface.

That has happened within the last 3 days.

:?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just found this near the end of /var/log/messages

Code:

Oct 27 11:03:50 localhost init: Entering runlevel: 3
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: version 5.5.6 starting
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: all: not configured to accept IPv6 RAs
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost kernel: [   14.896355] eth_real: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost kernel: [   14.897660] eth_mobo: no link during initialization.
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_real: checking for 169.254.102.87
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_mobo: waiting for carrier
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_real: carrier lost
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_real: carrier acquired
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_real: checking for 169.254.102.87
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_mobo: carrier acquired
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_mobo: carrier lost
Oct 27 11:03:51 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_mobo: waiting for carrier
Oct 27 11:03:57 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: eth_real: using IPv4LL address 169.254.102.87
Oct 27 11:03:57 localhost dhcpcd[1773]: forked to background, child pid 1869
....
Oct 27 11:04:00 localhost dhcpcd[1869]: eth_real: broadcasting for a lease


question is : Why ?

what is triggering eth_real to use dhcpd and why is it not taking the static IP I define in /etc/conf.d/net ?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For an explanation what the IP is, see http://wiki.wireshark.org/APIPA

Can we see /etc/conf.d/net?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

config_eth_real="192.168.212.3/8"

dhcpcd_wlan0=" -C resolv.conf"
dhcpcd_wlan1=" -C resolv.conf"

config_eth_mobo="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth_mobo=" -C resolv.conf"



I've stripped out all the waffle and comments. This should be the essence of it.

thx
8)

PS , just in case it is relevant , I think I did activate CONFIG_PATA_ACPI=y in the kernel while messing with the ide/sata changes. Should not affect this but I thought it should be mentioned since that is something that changed in the relevant period.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 9050

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although this is not the root of your problem, setting your address as a /8 when you are clearly using the standard reserved address range is wrong. You probably want a /24.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
[I have a udev rule that names it eth_real]


Is this perhaps the source of the problem? If you don't have that udev rule and use the name it normally gives, can you still replicate the problem?

I think it has to do something with the timing of the udev rule kicking in and the moment the net scripts run.

If that's the case, you'll probably want to play around with dependencies between the init script.
Alternatively, you can opt to move the net scripts to a different run level to see if that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I don't know why I put that as the mask.

However, when I supply that to ifconfig I get my LAN back.

It remains a mystery why this line is apparently not being used and dhcp is instead being run on this interface.

Some of the best minds on this forum seem unable to spot it.

:?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I think it has to do something with the timing of the udev rule kicking in and the moment the net scripts run.


Thanks, I'd thought that it may be some subtle difference in timing using a different driver for IDE disk, but booting the old ide enabled kernel also shows the same problem.

Perhaps CONFIG_PATA_ACPI=y modified the timing.

I'll look into it.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen this before, the culprit here is the router that triggers dhcp in your linux box.

Regardless of whether you've added static ip some mechanism in modern routers trigger dhcp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TomWij
Developer
Developer


Joined: 04 Jul 2012
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_______0 wrote:
I've seen this before, the culprit here is the router that triggers dhcp in your linux box.

Regardless of whether you've added static ip some mechanism in modern routers trigger dhcp.


Which mechanism does that? If there is one, there must be a RFC to cover it; I haven't heard of this mechanism yet, without the DHCP client configured to listen this simply can't happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still not any closer to solving this.

I tested removing the ACPI module to see if that was affecting timing with libata.noacpi=1 on kernel line. No change.

I tried removing my udev renaming to leave it as eth0, same result except that it is now using 169.254.138.129 :?

While ------O's suggestion seems improbable , there have been changes at the WLAN end in this period. A number of sites that were failing to respond recently, that I had to use a proxy to access, have been unblocked.

Also, if the router was not powered up at boot time, Gentoo used to get stuck during booting, waiting for dhcp to timeout on the router connection

That is no longer happening.

Code:

Oct 28 06:13:23 localhost init: Entering runlevel: 3
Oct 28 06:13:24 localhost dhcpcd[1769]: version 5.5.6 starting
Oct 28 06:13:24 localhost dhcpcd[1769]: all: not configured to accept IPv6 RAs
Oct 28 06:13:24 localhost kernel: [   14.890814] eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1
Oct 28 06:13:24 localhost kernel: [   14.892140] eth_mobo: no link during initialization.
Oct 28 06:13:24 localhost dhcpcd[1769]: eth0: checking for 169.254.138.129



So dhcpcd is getting run on "all". Why has the explicit rule that I put in conf.d/net suddenly started being ignored ?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_______0
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomWij wrote:
_______0 wrote:
I've seen this before, the culprit here is the router that triggers dhcp in your linux box.

Regardless of whether you've added static ip some mechanism in modern routers trigger dhcp.


Which mechanism does that? If there is one, there must be a RFC to cover it; I haven't heard of this mechanism yet, without the DHCP client configured to listen this simply can't happen.


Gentoo has had this problem for a while. It has to do with default dhcpcd configuration when you install it. dhcpcd doing wtf it wants to do.

However I highly doubt ATA and ACPI kernel config got anything to do with.

How new is your mobo? Perhaps some crazy UEFI settings is getting in the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
dhcpcd doing wtf it wants to do.

It would probable be helpful if you were more specific with these claims. What specifics can you provide that is at the level of a bug report , rather then wild unsubstantiated claims. I'm not saying you're wrong but it needs backing up.


The mobo is the same one I've been using for at least five years and I see no need to put everything into question now. Networking has never give me this problem before and I've been using this evolving Gentoo installation for about 10 years.


It is not impossible that the router got a firmware update in the period in question (that I am never informed about).

There have also been external changes in WLAN responses as I noted above.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something's definitely screwing with my head now.

I have this line in /etc/udev/rules.d/10*rules

Code:
KERNEL=="eth*", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="8139too", NAME="eth_real"


It was what I had at the start of this thread, it gave me a device called eth_real as reported.

To try TomWij's suggestion of leaving as eth0 , I put a single # in front to comment it out. It did not resolve IP issue so I took the hash mark out again.... reboot ...

But now it still gives me eth0 device and not eth_real.


Code:

Oct 28 18:37:24 localhost kernel: [    7.446998] 8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.28
Oct 28 18:37:24 localhost kernel: [    7.447223] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC1] enabled at IRQ 16
Oct 28 18:37:24 localhost kernel: [    7.447232] 8139too 0000:01:0a.0: PCI INT A -> Link[APC1] -> GSI 16 (level, high) -> IRQ 16
Oct 28 18:37:24 localhost kernel: [    7.447888] eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xc400, 00:08:a1:73:74:e9, IRQ 16
Oct 28 18:37:24 localhost kernel: [    7.475102] usb usb2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice


forcedeth driver installs for eth1 and udev renames to eth_mobo as expected.



That's now two config lines being ignored. What the hell is this?
:x
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just noticed, while scrutinising boot messages scrolling by:

Quote:
populating /dev with existing devices through uevents



Is there some kind of caching mechanism screwing all this up?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah-ha! 70-persistent-net.rules
Code:

# PCI device 0x10ec:0x8139 (8139too)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:08:a1:73:74:e9", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"


I have a similar line that I've remmed out before. Though that was quite a while ago judging by the date of the backup I made before manual editing.

7665 -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2247 Oct 27 21:49 /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
7668 -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2051 Nov 10 2009 /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules.not



The file headers says:
Quote:
# This file was automatically generated by the /lib/udev/write_net_rules
# program, run by the persistent-net-generator.rules rules file.


What triggered that file being written to two days ago?

Well that's got me back to eth_real on 169.254.102.87 , but I still need to find out why my settings for eth_real in conf.d/net is not being respected.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5236
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I seems to be discussing this with myself by this stage but just in case:


I inserted a garbage line into /etc/conf.d/net and it produced no error.

Code:
init 3


messages:
Code:
Oct 29 11:19:36 localhost init: Entering runlevel: 3
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: version 5.5.6 starting
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: all: not configured to accept IPv6 RAs
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost kernel: [   14.064341] eth_real: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_real: checking for 169.254.102.87
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_mobo: rebinding lease of 192.168.0.10
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_real: carrier lost
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_real: carrier acquired
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_real: checking for 169.254.102.87
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_mobo: carrier lost
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_mobo: carrier acquired
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_mobo: rebinding lease of 192.168.0.10
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_mobo: acknowledged 192.168.0.10 from 192.168.0.254
Oct 29 11:19:37 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_mobo: checking for 192.168.0.10
Oct 29 11:19:42 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: eth_real: using IPv4LL address 169.254.102.87
Oct 29 11:19:42 localhost dhcpcd[1774]: forked to background, child pid 1824
Oct 29 11:19:42 localhost dhcpcd[1824]: eth_mobo: leased 192.168.0.10 for 864000 seconds


At this stage it's looking like /etc/conf.d/net is not even being read !

:?

PS Indeed. Removing conf.d/net altogether makes no difference whatsoever.

What has perverted the normal network setup proceedure in the last few days?
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum