Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is there any way to run 64bit binaries on my 32bit gentoo ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
haleh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:13 am    Post subject: Is there any way to run 64bit binaries on my 32bit gentoo ? Reply with quote

Hello guys
I don't want to switch my gentoo to 64bit because I don't have time to do this and on the other hand I want to run 64bit binaries what can I do ? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 130
Location: somewhere in Berlusconia.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qemu?
_________________
Truck!!
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haleh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

erm67 wrote:
qemu?

I have found out that I can use emulators like qemu ! but I don't have info about it for example whether it makes my linux slow or not???is it worth to use them or is it better to install another 64bit linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4014
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I heard the speed penalty of QEMU of running a 64 bit VM on a 32-bit OS (64-bit CPU) is high but not unusable. However nothing will beat a fresh 64-bit install on a 64-bit CPU. I found that PAE 32-bit OS on a 64-bit CPU is a significant penalty in itself but not nearly as much as running a 64-bit VM on a 32-bit OS.

I reinstalled on my 32 bit OS 64-bit CPUs and noticed a bit of a speedup over the PAE kernels I have been running to access all 4GB+ of RAM. Disk speeds didn't change any, just pure memory-intensive applications.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2031
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what time?

create a chroot:
mkdir /newgentoo, cd /newgentoo, unpack stage3 tarball, bind mount proc, sys, dev, dev/pts, chroot ./. /bin/bash

start emerging whatever you need.

build new kernel

start from systemrescuecd

copy contents of /newgentoo into /

reboot

you are done.
_________________
AidanJT wrote:

Libertardian denial of reality is wholly unimpressive and unconvincing, and simply serves to demonstrate what a bunch of delusional fools they all are.

Satan's got perfectly toned abs and rocks a c-cup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sikpuppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Central Coast, NSW

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why? It will slow down your system if you use an emulator, so what possible use could having 64-bit binaries? Unless it's for bragging rights.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NiHaoMike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
Why? It will slow down your system if you use an emulator, so what possible use could having 64-bit binaries? Unless it's for bragging rights.

Testing purposes. When 64 bit was still new, the only option most (compiler and assembly) developers had was to use an emulator to validate their code.

But yeah, nowadays, it's silly not to use a 64 bit OS on a 64 bit machine.
_________________
Core i7-3930k
DX79SI
16GB 1600 DDR3
GTX 970 4GB
120mm Delta fan with Cindy Wu sensorless DSP drive
900W Lainey Schmidt digital power system
128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD (/)
2x 1TB HDD RAID 0 (/bulk)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sikpuppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Central Coast, NSW

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NiHaoMike wrote:
sikpuppy wrote:
Why? It will slow down your system if you use an emulator, so what possible use could having 64-bit binaries? Unless it's for bragging rights.

Testing purposes. When 64 bit was still new, the only option most (compiler and assembly) developers had was to use an emulator to validate their code.

But yeah, nowadays, it's silly not to use a 64 bit OS on a 64 bit machine.
The only problem I can see is if 32bit binaries have to be used. Then there is a similar problem to using 64 on a 32 bit system, emulator lag? WINE used to be a swine to configure on a 64 bit system because of all the 32 bit compatibility libraries, but maybe that's changed now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

64bit chroot?
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sikpuppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Central Coast, NSW

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cokehabit wrote:
64bit chroot?
Gesundheit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NiHaoMike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
The only problem I can see is if 32bit binaries have to be used. Then there is a similar problem to using 64 on a 32 bit system, emulator lag? WINE used to be a swine to configure on a 64 bit system because of all the 32 bit compatibility libraries, but maybe that's changed now.

The few 32 bit blobs I come across run just fine on my 64 bit machine. Not sure how much (if any) performance penalty there is, but if it's designed for a 32 bit CPU, any modern CPU should run it really well.
_________________
Core i7-3930k
DX79SI
16GB 1600 DDR3
GTX 970 4GB
120mm Delta fan with Cindy Wu sensorless DSP drive
900W Lainey Schmidt digital power system
128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD (/)
2x 1TB HDD RAID 0 (/bulk)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CeleryStrings
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-

Last edited by CeleryStrings on Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1567
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
cokehabit wrote:
64bit chroot?
Gesundheit.

:lol:
_________________
pjp wrote:
I didn't misquote you, I just misunderstood you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haleh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks everyone for your suggestions :) now I am thinking I become confused why I installed 32bit OS on my 64bit CPU !!!??? 8O you convince me to reinstall my gentoo for X86_64 !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
haleh
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

energyman76b wrote:
what time?

create a chroot:
mkdir /newgentoo, cd /newgentoo, unpack stage3 tarball, bind mount proc, sys, dev, dev/pts, chroot ./. /bin/bash

start emerging whatever you need.

build new kernel

start from systemrescuecd

copy contents of /newgentoo into /

reboot

you are done.


it seems reinstalling is safer ! I haven't used systemrescuecd yet !
Quote:
start emerging whatever you need.
you mean I shoud install xorg,desktop and ... ??? if so what is difference with reinstalling?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

haleh wrote:
energyman76b wrote:
what time?

create a chroot:
mkdir /newgentoo, cd /newgentoo, unpack stage3 tarball, bind mount proc, sys, dev, dev/pts, chroot ./. /bin/bash

start emerging whatever you need.

build new kernel

start from systemrescuecd

copy contents of /newgentoo into /

reboot

you are done.


it seems reinstalling is safer ! I haven't used systemrescuecd yet !
Quote:
start emerging whatever you need.
you mean I shoud install xorg,desktop and ... ??? if so what is difference with reinstalling?
Basically he's telling you to build a new system in a directory and then boot off a cd and move it all to / What that means is you can use your computer while most of it is being done. You're probably better off just reinstalling just to be safe
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4014
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had been running 32-bit on my 64-bit CPUs for a long time too, it took me forever to transition - mostly because I didn't want to... reinstall.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
I had been running 32-bit on my 64-bit CPUs for a long time too, it took me forever to transition - mostly because I didn't want to... reinstall.
Really? I used to do it all the time. I could never stop fiddling and kept messing my up system and instead of taking 4 days to fix it it was best just to reinstall. Eventually I could do it with my eyes closed. I always meant to do a stage 4 but never bothered. I toyed around with things like
Code:
emerge -C glibc && emerge --depclean && emerge system
Or something. I can't remember the exact things. It was fun but I always ended up reinstalling
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4171
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
NiHaoMike wrote:
sikpuppy wrote:
Why? It will slow down your system if you use an emulator, so what possible use could having 64-bit binaries? Unless it's for bragging rights.

Testing purposes. When 64 bit was still new, the only option most (compiler and assembly) developers had was to use an emulator to validate their code.

But yeah, nowadays, it's silly not to use a 64 bit OS on a 64 bit machine.
The only problem I can see is if 32bit binaries have to be used. Then there is a similar problem to using 64 on a 32 bit system, emulator lag? WINE used to be a swine to configure on a 64 bit system because of all the 32 bit compatibility libraries, but maybe that's changed now.

Not quite a similar problem
32bit OS trying to execute a 64bit binary is an impossibility since the kernel would have set the CPU into 32bit mode - short of software emulating a complete 64bit CPU
a 64bit OS trying to execute a 32bit binary is just a case of ensuring the correct associated libraries exist
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4014
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, I didn't want to reinstall, I wanted to use my computer for things other than (rebooting and) reinstalling :D And yes I tend to fix rather than reinstall. There were a couple of instances that I had to end up reinstalling but those were extremely rare.

And yes I tend to stage4 most new machines now. I actually keep two external USB/eSATA hard drives with a generic base "stage 4" Gentoo systems (one x86, one x86_64) that I bootstrap with - to minimize setup times. Basically all I need to do is boot with those disks, copy everything from that HDD, setup bootloader, and reboot. I then can use that machine while it emerges the rest of the packages I need for that system.

What's annoying is trying to keep those setups up to date, and yes that means I have to emerge --update world on those disks too. Right now I use a... QEMU virtual machine to boot and update those stage 4 hard drives...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Server Manager in Server2008R2 allows me to make nice system state and bare bones backups that I keep on a remote host which is useful. I haven't seen such a feature in Linux but there must be one - although it may not be as polished as the MS one. Plus Linux could do with a single set of server tools packaged together in the same way as Server Manager although lots of people would complain about what's in it (or what's not)
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16115
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much is Server2008?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1567
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you still buy it?

Server 2012 is like $500 for just the bare-bones home user type of setup (no more than two processors, etc.). Plus, you have to pay for whatever you're going to run on it.

The un-crippled version is $6,000 (plus whatever you're going to run on it).
_________________
pjp wrote:
I didn't misquote you, I just misunderstood you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sikpuppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Central Coast, NSW

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BoneKracker wrote:
Can you still buy it?

Server 2012 is like $500 for just the bare-bones home user type of setup (no more than two processors, etc.). Plus, you have to pay for whatever you're going to run on it.

The un-crippled version is $6,000 (plus whatever you're going to run on it).
I'd say cokehabit is wearing the eyepatch to avoid that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
BoneKracker wrote:
Can you still buy it?

Server 2012 is like $500 for just the bare-bones home user type of setup (no more than two processors, etc.). Plus, you have to pay for whatever you're going to run on it.

The un-crippled version is $6,000 (plus whatever you're going to run on it).
I'd say cokehabit is wearing the eyepatch to avoid that.
Not at all. I have Server 2008R2 Standard, Enterprise and Datacentre (they come together). I got it free.
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum