Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
black screen on 3.10.7-gentoo-r1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:43 am    Post subject: black screen on 3.10.7-gentoo-r1 Reply with quote

I built kernel 3.10.7 with the nvidia drivers and it seemed (to my faulty memory) to intermittently work...but most of the time I'd get a completely black screen, no nvidia logo at all...
Code:
00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C51 [GeForce Go 6150] (rev a2)

I then built 3.10.7-r1 and it worked once, then no more...

I'm not even sure how to post dmesg because I had to log into an older kernel 3.8.13...and this kernel works fine...

how can I solve this error?

Code:
papapenguin ~ # emerge --info
Portage 2.2.7 (default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde, gcc-4.7.3, glibc-2.17, 3.8.13-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.8.13-gentoo-x86_64-AMD_Turion-tm-_64_X2_Mobile_Technology_TL-50-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:     3978032 total,    509740 free
KiB Swap:    1919760 total,   1919760 free
Timestamp of tree: Fri, 04 Oct 2013 00:45:01 +0000
ld GNU ld (GNU Binutils) 2.23.2
app-shells/bash:          4.2_p45
dev-java/java-config:     2.2.0
dev-lang/python:          2.7.5-r2, 3.2.5-r2, 3.3.2-r1
dev-util/cmake:           2.8.11.2
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.28
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2
sys-apps/openrc:          0.12.1
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.6-r1
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13, 2.69
sys-devel/automake:       1.11.6, 1.12.6, 1.13.4, 1.14
sys-devel/binutils:       2.23.2
sys-devel/gcc:            4.7.3-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.8
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.2
sys-devel/make:           3.82-r4
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.11 (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.17
Repositories: gentoo proaudio
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA skype-4.0.0.7-copyright skype-eula dlj-1.1 AdobeFlash-11.x Google-TOS Oracle-BCLA-JavaSE"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=native -msse3 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt /var/lib/hsqldb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/php/apache2-php5.5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5.5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cli-php5.5/ext-active/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-march=native -msse3 -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--autounmask=n"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms splitdebug strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/var/lib/layman/pro-audio"
USE="X a52 aac accessibility acl acpi aim alsa amd64 apache2 apng berkdb bluetooth branding bzip2 cairo caps cdb cdda cddb cdinstall cdparanoia cdr cgi cgid cli consolekit cracklib crypt css cups curl cxx dbus declarative device-mapper dri dts dv dvb dvd dvdr eigen emboss enca encode exif extras fam ffmpeg firefox flac fontconfig fortran fpm freetype ftp gcj gd gdbm gif glib gmp gnutls gpm gsf gstreamer gtk gudev handbook hwdb iconv icu imap ipod ipv6 jabber jack jadetex java javascript jingle jpeg kdcraw kde kdepim kipi kontact kpathsea ladspa laptop lcms ldap libnotify mad matroska melt minizip mmx mng modules mp3 mp4 mpeg mplayer msn mso mssql mudflap multilib mysql mysqli ncurses nls nptl nsplugin nvidia objc ogg okular openexr opengl openmp openxr oscar pam pango pcmcia pcre pda pdf pdo perl phonon php plasma png policykit ppds python qt-static qt3support qt4 quicktime raw readline reports rss ruby scanner script sdl secure-delete semantic-desktop session skype snmp source sox speex spell splitdebug sql sse sse2 ssl startup-notification svg syslog tcpd theora threads tidy tiff timidity tools truetype udev udisks unicode upower usb v4l v4l2 vcd video vorbis webkit webpresence wifi win32codecs wv2 wxwidgets x264 xcb xcomposite xetex xine xinerama xml xmlwriter xscreensaver xslt xv xvid yahoo zip zlib" ABI_X86="64" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump author" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse synaptics evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-5" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_2" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby19 ruby18 ruby20" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia v4l" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, SYNC, USE_PYTHON

_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------


Last edited by papapenguin on Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:41 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1113
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i get a simular issue when i use slim and xfce, i just kill X and use startx to bring up X and it works.

Yet my other issue(s) with Gentoo remain :/
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you kill X with no display at all?

I'm pretty sure the system is up and running...what would the command be without a terminal?
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1113
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

press - ctl+alt+f4

should drop you to a login prompt
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeronullity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you compile your kernel with only VGA 16 support and nothing else.. VGA 16 is only supported
by NVidia even though VESA usually works, NVidia won't support it.. so I would only enable VGA 16 if you do most of your work in
X in anyways. Then for X make sure you have the correct NVidia driver loaded and you can confirm it with glxinfo command.
You can blacklist other video drivers if they become a problem in make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeronullity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FizzyWidget wrote:
i get a simular issue when i use slim and xfce, i just kill X and use startx to bring up X and it works.

Yet my other issue(s) with Gentoo remain :/


Sounds like you may need to edit your /etc/conf.d/xdm file to list the proper display manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's what I got when I hit ctl+alt+f4 then startx:

it tried to start nvidia, the logo popped up for a second, then I got this error (I wrote it, so please bear with me)

Quote:
error parsing config file 'home/donald/.nvidia-settings-rc'

on line 51 0/XVideoTextureSynctoBlack=1

unrecognizable attribute name

_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4667
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what is in home/donald/.nvidia-settings-rc? If you do not have any custom settings then you could just remove .nvidia-settings-rc.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeronullity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mv /home/donald/.nvidia-settings-rc /home/donald/nvidia-settings-rc.bak

or simply comment out that line in the cfg file.. & see if you get any further errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...thanks all for the info...

I didn't have any custom settings so I ran
Quote:
mv /home/donald/.nvidia-settings-rc /home/donald/nvidia-settings-rc.bak

or simply comment out that line in the cfg file.. & see if you get any further errors.

and it seems to work :D
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

but now I shutdown and upon restart got the same problem...and have to do it again...
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, now upon booting the 3.10.7-r1 kernel, I get a completely black screen, I
Quote:
ctl + alt + f4

drop into prompt, and
Code:
startx

and get
Code:
Loading Extension GLX
Loading Extension NV-GLX
Loading Extension NV-CONTROL
Loading Extension XINERAMA
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 60: xclock: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 59: twm: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 63: exec: xterm: not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 62: xterm: command not found

xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down (EE) Server terminated successfully (0). closing log file.

What is wrong???
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as your post goes, it seems everything is working just fine - xserver seems to terminate gracefully due to no clients.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

then I'm completely lost...it doesn't show an image when it starts up...completely black...and when I ctl+alt+f4 to drop into command line, and try to start it again...it won't start...

...why no clients?
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeronullity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

papapenguin wrote:
then I'm completely lost...it doesn't show an image when it starts up...completely black...and when I ctl+alt+f4 to drop into command line, and try to start it again...it won't start...

...why no clients?



CTRL + ALT + F7 if you don't get a desktop/login screen.
Stop X server.
/etc/init.d/xdm stop
killall -9 X

then try restarting.. if still having issues check for error msgs in X startup log.. and try to resolve those errors.

There should be no need to manually execute startx, unless you don't want to use X as your primary console/desktop.

You can simply add xdm to your rc startup, just make sure the /etc/conf.d/xdm file is using your correct login manager.

And then your login manager should start every time you reboot your system with your default Desktop of choice.

Blank screen at startup typically means one of your configuration files is incorrect, /etc/X11/xorg.conf , /etc/conf.d/xdm, etc. or your video driver installation is incorrect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree, there should be no need to manually startx...

xdm is in my rc startup...

my /etc/conf.d/xdm is set to "kdm"

everything seems like it should work...

when I ctl + alt + f7, nothing happens...

I then ctl + alt + f4 to drop out of X, then
Code:
/etc/init.d/xdm stop

yields
Quote:
* warning xdm is already stopped

I ran
Code:
emerge --ask @x11-module-rebuild

which rebuilt some packages, including nvidia drivers, but still get the error...

it's very strange, though, when first logging out of the older kernel, and trying to log into the newest kernel, I selected kernel 3.10.7-r1 and it worked...I even checked
Code:
emerge --info

and verified that I was in the latest kernel...but logging back in a 2nd time didn't work...

I do see this in the build...
Code:
KBUILD_EXTMOD="/var/tmp/portage/x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-304.108/work/kernel" -f /usr/src/linux-3.10.7-gentoo-r1/Makefile \
modules
test -e include/generated/autoconf.h -a -e include/config/auto.conf || (                \
echo >&2;                                                       \
echo >&2 "  ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.";           \
echo >&2 "         include/generated/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.";\
echo >&2 "         Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.";      \
echo >&2 ;                                                      \
/bin/false)

could this have something to do with it?
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeronullity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only kernel setting that I can think of that would directly have affect would be the video drivers..
if using NVidia binary driver I recommend only enabling VGA16 in the kernel. If it works the first time but
not the second.. sounds like a setting is getting changed for w/e reason after your first start. Which could
be due to a number of reasons, configuration problems, some thing in .bashrc startup, drivers getting changed, etc..

Try blacklisting all video drivers, and installing NVidia binary from nvidia.com

There is multiple ways to blacklist a driver..
I personally use -driver_name (USE flags) in /etc/make.conf

then
emerge --update --newuse --deep world
emerge --depclean
revdep-rebuild
repeat if necessary


If your running kernel is different then the one compiled in /usr/src/linux
it can also cause issues with the mainstream binaries, and should give you
a warning as such.

check your running kernel version against the source version /usr/src/linux

uname -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok...I'm sure it has something to do with
Code:
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

since I have this error
Code:
Loading Extension GLX
Loading Extension NV-GLX
Loading Extension NV-CONTROL
Loading Extension XINERAMA
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 60: xclock: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 59: twm: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 63: exec: xterm: not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 62: xterm: command not found

xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down (EE) Server terminated successfully (0). closing log file.

I commented out these 4 lines

Code:
#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then







    xrdb -merge $sysresources

fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then







    xrdb -merge "$userresources"

fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs


if [ -n "`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`" ]; then
   command="`/etc/X11/chooser.sh`"
else
   failsafe="yes"
fi

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
   for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?* ; do
      [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
   done
   unset f
fi

if [ -n "$failsafe" ]; then
   twm &
#   xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
#   xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
   xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
   exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login
else
   exec $command
fi

I can
Code:
startx

and I get into KDE, I can also
Code:
ctl + alt + f7

and
Code:
ctl + alt +f4

to bounce in and out of X, but on
Code:
ctl + alt + f4

I still get
Code:
Loading Extension XINERAMA
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 59: twm: command not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 62: xterm: command not found

I'm not sure if X starts automatically yet...I'll check...
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4667
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
As far as your post goes, it seems everything is working just fine - xserver seems to terminate gracefully due to no clients.


What voidmage said ... you must load something on top of X or it will terminate.

You better pastebin the Xorg log.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeronullity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your global xinitrc file looks fine.. I would leave those lines un-commented.

You also have a local user .xinitrc file.. check that. $h/.xinitrc

Try adding

exec startkde

if it doesn't already exist.

Is it currently working other then those errors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WvR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 139
Location: Tsuruga, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Late response..... I had a similar problem after I upgraded to systemd and Gnome-3.8. The system would boot, the X server would start, but nothing than a black screen, and no relevant errors in any of the logs. I could "startx", it would even start TWM, but anything else: nothing worked. In the end, I "solved" the problem by un-installing Gnome, getting rid of systemd, and installing XFCE. Not much of a "solution" but at least I can use my computer again :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is my xorg log file in root...
http://pastebin.com/DsCjDsUb
and as usr...
http://pastebin.com/fFXxPiuP
is there anything else I can post that would help solve this problem...it seems that I've had nothing but problems with KDE for a solid 3 months...
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x.para
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 166
Location: CZ

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try rebuild udev with keymap USE flag

http://gentoobrowse.randomdan.homeip.net/use/keymap
_________________
Miracles are happening!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papapenguin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 694
Location: Bellevue

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks x.para, I will try that...the strange thing is that when I last restarted, it worked fine--the Nvidia logo popped up, then KDM, then I logged in...no need to press F4 and then F7...
_________________
--------------
Compaq Presario V6120US
AMD Turion 64X2
------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pertplus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I'm a noob so correct me if im wrong....but everyone here seems to be missing the point!

You need a window manager installed to use X, or X will quit like that. E.g. until I installed enlightenment, my X would quit in the exact same manner. (thats why gentoo hanbook suggests emerge xterm just to test. When I did that, X would start with some xterms open, even before I installed window manager)

You can also make sure the window manger is set to start in ~/.xinitrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum