Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
portage ingores repos.conf
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ayvango
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:53 pm    Post subject: portage ingores repos.conf Reply with quote

I use a few overlays that provide no appropriate metadata/layout.conf. I've written down all this overlays in the repos.conf file and set masters = gentoo to them all. I still receive portage complaints about missed masters entry in missed metadata/layout.conf files. What should I do to tell portage about masters for the overlays?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1411

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See:
Portage(5) manpage

portage(5) wrote:
masters
Specifies master repositories of given repository.
Setting this attribute is generally not recommended since resulting changes in eclass inheritance may trigger performance issues due to invalidation of metadata cache.
When 'force = masters' attribute is not set, egencache(1), emirrordist(1) and repoman(1) ignore this attribute, since operations performed by these tools are inherently not site-specific.

_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ayvango
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried to set force=master and portage still complains just after starting and before outputing any other data.

P.S. "The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art" - resemble Spengler a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1411

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ayvango wrote:
I've tried to set force=master and portage still complains just after starting and before outputing any other data.

P.S. "The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art" - resemble Spengler a lot


Re: Sig In my teens I was out having dinner at a Mexican restaurant. I left to relieve myself, and that quote was scrawled on the stall wall with a knife. I'm now nearly 40, and never have been able to find the"author"
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper


Last edited by eyoung100 on Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 4118

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I understand, it is a mistake of the overlay not to specify some masters. You cannot "fix" the mistake in the overlay by overriding the data somewhere else. You must really change the file in the overlay itself, asking the overlay maintainer if necessary. (For git overlays, you could simply remove the file from git control using .gitignore).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum