Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
grub2 - ext4.mod not found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:31 pm    Post subject: grub2 - ext4.mod not found Reply with quote

Hi,

after upgrading sys-boot/grub-9999 to sys-boot/grub:2 on my amd64 machine grub2 complains about a missing /grub2/i386-pc/ext4.mod after selecting the boot kernel from the menu. This message is automatically skipped after some seconds and the boot just runs normally.
The message appears as well on ext3 as ext4 partitions.

Since I could not find any hint via google I want to ask you if anyone could tell me what grub2 wants and where I can get it.

Thanks
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GabrielYYZ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Dominican Republic

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you run, as root

Code:
# grub2-install /dev/sd[*]


after upgrading (remember to mount /boot, if necessary)? Where "[*]" is the boot drive, in my case it's /dev/sda. I'm thinking your grub2 is using grub-9999 config and there was a "insmod ext4" there.

Apparently, there is no ext4.mod, just ext2.mod and that works for ext3 and ext4 as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer - yes I did... apparently I am using root for all the installation stuff.

I can not understand what you mean with:
Quote:
...I'm thinking your grub2 is using grub-9999 config...
.

I was just setting up a new gentoo on an other partition and installed grub:2 there incl. the grub2-install which somehow broke my boot device so that I had to boot from the command line manually. After fixing this (it was the /boo/grub2 instead /boot/grub ) I got a bootably system again, but with the descibed error message.

I used
Code:
mount  /dev/sdb1  /boot
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
grub2-install /dev/sdb
for setup and install.

Later on I replaced grub-9999 by grub:2 on my productive system too, but the error message still was there.

Do you have any hints to check if grub_2 is still using some old stuff?
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GabrielYYZ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Dominican Republic

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What i meant is that after upgrading sys-boot/grub-9999 to sys-boot/grub:2, there could have been some old config files left around if one doesn't actually run grub2-install. Since you did run it, i don't think that's the problem.

What i'm thinking is, did you run
Code:

mount /dev/sdb1 /boot
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
grub2-install /dev/sdb

in that order?

If yes, try to run
Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
again if you haven't done so after the grub2-install. If you don't run grub2-mkconfig after grub2-install, the .cfg file might be incompatible with the new bootloader and that might be where your "missing ext4.mod" error lies.

PS: Maybe i'm not explaining myself clearly, if you have any doubts about any of ^^ that, let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact I did several circles with editing the /etc/grub.d/... config files, running grub2-mkconfig and grub2-install.
I felt that also the drive and or partition numbering with (hd0,1) changed a little so it took me some trials to get my config working again.

Now everything works well - exept this error message....

When I finished my new gentoo install on the other partition I will try grub2-install from this - actually I am still in the chroot environment ;-)
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GabrielYYZ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Dominican Republic

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's really weird...

I also used grub-9999 when i first installed Gentoo but i never got that error message, not even when i upgraded. There doesn't seem to be anything on Google to help and, what actually makes this really weird, is that there is no "ext4.mod", so i really have no clue what it might be other than what i've said. If it's not too much trouble, post back after you finish and try grub2-install/mkconfig again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rg.viza
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stegerpl wrote:


I was just setting up a new gentoo on an other partition and installed grub:2 there incl. the grub2-install which somehow broke my boot device ...


you sure sda and sdb didn't get swapped when you plugged in the new drive? When I do a new os install I _always_ physically disconnect my current system drive if I aim to keep it. You can do some GRUB tricks later to dual boot.

Set up OS on new drive, then plug the old one back in and tweak grub... done.

Once you blow up your second OS install, your methodologies will change :-p

swapping drive devices (sda to sdb and sdb to sda) in grub is quite simple, even if you need to chainload windows or something. It's hella easier than cleaning up a mess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stegerpl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: 48°19'30"N 14°20'18"E

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

switching sda und sdb is not the problem: sda keeps my home and data directories while sdb (thats an SDD) holds the root and boot systems.
In fact I install the boot-sector on both sda as well as sdb in order to keep everything running even when the system is swapping the discs.
_________________
[1]... AMD Phenon X4-9950 on asus M3N78-EM with 4 GB of RAM - gentoo 10.1 - kernel 2.6.32 - kde 4.3.4
[2]... AMD Athlon XP 2500+ mobile on ASUS A7N8X with 512 kB RAM and 2xTT S-2300 - vdr-1.6.0 based on gentoo-2008.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum