Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
lenovo x1 carbon USB ethernet dongle not working...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:19 pm    Post subject: lenovo x1 carbon USB ethernet dongle not working... Reply with quote

Hi all. I am new to Gentoo and this is my first post to this forum. I have been using the forum often when I try to install Gentoo on my system.

So today, I would like to ask for some advice on Gentoo installation to Lenovo x1 carbon. I have Gentoo installed already following the handbook. The system itself boots up. The only problem I have now is the network. Since x1 carbon doesn't have any ethernet port built in, it makes the process harder for me...

I've done a lot of research on google, and found some links that seemed to be helpful, but no luck unfortunately.
I found this blog (http://chentiangemalc.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/case-of-the-broken-linux-driver-lenovo-usb-2-0-ethernet-10100-dongle/) and several over similar ones. I followed the instruction they provide, but still get following errors;

Bringing up interface eth0
ERROR: net.eth0 does not exist
Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start
ERROR: cannot start netmount as net.eth0 would not start

I have created net.eth0 which links to net.lo. Also I have loaded module asix.ko as it is suggested on the link above.

Could anyone help me out? I apologize that this post might not look as good. I try to learn how to post questions.

Thank you![/profile][/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maron72,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Its unlikely on a new install that you will have an interface called eth0. udev has renamed everything.
After editing your kernel as per your link, what does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show?

Please confirm the Vendor ID and Device ID of your dongle.
You will need usbutils to run lsusb for that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Thank you so much for your response. I have double-checked the ID's and those are the correct ones.

Code:

ifconfig -a

enp0s26u1u2: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu  1500
    ether 00:50:b6:5c:f2:6b txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
    RX packets 0 btyes 0 (0.0 B)
    RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
    TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
    TX errors 0 gropped 0 overruns 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
    loop txqueuelen 0 (Local Loopback)
    RX packets 28 bytes 1820 (1.7 KiB)
    RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
    TX packets 28 bytes 1820 (1.7 KiB)
    TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collision



Thank you![/post]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maron72,

See what I mean about udev renaming interfaces.
Your eth0 is now enp0s26u1u2.
That means you did the hard bit correctly.

Add net.ifnames=0 to your kernel line in grub.conf to keep the old names
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

I placed net.ifnames=0 in my grub.conf, but the internet didn't start...

But instead, I manually did following.
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.enp0s26u1u2
rc-update add net.enp0s26u1u2 default

And changed the /etc/conf.d/net accordingly.

Then it worked! I'm not quite sure why putting net.ifnames=0 in grub.conf didn't work though. Any idea?

But thank you so much!!! At least I can emerge some more packages directly under the Gentoo environment!!
This is so much fun!!

Kazuki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maron72,

The name enp0s26u1u2 will change with the USB port you plug the network interface into.

Where did you put net.ifnames=0 ?
Can you show the grub.conf file as it was when net.ifnames=0 was not working ?

You did all the right things to make it work.

net.ifnames=0 should make the system use the old naming scheme but usb ethernet devices do not always get the eth prefix.
The original kernel assigned name wikk be in your dmesg, along with udev changing the name.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

I placed net.ifnames=0 in /boot/grub/grub.conf. But now I see why I need to do this... It gets tiresome if the network interface name changes depending on the USB port.
Here is my /boot/grub/grub.conf.
Code:

# This is a sample grub.conf for use with Genkernel, per the Gentoo handbook
# http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10#doc_chap2
# If you are not using Genkernel and you need help creating this file, you
# should consult the handbook. Alternatively, consult the grub.conf.sample that
# is included with the Grub documentation.

default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 3.8.13
root (hd0,0) #this is really a boot partition where the kernel image is
#kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda2
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda2
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo
video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1024x768-32@85

net.ifnames=0


Thank you so much again for your support!!

Maron72
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maron72,

There are several things to point out in your grub.conf.

You boot stanza is
Code:
title Gentoo Linux 3.8.13
root (hd0,0) #this is really a boot partition where the kernel image is
#kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda2
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda2
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.8.13-gentoo

Lines that follow are never used.
Code:
video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1024x768-32@85

net.ifnames=0
These lines are intended to be passed to the kernel at startup and must be placed on the kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda2 line.

Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.13-gentoo real_root=/dev/sda2 video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1024x768-32@85 net.ifnames=0

That is a single long line - it may wrap in the post.

After booting, look at the very top of dmesg. It should say
Code:
[    0.000000] Command line: real_root=/dev/sda2 video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1024x768-32@85 net.ifnames=0

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

That worked out perfectly!!! Thank you!!
_________________
Regards,

Maron72
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

I am sorry, can I ask one more thing relating this? I thought the network is up by the name eth0 now, but when I tried to start sshd, I got the following error message.

Code:

/etc/init.d/sshd restart
 * Caching service dependencies ...                                                                                            [ ok ]
 * Bringing up interface eth0
 *   dhcp ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd[25596]: dhcpcd already running on pid 17859 (/var/run/dhcpcd-eth0.pid)                                                  [ !! ]
 * ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start
 * ERROR: cannot start sshd as net.eth0 would not start


I know the network is working now but this error really confuses me what is happening.

I am posting this here because I thought it's still relevant to the topic. I apologize if I should have created a new separate session.

Thank you!
_________________
Regards,

Maron72
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Sorry I have found the similar post on which you showed the answer that I was looking for... I should have searched more thoroughly...

I solved the problem by deleting /etc/init.d/net.eth0 because I am using the NetworkManager to manage networks.

Could you please explain the mechanism here? Like how does NetworkManager set up network?

Thank you so much!!
_________________
Regards,

Maron72
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31352
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maron72,

In your case, NetworkManager will run dhcpcd, just as the net.eth0 script does.

NetworkManager is a GUI that allows you to change your network set up without resorting to typing commands in a root shell.
You should only use one method to control each network interface or the several tools will fight over the interface and it may not work at all.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maron72
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Thank you very much! I've done some more research and the whole scheme seems to be clearer.

I really appreciate your help!
_________________
Regards,

Maron72
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum