Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No protocol specified Cannot open display error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blakdeath
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:39 pm    Post subject: No protocol specified Cannot open display error Reply with quote

Several applications refuse to run and I get this error:
dhcppc0 ~ # eog
No protocol specified
Cannot open display:
Run 'eog --help' to see a full list of available command line options.

adel@dhcppc0 ~ $ gedit
No protocol specified

(gedit:16313): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0.0

the error is the same on a regular user and root
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 200
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like you are trying to run a GUI program from the command line.

Have you started X-Windows (aka KDE, gnome) etc? Do you just have a command prompt, or are you entering these commands from a text window running inside a desktop?
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1243
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see....

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7347898.html#7347898

(i dont know the exact syntax to 'report' to merge threads so ill let it be, and link the answer. your path is probably the problem, i could replicate the problem in 2 seconds 1st try.)
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
https://wiki.gentoo.org/index.php?title=Special:Contributions/666threesixes666&offset=&limit=500&target=666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I was logged on to a gnome session, and had a terminal open(Pseudo).
also I don't think there's a problem with the env variables, Ill check the path when the problem happens again
but right now(everything is working this reboot)
adel@dhcppc0 ~ $ echo $XAUTHORITY
/home/adel/.Xauthority
dhcppc0 ~ # echo $PATH
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.6.3:/opt/Citrix/ICAClient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 200
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try typing "sudo xhost +" from the command line. The system should respond with: "access control disabled, clients can connect from any host"

This will reduce some security built in to the X Window system and allow any process to write to the display.

If the program works after that, we know its a security issue.
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sifosvaca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I'm also having this issue.
I did 'sudo xhost +' 17 hours ago and the problem haven't reappeared so far, so I guess it works.

EDIT: Just for the record, I typed 'xhost +' before the problem appeared. Otherwise I would have got the error.


Last edited by sifosvaca on Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope nothing:
dhcppc0 Desktop # xhost +
No protocol specified
xhost: unable to open display ":0.0"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sifosvaca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem was in net-misc/dhcpcd-6.0.2, upgrading to net-misc/dhcpcd-6.0.3 fixes it.

Here is my bug report btw: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=477320
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blakdeath
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using 5.6.4, does that bug apply to that version too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum