Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] KDE no longer sees usb or cdrom
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grooveman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 989

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:45 am    Post subject: [Solved] KDE no longer sees usb or cdrom Reply with quote

Hi,

Just updated to kde 4.10.4, and I noticed that my neither my device notifier, dolphin, or any other part of kde acknowledges USB drives or my cdrom.

I removed my .kde4 directory to wipe all preferences to see if that would help, but of course it didn't. I couldn't find it in the system settings... so I'm not sure what is going on here.

I can mount my cdrom and usb drives just fine on the command line, but for whatever reason, kde no longer sees them.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

G
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.


Last edited by grooveman on Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vorlon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 198
Location: West Grove, PA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had this problem when dbus is not running.

Try "/etc/init.d/dbus start".


It also may be a problem wtih udev, which allows the system to recognize hardware events. udev always confused me, so I can't help you diagnose that (sorry).
_________________
Casey Bralla
Chief Nerd in Residence
The NerdWorld Organisation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grooveman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 989

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks, but dbus is definitely running. I found that the problem has to do with udisks and this file: /lib64/libudev.so.1. I don't think it has anything do with KDE.

In an attempt to get around this problem I did this:
Code:
ln -s /lib64/libudev.so.1 libudev.so.0

(this was in the /lib64 dir)

Now the errors have gone away, but I haven't been able to reboot my system to check if it works now because I'm remoted into to many boxes the past couple days. Hopefully later today I will find out if it fixed it, and post back. My only question is: Why didn't the library update itself appropriately? I shouldn't need to make a link. I don't know if this is a bug in portage, or what. My system is consistent...


Will follow up either way...

-G
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5509

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems you've failed to run revdep-rebuild (or that other - in-portage - option).
Though now, obviously, due to that link, revdep-rebuild will fail to discover this particular problem again (unless you run it with '-L libudev.so.0').
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grooveman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 989

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
Seems you've failed to run revdep-rebuild (or that other - in-portage - option).
Though now, obviously, due to that link, revdep-rebuild will fail to discover this particular problem again (unless you run it with '-L libudev.so.0').


I ran revdep-rebuild several times -- each time saying it was 100% consistent. I also ran 'emerge @preserved-rebuild', which also drew in no new packages. Which is why I was saying this was odd... It seems like that should have fixed it.
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jack Hair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also had this problem when I didn't have "ConsoleKit" running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5509

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, on occasions, revdep-rebuild needs to be run as root to detect some of the issues.
Though perhaps your version of gentoolkit was a little bit too much out of date (I do seem to recall that around the time libudev got that library version bump, there was a gentoolkit version that failed to detect a problem with one of the low level libraries - not sure if that was libudev though).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grooveman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 989

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Was able to reboot, and I can confirm that my work-around works. I'd rather that revdep-rebuild caught that... but at least it is working.

Thanks for your input, and have a good one everyone!

-G
_________________
To look without without looking within is like looking without without looking at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum