Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Skype. No sound capture.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:23 am    Post subject: [Solved] Skype. No sound capture. Reply with quote

Hi!
I didn't use Skype for a long time and yesterday I found that the Skype doesn't capture a voice from microphone.
The microphone itself works good, I hearing my voice in speakers and can adjust a volume as needed.
Skype's setup has a number of capturing devices options, I've tried all of them, but still no sound capture from microphone.
What's wrong with Skype?
Any suggestions?


Last edited by creaker on Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenemsis5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the problem is not your microphone.

the problem is skype and pulseaudio. i had also the same problem.

solution:

1) emerge -1 skype

2) rm -Rf ~/.pulse

3) start skype and check if skype use pulseaudio in audiosetting.

4) restart skype
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 554
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had this problem a few times recently, too. I found that, if I launch PulseAudio Volume Control and mute/unmute the microphone or speakers a few times, Skype begins to work again.

I don't know if it is related or not to your problem, but something else that I found I need to do to get PulseAudio working properly with Skype these days is to disable the so-called PulseAudio 'glitch-free' mode (which is anything but glitch-free in my case). I edited the file /etc/pulse/default.pa and changed the line:

Code:
load-module module-udev-detect

to:
Code:
load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0

_________________
Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ nenemsis5

Thanks for reply!
Unfortunately it doesn't helps.
After emerge pulse didn't appears in skype audio settings.
I do not remembering that I installed pulse or had "USE=pulse" option enabled.
emerge --info | grep pulse shows nothing.
But ~/.pulse directory exists. On remove this directory appears again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ Fitzcarraldo:

I have no /etc/pulse directory at all. Mute/unmute does nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenemsis5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try to unmerge skype and remerge. i had solve the problem in this way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved. Alsa Mixer was configured in wrong way (missing "Input Source" chanel).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ra-dio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 3:37 pm    Post subject: Cannot emerge skype Reply with quote

Hi,

I am very new with Gentoo. I had the same problem: my usb speakers with microphone connected via USB works very well with Audacity (alsa) but doesn't work at all with Skype. I tried the solution:

nenemsis5 wrote:
the problem is not your microphone.

the problem is skype and pulseaudio. i had also the same problem.

solution:

1) emerge -1 skype

2) rm -Rf ~/.pulse

3) start skype and check if skype use pulseaudio in audiosetting.

4) restart skype


But at the first point I receive answer: emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "skype".

What to do with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum