Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No wired network driver for Powermac G5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
3uc1id
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:53 pm    Post subject: No wired network driver for Powermac G5 Reply with quote

I have the Installation handbook for ppc64 open on my laptop, and I am at step 3. I tried pinging google from the installation environment on my G5, and it couldn't resolve the host. Then I tried net-setup, and it did nothing. I currently have my Powermac connected via ethernet to my laptop (macbook pro) which is sharing it's internet connection. Do you have any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running lspci -k, is there a driver loaded for your NIC?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3uc1id
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By NIC i'm guessing you mean network interface controller? lspci -k shows a few things, and one of them says network controller. on the same line it shows the name of my airport card, and it says "Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge". Do I Have to use my Airport? That would be slower. I also see some lines talking about my Ethernet Controllers using the tg3 driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It really would help if you could post the output of following commands:

lspci -k
ifconfig -a
cat /etc/resolv.conf

You can redirect output to files and post the content.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3uc1id
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

output from ifconfig -a :

Code:


dummy0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr ee:fc:b3:fc:ca:f1 
          BROADCAST NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:51:63:d4:06 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:66

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:51:63:d4:07 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:67

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:592 (592.0 B)  TX bytes:592 (592.0 B)

tunl0     Link encap:IPIP Tunnel  HWaddr   
          NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:24:c3:b9:97 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


output from lspci -k:
Code:



0000:00:0b.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. CPC945 PCIe Bridge
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
0000:0a:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation G70GL [Quadro FX 4500] (rev a1)
   Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation Device 004d
   Kernel driver in use: nvidiafb
0001:00:00.0 Host bridge: Apple Inc. U4 HT Bridge
0001:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-X bridge (rev a3)
0001:00:02.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-X bridge (rev a3)
0001:00:03.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
0001:00:04.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
0001:00:05.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
0001:00:06.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
0001:00:07.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. Shasta PCI Bridge
0001:00:08.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. Shasta PCI Bridge
0001:00:09.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. Shasta PCI Bridge
0001:01:01.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. Device 4318
   Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
   Kernel modules: ssb
0001:01:07.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Apple Inc. Shasta Mac I/O
   Kernel driver in use: macio
0001:01:0b.0 USB controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation Hama USB 2.0 CardBus
   Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
0001:01:0b.1 USB controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation Hama USB 2.0 CardBus
   Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
0001:01:0b.2 USB controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)
   Subsystem: NEC Corporation USB 2.0
   Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
0001:03:0c.0 IDE interface: Broadcom K2 SATA
   Subsystem: Broadcom K2 SATA
   Kernel driver in use: sata_svw
0001:03:0d.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Apple Inc. Shasta IDE
   Kernel driver in use: ide-pmac
0001:03:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Apple Inc. Shasta Firewire
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. Device 5811
0001:05:04.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5780 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 03)
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. Device 0085
   Kernel driver in use: tg3
0001:05:04.1 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5780 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 03)
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. Device 0085
   Kernel driver in use: tg3
0001:06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6600] (rev a2)
   Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation Device 0010
   Kernel driver in use: nvidiafb


and there was no file /etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My guess is your laptop network sharing is not working.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3uc1id,

The kernel modules are loaded. You have two network interfaces using the tg3 driver.
Try net-setup eth0 and net-setup eth1 in turn. I guess you have one of them connected but don't know which one.

I that fails, explain how you expect the G5 to get its network settings.

/etc/resolv.conf will contain the IP addresses of your nameservers when all is well.
Thats why you need to copy it into the chroot from outside. Your ifconfig -a will show one of your ethX interfaces with an IP address too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thing, nowadays hardware can normally autosense if a crossover cable is needed, not sure if your hardware can do it.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3uc1id
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried net-setup eth0 and net-setup eth1 choosing to configure the setting automatically, and neither showed up in ifconfig. I tried setting the IP and junk manually on eth0 and it shows up on if config now, but i still don't have a network connection, so maybe I will try fiddling with that some more. I used the same hardware setup, with the same settings on my macbook pro, when I had ubuntu server installed. It all worked fine then (the ubuntu installer automatically took care of all the network stuff.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31342
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3uc1id,

Setting up the network manually won't help if a) the device on the other end of the wire is not listening, or b) you set up eth0 but the wire is connected to eth1.

Are you using a crossover ethernet cable?
You may need to.

Is the device doing internet sharing also offering dhcp ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum