Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
automatic download of stage3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hadzo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 1:37 pm    Post subject: automatic download of stage3 Reply with quote

Hi,

Is there a script or a way to do an automatic download of stage3 file? I am new to gentoo and could not find anything on google.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2180
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the impression you didn't read the Handbook.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/
Gentoo installation is quite different from binary Linux distro's or Windows.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has midori to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadzo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerard82 wrote:
I get the impression you didn't read the Handbook.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/
Gentoo installation is quite different from binary Linux distro's or Windows.
Gerard.


I did and I installed it. I have no problem with that. I just need a script that will download stage and portage files. I asked for a way to automate those two steps only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7404
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's so difficult about this that it needs scripting? Frankly, it almost seems like asking for a script to list the contents of the current directory.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadzo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
What's so difficult about this that it needs scripting? Frankly, it almost seems like asking for a script to list the contents of the current directory.

- John


I so regret asking this question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7404
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I apologize; I didn't mean to be rude. If you can convince me you need this, I'll write it for you. :wink:

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hadzo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John R. Graham wrote:
I apologize; I didn't mean to be rude. If you can convince me you need this, I'll write it for you. :wink:

- John


Thanks, no need for the hassle, was wondering if there such approach to installation, something already on the livecd. I am quite new to Gentoo and I am still thinking the Debian way.....habits die hard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6254
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rudiments:
cd /mnt/gentoo
wget ftp://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/stage3-amd64-*.tar.bz2
tar xvjpf stage3-*.tar.bz2
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there are a few problems with this.... 1st mirrors, you need to select a local mirror, and not punish 1 remote mirror in china for everyone else using your world wide script. 2nd it depends on the arch your installing on, x86 is not amd64 is not arm, that is to say not 1 size fits all. even if you did get this, you still have to unwrap and compile your own kernel.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6254
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rudiments:
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1632

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, you know the default mirrors are in /etc/portage/make.conf?
(Local mirrors are in /etc/portage/mirrors)

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonnogs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 5
Location: FERRARA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 8:09 pm    Post subject: wget ftp://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/cu Reply with quote

Non riesco ad installare lo stage3.Trascrivo di seguito ciò che si legge su terminale e la mia domanda è la seguente : dove sbaglio?

Gentoo-20121221 gentoo # wget ftp://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/stage3-amd64-*.tar.bz2
--2014-03-30 19:52:10-- ftp://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/stage3-amd64-*.tar.bz2
=> ‘.listing’
Resolving distfiles.gentoo.org... 140.211.166.134, 64.50.233.100, 216.165.129.135, ...
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|140.211.166.134|:21... connected.
Logging in as anonymous ... Logged in!
==> SYST ... done. ==> PWD ... done.
==> TYPE I ... done. ==> CWD (1) /releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3 ...
No such directory ‘releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3’.

Grazie.
_________________
mi piace gentoo e sabayon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6254
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3-amd64-nomultilib/
to find : http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3-amd64-nomultilib/stage3-amd64-20140327.tar.bz2
or : http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3-amd64-nomultilib/stage3-amd64-nomultilib-20140327.tar.bz2
the location for amd64/x86 stage3 has been changed.
The Get Gentoo link was not changed since it points to many other arch's stage3 and iso's.
The stages links at amd64: iso stages and x86: iso stages still point to http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/ and http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/x86/autobuilds/current-stage3/ respectively. These locations are empty.
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=499142 suggests how this was inspired and has been commented to draw attention to this.

Tante auguri.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonnogs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 5
Location: FERRARA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="DONAHUE"]use http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3-amd64-nomultilib/
to find : http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3-amd64-nomultilib/stage3-amd64-20140327.tar.bz2
or : http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3-amd64-nomultilib/stage3-amd64-nomultilib-20140327.tar.bz2
the location for amd64/x86 stage3 has been changed.
The Get Gentoo link was not changed since it points to many other arch's stage3 and iso's.
The stages links at amd64: iso stages and x86: iso stages still point to http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/ and http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/x86/autobuilds/current-stage3/ respectively. These locations are empty.
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=499142 suggests how this was inspired and has been commented to draw attention to this.

Tante auguri.

Grazie è andata con "to find : http://distfiles........" Il prossimo post lo farò al posto giusto.L'inglese lo parlo male e lo capisco peggio ma scriverlo ......

Ti saluto,grazie di nuovo.
_________________
mi piace gentoo e sabayon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hellspawnV01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not to be rude... If it can be typed it can be scripted.

nano (or favorite text editor) blahblah

// do stuff;
// do more stuff;

~#: sh blahblah

This is the case for all forms of linux that I know of. At least those running bash.

I agree with John here... Not to mention as the other users state, variation happens too much for a simple script by any means. Servers go up down and all around.

The only way I would use a script in this case is if I had dozens of machines with the same hardware and I needed to set them all up as quickly as possible (disk cloning works better. but I'll humor this).

(!!! PSEUDO-CODE !!!)
wget "source-stuff-location-and-destination"; // Download files, place into selected destination
sleep; // give time for download to complete!
tar xjf source.tar.bz2; // decompress
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum