Wanna help a noob with modules?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gregymann
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:39 pm    Post subject: Wanna help a noob with modules? Reply with quote

Hey all,

I am very new to linux in general. I'm installing on an ASUS G75VW laptop. I used genkernel and I'm trying to configure the modules. I have no clue what modules i am supposed to be loading. Any guidence would be greatly appreciated
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my off the record response is load xubuntu iso, try it... run lsmod, and it will say what modules are loaded, pastebin it... then write down the url. boot back to gentoo & then hit '/' in kernel configuration type out the module names to hunt them down in the kernel config. beware of sata controllers and file systems, as you need them to boot your system, dont module those, compile them in.
gregymann
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
my off the record response is load xubuntu iso, try it... run lsmod, and it will say what modules are loaded, pastebin it... then write down the url. boot back to gentoo & then hit '/' in kernel configuration type out the module names to hunt them down in the kernel config. beware of sata controllers and file systems, as you need them to boot your system, dont module those, compile them in.

Ok.....so where do i start back once reboot the gentoo installation cd? Im assuming i need to mount everything again
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you do not need to do anything with modules if doing a handbook install using genkernel -all. Handbook step, 7.d. Kernel Modules, is optional and should be skipped. Auto will take care of you.
creaker
l33t
l33t