Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Minmal ISO prompt for login... weird?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450
Location: Udine (Italy)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Minmal ISO prompt for login... weird? Reply with quote

This is not my first time with Gentoo (had some installations years ago). Now want to enjoy it again, but unfortunately the minimal ISO (both x86 and amd64) prompts for login. It shouldn't of course... any solution?
_________________
In nome delle migliaia di innocenti assassinati vi auguro di passare il resto dell’eternità con le vostre 72 puttane ad arrostire a fuoco lento all’inferno. Stronzi cammellieri con l’asciugamano in testa, baciate le mie nobili palle irlandesi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6714
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

use http://www.sysresccd.org/Download gentoo based, provides gui, works with way more hardware
same problem 2 weeks ago with amd64 only, was corrected, apparently recurring and spreading
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piwacet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 486

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I've noticed the same error. Specifically, it boots, gets to the point where init is called, and then a few seconds later, after a few steps of the init process complete, there is perhaps an error, it happens too fast to really see, and then the screen clears and I'm given a login prompt, but it rejects every username I try to give it.

I've done this with the recent minimal-install amd64 iso's. I've converted them to isohybrid so I could boot off usb stick, so I assumed that was the source of the error. But perhaps it's not as it seems others have this problem too.

For me, the most recent iso available on the mirrors that still works is:

install-amd64-minimal-20130509.iso

So you could simply try using this version.

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6714
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@piwacet
if you have a built in cdrom does it have the same problem as usb drive?
uefi or legacy bios?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Captain Newbie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 182
Location: Socal

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest official minimals from Gentoo have been fairly broken; +1 for System Rescue CD above.
_________________
/* Nobody will ever see this message :-) */
panic("Cannot initialize video hardware\n");
"As much as it pains me, we hope that developers know what they're doing." - wolf31o2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7888
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, known issue. Only broken on some hardware configurations and Release Engineering isn't seeing it on their machines.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piwacet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 486

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
@piwacet
if you have a built in cdrom does it have the same problem as usb drive?
uefi or legacy bios?


Unfortunately, I don't have a cdrom drive to test this, that's too bad.

The motherboard is a 2005 era board with BIOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cydergoth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:19 pm    Post subject: gentoo docache Reply with quote

Hi all

"gentoo docache" fixes this for me. It ensures gentoo boostrap loads the whole image from the USB into ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum