Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]: Gentoo install in VM
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 9:21 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]: Gentoo install in VM Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,
I'm doing a VM VirtualBox Gentoo install as a client (not host).

It is DELL machine and it's Intel based.

However, I got errors that never saw before:

Code:

*    ERROR: interface lo does not exist
*    Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
* ERROR:  net.lo failed to start


Code:

modprobe: FATAL: Module unix not found
* Cannot load the unix domain socket module
* ERROR: udev failed to start


Obviously I can go any further since there is no udev.

Which modules am I missing?

Thank you.


Last edited by ONEEYEMAN on Wed May 22, 2013 6:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32018
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

When you install into Virtual Box, the real host hardware does not matter as the guest sees the 'emulated' hardware provided by Virtualbox.

In the kernel you need
Code:
<*> Unix domain sockets
[*] TCP/IP networking

Both can be found under Networking options.

Modules should work but you always need these options, so they may as well be built in.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
NeddySeagoon wrote:

ONEEYEMAN,

When you install into Virtual Box, the real host hardware does not matter as the guest sees the 'emulated' hardware provided by Virtualbox.

In the kernel you need
Code:

<*> Unix domain sockets
[*] TCP/IP networking

Both can be found under Networking options.

Modules should work but you always need these options, so they may as well be built in.


Those errors are gone. Thank you.
However, there is one more.

During the install my network interface was named "enp0s3". So following Handbook I made a link as "/etc/init.d/net.enp0s3".
Now when booting I see only "lo". Trying to start network I get:

Code:

* Bringing up interface enp0s3
*       ERROR:   interface enp0s3 does not exist
*       Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for you hardware
* ERROR:  net.enp0s3 failed to start


Also for some reason after boot-up it sends "clear screen" command and goes to the user id prompt. Is there a way to prevent that? I saw my own actual laptop install does the same thing but I don't bother as everything is already in place.
And finally can I turn framebuffer on? Or it will be available after installing virtualbox modules?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32018
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

To fix the screen clearing edit, /etc/inittab and add the --noclear option, as below.
Code:
# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty --noclear 38400 tty1 linux


If you are going with the new network naming scheme, you need to use enp0s3 everywhere in place of eth0.
Thats in /etc/conf.d/net and when you make the symlink to net.lo in /etc/conf.d
There is also a kernel parameter yo can add to the kernel command line to get your old eth0 name back.

You can use the vesa framebuffer in virtualbox if you wish.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
I still have the same problem.

Code:

*       ERROR:   interface enp0s3 does not exist
*       Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
* ERROR:  net.enp0s3 failed to start
* ERROR:  cannot start netmount as net.enp0s3 would not start


And I did compiled the right driver for my network card...

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32018
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

What interfaces does ifconfig -a show?

Does
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.enp0s3 start
work?

If you want your old interface names back, add net.ifnames=0 to the kernel line in grub.conf
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
ifconfig -a shows only "lo" interface.
/etc/init.d/net.enp0s3 start produce the same error, but the file does exist.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32018
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

Either you have the wrong kernel module built for your NIC, or upi have the right module but its not loaded.
If all was well with your kernel and the module was loaded, you would get more than lo in ifconfig -a

What does
ONEEYEMAN wrote:
And I did compiled the right driver for my network card...
mean exactly?
The NIC for your real hardware or the NIC as virtualised by virtualbox ?

Virtualbox provides a choice of five different emulated NICs. Run lspci inside Virtualbox to see which one you have selected.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
Yes, that was it. I chose wrong driver.

Thank you for the help and sorry for confusion.

Everything is resolved now, just one minor issue:

Code:

VGA compatible controller: InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH VirtualBox Graphics Adapter


and Windows DM shows

Code:

NVIDIA GeForce GT 520


Any recommendations on X/Gnome/kernel selection?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32018
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ONEEYEMAN,

You are again confusing the virtualised hardware inside the virtual machine with the real hardware outside of it.
For Xorg, you must use the virtualbox driver.

Make everything as normal. Configure your kernel to suit the virtual hardware.
Once Xorg is running, install the VirtualBox additions to the guest. This is provided as an ISO file you mount in the virtual optical drive.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,
I installed Gnome, but trying to run "startx", I have:

Code:

.......
Initializing built-in extension DRI2
Loading extension GLX

Fatal server error:
no screens found
(EE) Please consult TheX.Org Foundation support at http://wiki.x.org for help.
(EE) Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
(EE) Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.
xinit: giving up
xinit: unable to connect to X server: Connection refused
xinit: server error


How do run GNOME?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 2088

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, guys,
I guess the driver in make.conf is wrong, since it didn't pickup the driver.
After manually installing "xf86-video-virtualbox" everything works properly.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum