davfs2 is slow, high network traffic
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:23 am    Post subject: davfs2 is slow, high network traffic Reply with quote

Hi.

I've never used webdav at all before. So this might be something normal, I don't really know.

I have setup a self-hosted owncloud instance, and also a webdav mount (via davfs2) at $HOME/dav to access it via command line which is the way I usually work.

Everything went smooth, and I was able to just "cp" some files and dirs in there. Nothing serious, just some personal files, some tenths of megabytes. It all seemed fine, so far...

I have rebooted my laptop to finish a kernel upgrade, mounted the dav again, that went fine.

But now, I took the risk to run this command

Code:
cd ~/dav

Yeah, I know it sounds dangerous, I like living to the limit, you know. To my surprise, the computer didn't explode, but it's been sitting there for +15 minutes without returning me the prompt. While that is stuck, I can see very high network traffic in gkrellm.

There's nothing relevant in /var/log nor dmesg, so I don't know where else to look.

Thanks for any idea.

ps. The "cd" command just finished. I haven't timed it, but it must have taken like 40 minutes or so. Not bad. Let's time "ls" now. And I promise again that I haven't dumped the whole internet in this owncloud instance. I swear. :(
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj ...

I remember there being some issues with gnutls the last time I used davfs2 that would cause some odd authentication failures (or seeming sucesses), if your using https and have the gnutls useflag enabled on net-libs/neon try disabling it and using the ssl useflag in its place.

best ... khay
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva