Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
could not find root block device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:53 pm    Post subject: could not find root block device Reply with quote

Hello.
Could not find root block device at booting.
It's an old install from 2009. I chrooted and updated all packages (system/world) to today's stage which was probably working.
Now with the newest gentoo i need the newest kernel & booting into the original system.
After compiling any 3*.x kernel there it comes to the "couldn't find root block device' error.
So there must be something with the harddisk controller driver.
Kernel 2.6.29-gentoo-r5 was working. So i used that kernel configuration.

Genkernels mrprober & oldconfig did it fine.
I also tried to make a new kernel configuration. By hand. And with genkernel's automatic.
But i cannot boot the kernel image.

Anybody has got an idea?

I tried these kernels: 3.13.6 / 3.12.7 / 3.11.10 / 3.10.7-r1 /
No one is working.

Here is the kernel configurtation which should work: http://pastebin.com/vk0caArU
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your disk controller drivers are out of date, obsolete, and deprecated

boot a minimal install or preferably system rescue cd and run
Code:
lspci -k | wgetpaste
post the url returned
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 291

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds like a udev problem to me. What's your udev version and type (udev or eudev)? What is your brand or model of disk controller? Is it IDE or SATA? The kernel defaults have changed since 2009. If a recent system rescur disk boots then it's probably a kernel configuration problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://pastebin.com/5k9sTzEW

I have udev 208 installed. But there are updates. atm. i have this emerge fail with portage 2.2.10
The controller is IDE. But i allways had luck with sata drivers.

Code:

IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 011f
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 011f


I'm now updating to udev 212-r1
I thought the udev is coming after the root device is mounted.

edit:
in that configuration file hosted on pastebin i forgot to enable CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
but i tried it before with the option and it was the same.
i'm very sorry. of couse i add that, now. but it will not help much, it's another problem.
i'm now running the newest packages updates. takes some time on a celeron 2ghz :) 2gb ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you backed up your personal files to external media?
it looks like the cd you are using may also be overage. lspci -k should show modules and driver in use as well as component identification. run
Code:
fdisk -l | wgetpaste
from the cd. post the url returned. of particular interest: are device names like /dev/sda or like /dev/hda?
sys-apps/portage: Latest version available: 2.2.8-r1. You have referred to having portage 2.1. Newer packages often require newer portage.

With a good external backup of personal files ( /root and /home), I would attack the kernel problem by:
obtain a System Rescue cd or System Rescue USB boot the sysresccd/usb to the xfce GUI and network connection. In the terminal window, run
Code:
lspci -k | wgetpaste
lspci -n | wgetpaste
fdisk -l | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /proc/cpuinfo
lsusb | wgetpaste
post the url's returned; more will follow.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-987132-highlight-traceback+emerge.html

There was a 2.2.10 .. now i cannot reemerge the 2.2.8-r1 .. i will try quickpgk.

i burn the rescue cd you decribed now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry can't read saw 2.1.0 vice 2.2.10; I keep portage stable so 2.2.8-r1; 2.2.10 should be fine
edit: reading the link 2.2.10 may not be fine? But probably is.
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes. i can emerge -avuDN world .. but not ... emerge -avu back to the portage version before. there it comes the error described in the link.
also emerge -avu udev etc. doesn't work. :(
that error is new until i updated portage today. i have the rescuecd now up. that is a nice cd. i didn't know that.
wait...i'll post your links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/196432/
http://bpaste.net/show/196433/
zsh: Input/output error: fdisk
http://bpaste.net/show/196436/
lsusb zsh: Input/output error: lsusb

fdisk and lsusb doesn't work on the rescuecd. but on my gentoo cd 10 i have used a few minutes ago.

ata_piix,pata_acpi, ata_generic are the modules. that is true, because i had these on the old gentoo days on that laptop.

many commands does not work after a few minutes of running that rescuedisk. input/output error. i do a reboot into it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
parted -l | wgetpaste
maybe as sub for fdisk

maybe an optical disk problem starting
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parted does not run, too. like fdisk.
i rebooted one time to be sure.

the lspci is working. the manpages of fdisk and parted not.
input/output error.

i can boot up into my gentoo livecd 10 to give you that two line outputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

will gparted work? icon lower left

what options does bios have for hard drive controllers- ahci, legacy ide, ide, raid are common

fdisk result from gentoo 10 would be of interest
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is the fdisk and lsusb output from the gentoo cd 10:
http://pastebin.com/bc2VQZRs
http://pastebin.com/CW978JZm

bios... i don't know.. but ahci, ide,, legacy ide.. etc. is in my mind.. sounds familiar.

normally i do have a boot partition.. and swap space is not 21gb.. haha i will shrink that later when the system is running.
when i boot up my old kernel 2.6.29 .. it shows RAID on the disks..

the controllers driver is listing raid.. but i don't know if that old laptop is supporting some raid levels.soft raid, yes i think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I avoid separate /boot as remembering to mount it has been a problem

Are you familiar with pappy's kernel seeds?

It would be good to drop into bios and look at the drive controller mode.
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read 'Pappys kernel seeds' a few times.
But i don't know what it is.

I didn't find it in the eix :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31993
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

Your SATA controller is in IDE mode.
Code:
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 03)

Thats a BIOS setting. Its intended for one time use by Windows XP users so that they can install the AHCI driver.
Go into your BIOS and fix that. Linux is fine with it and IDE mode is often crippled too.

While you have not been updating your system, nothing makes the /dev/hdX nodes any more for old IDE drives.
They are still supported but under the SCSI and SATA menus in the kernel.

Here's a post of mine from 2007 which you will find helpful.
Seven years on, genkernel gets it right now but you will still need to fix any /dev/hd* references you have in /etc/fstab and grub.conf
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have looked up into the (phoenix) bios.
i do not like it pretty much, because there are no such options.

but i can tell you: the mainboard chipset only does this IDE mode. i read it much often in the interwebz. (internet :))
also i can tell you, that my 2.6.29 is booting with this option. also the livecds.

the chipset which is coming after that in 2006 to 2009 can do other modes. but my chipset does not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Neddy was looking for the rough guide. Quick Search not producing. Apparently current fdisk, parted, gparted on the sysresccd cannot handle the ich8 ide mode even though the sysresccd can boot it.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, i've found it.
i can move IDE to AHCI.

i use AHCI now.

yes, normally i have AHCI.. but i did change it.. when the newer kernel weren't booting and forgot to change it back.


Last edited by ch64 on Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

excellent reboot sysresccd, check fdisk works, mount gentoo partitions enter chroot.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk works. i'm in the chroot now. i do have a system backup which is working. by the way. (you asked)
the backup works.. the system on it not :-) i do need the newer kernels because of before 2.6.39 there the CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y was not there.

thanks NeddySeagoon it was my mistake :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6587
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge wgetpaste
eselect kernel list | wgetpaste
eselect profile list | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /etc/portage/make.conf
wgetpaste /etc/make.conf
wgetpaste /etc/fstab
wgetpaste /boot/grub/grub.conf
wgetpaste /boot/grub/grub.cfg
one or the other make.conf may not exist, same for grub's. URL's pls.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://bpaste.net/show/196456/
http://bpaste.net/show/196457/
http://bpaste.net/show/196458/
http://bpaste.net/show/196459/
http://bpaste.net/show/196460/

i do not know why i have my MAKEOPTS so big.. 2 or 3 would be nice.
celeron does only have one core.

edit:
i do have MAKEOPTS="-j2" now.
maybe that was so high while using distcc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31993
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ch64,

This is both out of date an incorrect.
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/sda1 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda1 acpi=force rootfstype=ext3 udev noapic doscsi


The correct version would have been
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda1 acpi=force rootfstype=ext3 udev noapic doscsi

Notice the root=/dev/ram0 to pick up the initrd. It may even still work.

With modern kernels you only need
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-3.10.7-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/sda1 acpi=force rootfstype=ext3 noapic doscsi

udev and the initrd are assumed.

To test, at the grub screen, press 'e' for grubs edit mode. Follow the on screen instructions.
This only changes the copy of grub.conf in RAM. If your box boots, fix grub.conf on disk.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have removed this ram0 entry on two kernel lines because of i was testing without.
Here on the forum there were many threads describing that it is possible, that it's booting then.

Hey, the line you called: it's not changing anything.
By the way: Normally there it comes: "Loading modules" "Determining root device.
And there are all initram drivers shown.
On my 2.6.29 it is a big list with drivers scrolling down the screen.

On my 3.x.x Kernels its only switching the drivers.. not doing a list.
It seems like it's "choosing" the right drivers.. But not using any of it.

So there is the "could not find root blockdevice in . " message and no initrd modules list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum