Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Lagging video XBMC on 1080 p (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:34 am    Post subject: Lagging video XBMC on 1080 p (solved) Reply with quote

Hi

I have XBMC installed and im getting some lag issues on videos over a few GB in size.
I was wondering if anyone could help me fix the problem.
Could it be my processor its nothing special on a small ITX board
I also have 4gb olf ram installed ?

Code:
localhost ~ # eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   nvidia *
  [2]   xorg-x11



Code:
localhost ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo 
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 20
model      : 2
model name   : AMD C-60 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
stepping   : 0
microcode   : 0x500010d
cpu MHz      : 1000.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 2
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 2
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 6
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor ssse3 cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch ibs skinit wdt arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter
bogomips   : 2000.13
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb

processor   : 1
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 20
model      : 2
model name   : AMD C-60 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
stepping   : 0
microcode   : 0x500010d
cpu MHz      : 1000.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 2
core id      : 1
cpu cores   : 2
apicid      : 1
initial apicid   : 1
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 6
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor ssse3 cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch ibs skinit wdt arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter
bogomips   : 2000.13
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb


Video card
Code:


I have a "1:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF119 [GeForce GT 610] (rev a1)" HDMI graphics card


I am using the following version of XBMC

Code:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-tv/xbmc-11.0  USE="alsa projectm pulseaudio* rsxs samba sse sse2 xrandr"


My TV is set to resolution 1920x1080 I
In XBMC its 1920x1080

Hope this helps


Last edited by gentoo2013 on Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DawgG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does this happen with all/very many videofiles or just with certain types? on my amd-e350 mini-itx system i experienced annoying problems with highly-compressed/hq x264-videos (inside mkvs) that magically "disappeared" when i upgraded to a stronger processor.
sometimes such problems can be solved by using newer software (xbmc 12) but that's not guaranteed. on my old system some files played better with other software, like mplayer.
GOOD LUCK!
_________________
DUMM KLICKT GUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont no where all my post have gone as i had marked this as solved ?

The problem was fixed I just need to remerge xbmc with vdpau x264 use flags .


I was just curious out 1080 p Output how do u no when ur acutally running in 1080 p ? my resolution is 1920 x 1080 is that basically 1080 p?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31851
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo2013,

Yes. You have to write your own modeline if you want interlaced modes
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi neddy thanks for your reply .

Could you explain to me what this is ?
Where would I place this in my xorg.conf ?
If so mine was created with nvidia-xconfig

I also have one more question to do with screens

On all my machies except this one with the nvidia-graphics after about 3 or 4 secounds into boot my screens seem to change into a really smooth display the text is nice and small and it looks really crisp.

To achive this on my nvidia machine is there something i need compiled in my kernel ? I have looked but i cant really seee any diffrences ?

I hope that makes sense and you nderstand what I mean ?

Thanks for all your help,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31851
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo2013,

You have 1080p now. Interlaced modes are ugly. They were used on CRT TVs only because the bandwidth was not available for non interlaces modes.
Analogue TV did not use compression.

If you really want a interlaced mode, to see how ugly they are, visit a modeline generator site, fill in the boxes and it will give you a modeline you can paste into the Section "Display" of your xorg.conf. Read
Code:
man xorg.conf
to see what it does.

The nvidia driver will ignore your modeline as it will use the EDID data read from your display. You need an option statement in your Section "Device" to tell the driver you really want to take manual control. In the good old days, incorrect modelines would destroy CRT displays, so this was a good default. Later CRT displays and all flan panel displays, protect against damage due to incorrect scan rates.

You can find the option you need in /usr/share/doc/nvidia-drivers-313.30/README.bz2 See Appendix B. X Config Options, start reading at Option "UseEdidFreqs" "boolean".

Lastly, you may need to call up your modeline by name in a Section "Screen" for it to be used.

I don't see a way to set interlaced display modes in nvidia-settings.

-- edit --

Your other systems switch to a framebuffer console part way though boot. The nVidia driver does not like to share with a framebuffer kernel driver, so you will have the vga console on your nVidia system. However, vesafb works for me. YMMV.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont no why i said I instead of p sorry about that.
is that the only possible way to get 1080 P display.
I may just leave it if its going to be complicated but seems a waste not to use its full output.
when running in 1920 x 1080 the images quality seems to be more than perfect for me anyways.
I just wonderd why there was no P on the end.

Am i loosing any quality by it not swtich to the framebuffer console ?
Sorry for all the questions i just like to understand what is happening here.

Thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31851
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo2013,

You have 1080p now. You need do nothing more.
There is no p on the end of 1920x1080 as p has always been the default for computer displays, ever since a high resolution was 640x480.
Only a few users that were insensitive to flicker ever used interlaced modes on a computer display.

The method I described was to get any random resolution that takes your fancy, including Interlaced (i) modes.
You are right, its not worth the bother, since you really won't like interlaced modes when you see one.

-- edit --

Do you ever use the console ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect thanks
BTW i did not create two post and i dont no why that has happend please remove one post thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31851
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo2013,

I don't see a duplicate post to remove.
I also recall seeing this thread marked solved.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok now its gone strange.
Forums seem to be playing up slightly.

Thanks for all your help im sure il beack in a few days when my gtx690 arrives .
I here its quite complicated gettting the sound to work.on this gard.


Untill then thanks
:) :) :) :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7721
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo2013 wrote:
Ok now its gone strange.
Not strange. Just moved as requested. :wink:

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo2013
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Location: United Kigdom

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks and neddy i dont use the console on the nvidia machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31851
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo2013,

There is no point in changing your console to use the vesa framebuffer then, since you don't use the console.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum