Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
block device not found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nightlite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 8:16 am    Post subject: block device not found Reply with quote

Hello,

I've spent the Easter weekend trying (again) to install and have restarted several times
.
Now I'm getting

# grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda
Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.

but the fstab tells me /boot exists..........

What am I mising ? And how do I fix the problem, please.

edit I'm using mint on a 40g hdd to put gentoo on a new 2T hdd in a x86-64 amd system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,


Can you give a bit more information, what exactly does fdisk -l give?

Did you see ( and followed the proposed solutions?):
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/grub-error-guide.xml?style=printable

Also in the guide there are instruction for manual installation, so you might try that:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10


Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightlite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk -l gives # fdisk -l

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.


Disk /dev/sda: 2000.4 GB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 3907029167 1953514583+ ee GPT

Disk /dev/sdb: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes, 78165360 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00066431

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 63 74493404 37246671 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 74493405 78156224 1831410 5 Extended
/dev/sdb5 74493468 78156224 1831378+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

which i feel iss strange to me because on the 2T hdd (where gentoo is being installed) I made a

16 g swap /dev/sda2
25 g gentoo primary /dev/sda3
and the rest went to logical /dev/sda4
figuring to change my hdd order in the bios I made /dev/sda1 boot 32mb primary

and I'm being told both /dev/sda3 and /dev/sda4 are both mounted but not appearing on the fdisk shown above.

as for the first referral I found the error mesage and use grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda

to get the message

Error27: Unrecognised command

fstab reads
/dev/sda1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 2
/dev/sda3 / ext4 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/dev4 /home ext4 notime 0 1
/dev/sdb1 /mint ext2 notime 0 1
/dev/cdrom /cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, some thoughts and some more questions:


nightlite wrote:

but the fstab tells me /boot exists..........


What do you mean with fstab? ( isnt this just the file You created fstab yourself ?)


nightlite wrote:
fdisk -l gives # fdisk -l
16 g swap /dev/sda2
25 g gentoo primary /dev/sda3
and the rest went to logical /dev/sda4
figuring to change my hdd order in the bios I made /dev/sda1 boot 32mb primary

and I'm being told both /dev/sda3 and /dev/sda4 are both mounted but not appearing on the fdisk shown above.


Yes, but GRUB needs to find your /boot , which is (according to your fstab) sda1. However, you seem to say fdisks doesnt show it....
So, this is not going to work.


Guess best is to try the following:
- first make sure /verify you do have a boot partition ( containing the kernel etc) at sda1. If not, look where it is ( did you make a seperate partition for this ? or is it just in your "root" at sda3? Or is it actually sda3?)
- then use the manual GRUB install procedure from the handbook.


Alex.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6593
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.
so try
Code:
parted -l
to see the partitions on the 2tb drive.
legacy grub in its most current version will handle gpt see http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-914834.html?sid=7f61494d74a41395f08e26a0c82d6cab
I presume that the version of grub legacy you installed did not have the gpt patches.
There is also Grub2, see http://dev.gentoo.org/~scarabeus/grub-2-guide.xml
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightlite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reading in one of Neddy's posts in the links that this is a broken BIOS issuse and finding that parted -l returns

bash: parted: command not found

I've decided to start again. This time setting the BIOS to boot from legacy, removing the option to boot from UEFI as offered in the BIOS.

Thanks for all the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6593
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
boot from UEFI as offered in the BIOS
this is a whole other bag of worms
you should not want the 2 tb hard drive in legacy ide mode, a choice like sata or ahci is in most uefi motherboard bios hard drive controller options.
I do not know mint, it should have gparted or gdisk for partition work with a gpt disk. parted should be installable.
Starting over is not usually the best choice with gentoo
what is your motherboard?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
honp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 351
Location: Good old Prague, Czech rep.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"but the fstab tells me /boot exists.........."

I would suggest not to check /etc/fstab. It is only text file that tells system what to mount, but you MUST edit this file and it is up to you what is written there :)


"bash: parted: command not found" - it means that this command is not installed. There is probably no problem with bios.

As it seems to me, you should read gentoo installation handbook or other documentation more carefully

H.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightlite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay in replying.

After spending the four days of Easter trying and failing to install Gentoo I was suffering from a degree of frustration.

The motherboard is an Asus P8z77 vlx, now set in the bios to EFI

I'll try again during the weekend.

If I don't start again, is there something I should vary which will allow grub to install ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum