Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
problem emerging genkernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: problem emerging genkernel Reply with quote

got to this stage in the install and got a error emerging genkernel. After some googaling it looked like a problem with my make.conf so I typed nano -w /mnt/gentoo/etc/portage/make.conf to have a look at it.

turns out it was entirely blank so i wrote it back in and tried to save - got a message saying that the file or directory doesnt exist so did a ls - output showed what i expected, bin dev home etc

it changed the directory to mnt and did "ls" again - nothing in there

tried to make a directory, was told i couldnt because there was no such directory (of course not - thats why im trying to create it)

so i put in cd/ expecting to back to the root i was just in, seemed to work but when i did another ls - nothing, no directory listed


am I bouncing around the cd environment and the computer or am i going crazy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may be issuing commands appropriate to the chroot while not in it and commands appropriate to the cd while in the chroot.
To sort it out:
boot the cd, run
Code:
 fdisk -l
post the result here. mount the gentoo partitions, nominally:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
cd /mnt/gentoo
ls
post result here. assuming you see:
Quote:
bin dev hw lib lib64 media opt proc run sys usr boot etc home lib32 lshw mnt root sbin tmp var stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2
your stage3 may be different.
Code:
nano /etc/portage/make.conf
you should see:
Quote:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="bindist mmx sse sse2"
if you have not previously edited it and if the stage3 used was stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2. If all is good so far continue into the chroot:
Code:
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
genkernel all

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fdisk -l

/dev/sda1 32M -linux
/dev/sda2 524M -linux swap
/dev/sda3 rest of the disk -linux

typing mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo i get;

mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo does not exist



post result here. assuming you see:
Quote:
bin dev hw lib lib64 media opt proc run sys usr boot etc home lib32 lshw mnt root sbin tmp var stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2

i did see all that originally, in my OP, then I looked at the make.conf file and after that root is empty - when i do a list i see nothing

fyi the cursor line reads - (chroot) livecd ~#
when i first saw that i was worried that i was still int eh live cd environment but i found a forum post that said it didnt mean that and it wasnt a problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adrian87 wrote:
typing mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo i get;

mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo does not exist


You didn't create the mount point for the partition. You would:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo

Then follow the handbook to unpack the stage3 and portage tarballs.

Remember when you reboot a live cd, the mount point will have to be redone, it's not persistent.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheers for the help - i had made the directory and all that my particularly noobish mistake was to think that cd / took me to teh root, took me somewhere with a directory tree that kinda looked similar but wasnt complete - when i changed directory to /dev/sda3 all was fine :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what livecd are you using?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

install-amd64-minimal-20130110.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alrighty - got a new problem now :P

failed to compile kernel - i386:x64-32 architecture of input file 'applets/applets.o' is incompatable with i386:x86-64 output
make [1] *** [applets/built-in.o] error 1
make *** [applets_dir] error 2



do i need a different stage3 or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which stage3 did you download?

which kernel source did you download?

boot the cd, run
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
post the name of the processor.

when you boot "install-amd64-minimal-20130110.iso" the linux system that is loaded and run contains a /mnt/gentoo directory. having to run
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
before you could mount /dev/sda3 means something has gone wrong.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2

which now i look at it is clearly the problem since apparently i have intel chip :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

amd64 is correct unless your intel chip is 32 bit (older chip) or itanium. post the name from cat /proc/cpuinfo
amd invented the 64 bit architecture that is used by both current amd and intel chips (except intel itanium) that is called amd64 and/or x86_64

look before leaping 8O
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

intel core2 duo t7500
kernel version 3.7.10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that combination goes together with stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2 and install-amd64-minimal-20130110.iso .
check the location:
boot the cd made from install-amd64-minimal-20130110.iso and run
Code:
ls /mnt/gentoo
This should simply return to the command prompt. This will confirm the cd provides /mnt/gentoo as a mountpoint.
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
ls /mnt/gentoo
What is returned?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it does indeed just return to the command promt,

as does the mount command
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after the
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
I understand that
Code:
ls /mnt/gentoo
also simply returns to the command prompt with no other output?? The return from the second (postmount of sda3) is critical to tracking what is where.
if the second ls /mnt/gentoo did not show subdirectories, boot the cd, establish internet connection, run:
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
df -h | wgetpaste
post the url returned.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just so things dont get overly confusing here, I originally got to step 7 of the guide http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml and hit the problem with compiling the kernel - up until this point i had followed every step in the guide (used genkernel rather than manual config)

im installing on a laptop and if i leave it alone too long it turns it self off or hibernates or some such so I cant come back to how i left it day to day...the result is each time i go back to it i have to re-load the live cd at which point i have the "livecd ~#" cursor

up until now to carry on i have been doing the following;

# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"

which gives me the (chroot) livecd /# cursor.

I presumed this was ok and got me back to roughly where i left off after the compile error - is that accurate.




what exactly is the difference between livecd ~# and (chroot) livecd /#? - does teh first indicate im looking at the live directory rather than the computer and the chroot one means im looking at the laptop?

once im here (chroot) livecd /# - if i do a ls i get the normal directories, bin dev home boot etc and the stage3 zip.

Do you want me to ls here? or ls first without doing all the mounting and chrooting shenanigans?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

even though sometimes redundant even though you may be booted on the cd I am hoping when I start a sequence with " boot cd" that you will treat it literally and boot/reboot the cd and execute the follow on commands in order.
it seems to me that some commands have been executed from the wrong place or wrong environment.
boot the cd.
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
ls /mnt/gentoo | wgetpaste
and post the url returned. This will allow confirmation of the / directory structure.

Your restart procedure should be: boot the cd
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
Graceful exit should be
Code:
exit
cd
umount -l /mnt/gentoo/dev{/shm,/pts,}
umount -l /mnt/gentoo{/boot,/proc,}
reboot


chroot in the prompt is the system telling you what you told it to say. If the chroot process worked well it is to remind you where you are. If the chroot process fails it can lie to you.

If your laptop is sleeping/hibernating/whatever I am not convinced it will restart in the same place that it stopped in spite of the advertisements.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

booted cd, mounted directory and tried ls /mnt/gentoo | wgetpaste

got a error saying apparently nothing was received.

if I run it with --debug i get the following url - http://bpaste.net/show/84822/

"Your restart procedure should be: boot the cd
Code:
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


whats good - i wasnt sure if i had to re do the --rbind bit or not.


If your laptop is sleeping/hibernating/whatever I am not convinced it will restart in the same place that it stopped in spite of the advertisements.
Indeed it doesnt, hence the reloading cd and re-mounting everything each time - would this cause a problem...is it best to just re-partition the disk and start from scratch if i cant complete the install in one go?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stage3-x32-20130130.tar.bz2 says/suggests you got the wrong stage 3 for your purposes.

Suggest: check cd is in fact amd64, boot cd including connecting to internet, run
Code:
mkfs.ext2 /dev/sda1
mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda3
which will clear those two partitions and bring you back to para "4.f. Mounting" of the Gentoo handbook, http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?style=printable&full=1 . Proceed with the handbook. Post here for help with ambiguities.

At step "5. Installing the Gentoo Installation Files" instead of using links as in
Code:
 links http://www.gentoo.org/main/en/mirrors.xml
you can use
Code:
wget -O /mnt/gentoo/stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2  http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/stage3-amd64-20130130.tar.bz2


Restarting is the common procedure. One go requires too much patience and bladder control for me.

EDIT: more info
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sigh, now im back to the original problem lol,

when i try to emerge genkernel i get alot of errors related to app-arch/cpio-2.11 failign in config stage,

im trying to figure out how to get the log files off the laptop but im not having much luck using a usb stick - dont have a free partition to mount the drive to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

adrian87,

Try
Code:
emerge genkernel|tee genkern.log && wgetpaste genkern.log

_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot cd
mount the gentoo partitions
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/tmp/portage/app-arch/cpio-2.11/temp/build.log
post the url returned
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/genkernel-3.4.45/temp/build.log
post the url returned
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ways to get information out of the chroot accurately and easily:
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
while in the chroot; if that works, the output of a command can be piped to wgetpaste, example:
Code:
lspci -k | wgetpaste
the content of a file, example:
Code:
wgetpaste /etc/portage/make.conf

if
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
will not work:
The output of a command run in the chroot can be piped to a file, example:
Code:
emerge --info > /eminfo

As the minimal install cd and sysresccd have wgetpaste; exiting the chroot, rebooting either of these cds; mounting the gentoo partitions, and using, for example:
Code:
 wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/eminfo
or
Code:
 wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adrian87
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

app-arch file

http://bpaste.net/show/85423/

fyi when i used wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/var/tmp/portage/app-arch/cpio-2.11/temp/build.log - it told me the file didnt exist.

wgetpaste /var/tmp/portage/app-arch/cpio-2.11/temp/build.log - worked

there is no genkernel log since i cant emerge genkernel to run it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6709
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot the cd, mount the genttoo partitions, enter the chroot, run:
Code:
gcc-config -l
There should be a choice with an asterisk. If there is no asterisked (active) item in the list set one, as example:
Code:
gcc-config -l
Quote:
[1] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.6.3
[2] x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-4.5.3
Code:
gcc-config 2
env-update && source /etc/profile
emerge --oneshot libtool
emerge -1 cpio
If that runs
Code:
emerge genkernel

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum