Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
sys-process/procps-3.3.4: top: incompatible rcfile
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1218
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:14 am    Post subject: sys-process/procps-3.3.4: top: incompatible rcfile Reply with quote

Code:
$ top
   top: incompatible rcfile, you should delete '/root/.toprc'

I had this very useful toprc since years now on most different archs and operating systems. But since this last update it doesn't work anymore.
Because of this quite unusual config syntax in toprc I can't see what's incompatible today and can't find something from the Changelog:
toprc:
RCfile for "top with windows"      # shameless braggin'
Id:a, Mode_altscr=1, Mode_irixps=0, Delay_time=3.000, Curwin=0
Def   fieldscur=AEFHItKNOQPMbcdgjlrsuvyzWX
   winflags=64313, sortindx=10, maxtasks=0
   summclr=1, msgsclr=1, headclr=3, taskclr=1
Job   fieldscur=ABcefgjlrstuvyzMKNHIWOPQDX
   winflags=64817, sortindx=0, maxtasks=0
   summclr=6, msgsclr=6, headclr=7, taskclr=6
Mem   fieldscur=ANOPQRSTUVbcdefgjlmyzWHIKX
   winflags=64817, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
   summclr=5, msgsclr=5, headclr=4, taskclr=5
Usr   fieldscur=bdAEFHIKNOQPMcstgjlruvyzWX
   winflags=64313, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
   summclr=3, msgsclr=3, headclr=2, taskclr=3
Code:
$ bzcat /usr/share/doc/procps-3.3.4/NEWS.bz2 |head -n 13
procps-ng-3.3.4
---------------
  * Removed ps -aux bogus message
  * w get -i option to display IP addresses
  * watch 8bit fixes Debian #675069
  * Fixed FTBFS for non-linux Debian #677055
  * pkill -u <uid> doesn't need space Debian #676239
  * top enables intra-column horizontal scrolling
  * top can display a task's environment
  * top can display major/minor pg fault deltas, Debian ##84992
  * top provides additional control over column widths
  * top offers user controlled left/right justification

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Masimo ...

I tested the above ~/.toprc and am not prompted with the same error.

Code:
# eix -e procps
 [I] sys-process/procps
     Available versions:  3.2.8_p11 3.3.4^t ~3.3.6 {+ncurses static-libs unicode}
     Installed versions:  3.3.4(06:56:52 10/03/13)(ncurses unicode -static-libs)
     Homepage:            http://procps.sourceforge.net/ http://gitorious.org/procps
     Description:         standard informational utilities and process-handling tools

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1218
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird. Good to talk here before filing a bug report...
Maybe something strange with the fileencoding, though it has not been modified for a while. But it must have emerged with that update:
Code:
$ top && echo true
true

$ mv /root/.toprc.bac /root/.toprc

$ top || echo false
   top: incompatible rcfile, you should delete '/root/.toprc'
false

$ cat /root/.toprc
RCfile for "top with windows"      # shameless braggin'
Id:a, Mode_altscr=1, Mode_irixps=0, Delay_time=3.000, Curwin=0
Def   fieldscur=AEFHItKNOQPMbcdgjlrsuvyzWX
   winflags=64313, sortindx=10, maxtasks=0
   summclr=1, msgsclr=1, headclr=3, taskclr=1
Job   fieldscur=ABcefgjlrstuvyzMKNHIWOPQDX
   winflags=64817, sortindx=0, maxtasks=0
   summclr=6, msgsclr=6, headclr=7, taskclr=6
Mem   fieldscur=ANOPQRSTUVbcdefgjlmyzWHIKX
   winflags=64817, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
   summclr=5, msgsclr=5, headclr=4, taskclr=5
Usr   fieldscur=bdAEFHIKNOQPMcstgjlruvyzWX
   winflags=64313, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
   summclr=3, msgsclr=3, headclr=2, taskclr=3

$ file /root/.toprc
/root/.toprc: ASCII text

$ stat /root/.toprc
  File: ‘/root/.toprc’
  Size: 618          Blocks: 8          IO Block: 4096   regular file
Device: 812h/2066d   Inode: 262340      Links: 1
Access: (0644/-rw-r--r--)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
Access: 2012-04-23 13:02:15.542805133 +0200
Modify: 2012-05-24 09:46:26.948010113 +0200
Change: 2013-03-12 12:31:35.610778656 +0100
 Birth: -

$ eix -Ic procps
[I] sys-process/procps (3.3.4@06.03.2013): standard informational utilities and process-handling tools

$ genlop -u procps --date 7 days ago
     Wed Mar  6 19:10:49 2013 <<< sys-process/procps-3.2.8_p11
 * sys-process/procps

     Wed Mar  6 19:10:54 2013 >>> sys-process/procps-3.3.4

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Masimo ...

Perhaps those indents are tabs (use 'cat -vT'), who knows, anyhow:

Code:
# cat -vT /root/.toprc
RCfile for "top with windows"      # shameless braggin'
Id:a, Mode_altscr=1, Mode_irixps=0, Delay_time=3.000, Curwin=0
Def   fieldscur=AEFHItKNOQPMbcdgjlrsuvyzWX
   winflags=64313, sortindx=10, maxtasks=0
   summclr=1, msgsclr=1, headclr=3, taskclr=1
Job   fieldscur=ABcefgjlrstuvyzMKNHIWOPQDX
   winflags=64817, sortindx=0, maxtasks=0
   summclr=6, msgsclr=6, headclr=7, taskclr=6
Mem   fieldscur=ANOPQRSTUVbcdefgjlmyzWHIKX
   winflags=64817, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
   summclr=5, msgsclr=5, headclr=4, taskclr=5
Usr   fieldscur=bdAEFHIKNOQPMcstgjlruvyzWX
   winflags=64313, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
   summclr=3, msgsclr=3, headclr=2, taskclr=3
# file /root/.toprc
/root/.toprc: ASCII text
# stat /root/.toprc
  File: ‘/root/.toprc’
  Size: 646          Blocks: 8          IO Block: 4096   regular file
Device: 804h/2052d   Inode: 537929      Links: 1
Access: (0644/-rw-r--r--)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
Access: 2013-03-12 12:03:56.424676136 +0100
Modify: 2013-03-12 12:03:56.424676136 +0100
Change: 2013-03-12 12:03:56.424676136 +0100
 Birth: -

BTW, 'eix -Ie' doesn't show useflags ... in case there is some difference between those posted above.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1218
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right:
Code:
$ cat -vT /root/.toprc
RCfile for "top with windows"^I^I# shameless braggin'
Id:a, Mode_altscr=1, Mode_irixps=0, Delay_time=3.000, Curwin=0
Def^Ifieldscur=AEFHItKNOQPMbcdgjlrsuvyzWX
^Iwinflags=64313, sortindx=10, maxtasks=0
^Isummclr=1, msgsclr=1, headclr=3, taskclr=1
Job^Ifieldscur=ABcefgjlrstuvyzMKNHIWOPQDX
^Iwinflags=64817, sortindx=0, maxtasks=0
^Isummclr=6, msgsclr=6, headclr=7, taskclr=6
Mem^Ifieldscur=ANOPQRSTUVbcdefgjlmyzWHIKX
^Iwinflags=64817, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
^Isummclr=5, msgsclr=5, headclr=4, taskclr=5
Usr^Ifieldscur=bdAEFHIKNOQPMcstgjlruvyzWX
^Iwinflags=64313, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
^Isummclr=3, msgsclr=3, headclr=2, taskclr=3

But even after retabbing with vim, replacing tabs by spaces, it stil doesn't work:
Code:
$ cat -vT /root/.toprc
RCfile for "top with windows"           # shameless braggin'
Id:a, Mode_altscr=1, Mode_irixps=0, Delay_time=3.000, Curwin=0
Def     fieldscur=AEFHItKNOQPMbcdgjlrsuvyzWX
        winflags=64313, sortindx=10, maxtasks=0
        summclr=1, msgsclr=1, headclr=3, taskclr=1
Job     fieldscur=ABcefgjlrstuvyzMKNHIWOPQDX
        winflags=64817, sortindx=0, maxtasks=0
        summclr=6, msgsclr=6, headclr=7, taskclr=6
Mem     fieldscur=ANOPQRSTUVbcdefgjlmyzWHIKX
        winflags=64817, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
        summclr=5, msgsclr=5, headclr=4, taskclr=5
Usr     fieldscur=bdAEFHIKNOQPMcstgjlruvyzWX
        winflags=64313, sortindx=13, maxtasks=0
        summclr=3, msgsclr=3, headclr=2, taskclr=3

$ top || echo false
   top: incompatible rcfile, you should delete '/root/.toprc'
false

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Masimo ...

suggestion: select the output from the 'cat -vT' from my post above, then 'rm .toprc && vim .toprc' and "*p (thats not a missing quote) .. this way it *should* be an exact copy of what works here.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1218
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
suggestion: select the output from the 'cat -vT' from my post above, then 'rm .toprc && vim .toprc' and "*p (thats not a missing quote) .. this way it *should* be an exact copy of what works here.

I did that, still the same error. I also did revdep-rebuild, just for the case...
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2132
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about trying procps-3.3.6? And `LC_ALL=C top`?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssuominen wrote:
How about trying procps-3.3.6? And `LC_ALL=C top`?

ssuominen ... well, it works for me with 3.3.4 so it has to be something specific to Masimo's env/locale, can't think what though, but yeah, may be worth a try with 'LC_ALL=C top'.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1218
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssuominen wrote:
And `LC_ALL=C top`?

Wow, that worked, thanks. What's wrong with my locale? But locales seem to be the issue the new update is different.
Code:
$ locale
LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_TIME=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_MESSAGES=en_US.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_NAME=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_ALL=

_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Massimo B. wrote:
ssuominen wrote:
And `LC_ALL=C top`?

Wow, that worked, thanks. What's wrong with my locale? But locales seem to be the issue the new update is different.

Massimo ... my guess would be LC_COLLATE, which really should not be set to the same value as LANG=. Set it to 'C' and all should be well.

Code:
# cat /etc/env.d/02locale
# Configuration file for eselect
# This file has been automatically generated.
LANG="en_GB.utf8"
LC_COLLATE="C"

Not sure if this the correct location to define it, but it isn't wiped out when calling 'eselect locale set {N}'

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssuominen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2132
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If procps-3.3.6 doesn't work, please file a bug at http://bugs.gentoo.org/ with the information that C works, but UTF8.something doesn't
Remember to attach the toprc file to the bug

And it would be even better if you could report this to procps-ng upstream too, located in gitorious if I remember correctly, but Gentoo bug is a good start

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1218
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-> bug 461606
_________________
ppc:PowerBook5,8 15"(1440)-G4/1.67,2G | amd64:Acer Z5610 (Core2QuadQ8200),i5-3470 | amd64-prefix:OpenSuse | Lila-Theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum