Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot connect to router from LiveDVD or Minimal
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:33 pm    Post subject: Cannot connect to router from LiveDVD or Minimal Reply with quote

Hi, I just built a new computer and I booted it up with the amd64 LiveDVD and I cannot get a valid IP address from my router. I've even tried to set an ip on the new machine and it still can't talk to the router. Instead, when I try dhcpcd it generates a default ip address 169.254.x.x and whines about an ipv6. I tried putting noipv6rs in the /etc/dhcpcd.conf but it still doesn't work.

If it helps but mobo is a Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 and yes, I checked if the onboard LAN was enabled in the UEFI BIOS, also I checked the cable and it works. The onboard LAN (Realtek GbE) is detected properly during boot I think. As per this thread I thought it may be a kernel issue so I tried the amd64 minimal install disk but I get the same results.

It still may be possible that there is something wrong with the kernels on these latest ISOs so my only thought so far for a work-around is to get a wireless USB NIC and try connecting to the internet using that.

Is this a good approach or am I completely out to lunch?

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5191

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A good way to test whether it's the LiveDVD or not is to use SystemRescueCd. Its networking is very reliable.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.gentoostudio.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK cool, I'll try that when I get home tonight. Incidentally, does the LiveDVD (or minimal) support usb wifi devices? I'm thinking of picking one up just in case. Or should I go with an internal NIC just to be safe? Thanks.

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this discussion which may indicate that there is a problem with the mobo firmware:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2111223&page=2

In posts #16 he says this:

Quote:
Issue 1: The system boots and installs normally with any 32 bit OS, but when a 64 bit OS is installed the network card no longer functions correctly or at all. This has been seen in only intel / realtek built-in nics so far regardless of board make and model.

Solution1: Turns out that for about a third of these the problem is that there is some sort of bug in the nic itself so that the 64 bit Linux OS identifies the built-in as eth1 instead of eth0 and the interfaces file is built by default for eth0. Altering the file to reflect eth1 instead of eth0 resolved this 90 percent of the time.


I noticed that in /etc/init.d there was a net.eth1 through net.eth4 but there was no net.eth0. I tried to copy net.eth1 to net.eth0 but it didn't seem to work. I didn't have time to investigate further. Red herring?

His Solution2 is basically what I am thinking of doing. And Solution3 would be a problem because I don't own a copy of Windows and have no intention to install it just to update the mobo firmware... I will check if there is any new firmware on Gigabyte site. Anyone have any tips on installing firmware that needs Windows to flash?

Thanks.

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or should I just return this mobo and get another one...? Do you think the problem will be eventually fixed?

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please provide more info about this card, this should do:
Code:
lspci -nnk | grep -i eth -A 2

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
04:00.0 Ethernet contoller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology GA-EP45-DS5/GA-EG45M-DS2H Motherboard [1458:e000]
Kernel driver in use: r8169


HTH

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I manually set an ip with and set the gateway as my router address and then ping that address I get the following error: "no buffer space available"

I've never seen that one before...

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 73
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef wrote:
A good way to test whether it's the LiveDVD or not is to use SystemRescueCd. Its networking is very reliable.


What about this live CD ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Issues with the 8168 NIC are not uncommon. Realtek provides an out-of-kernel driver for it, it's even in portage - the r8168 package. Get that installed, and compile a new kernel that does not include the r8169 driver you're using now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 73
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use this one from kernel.
But now i remember....
To make it work i had to emerge sys-kernel/linux-firmware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fred0 wrote:
I use this one from kernel.
But now i remember....
To make it work i had to emerge sys-kernel/linux-firmware

Interesting. I have a similar NIC (rev03 instead of rev06). It will load the firmware if present, but it'll also work fine if the firmware is not there. But definitely good idea, the firmware could do the trick for the rev06 models.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fred0 wrote:
audiodef wrote:
A good way to test whether it's the LiveDVD or not is to use SystemRescueCd. Its networking is very reliable.


What about this live CD ?


I haven't had a chance to try it yet. I will tonight when I get home.

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, the system rescue disk doesn't work either. Is there a way I can edit a LiveDVD kernel or build a custom one that has the appropriate driver options?

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
Issues with the 8168 NIC are not uncommon. Realtek provides an out-of-kernel driver for it, it's even in portage - the r8168 package. Get that installed, and compile a new kernel that does not include the r8169 driver you're using now.


I tried this last night, it didn't work. Please see my reply here.

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 73
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can play with sysresc boot options.

What have you for messages in the logs about eth0 ?

Its is strange that no one of boot nic work !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So today I went and picked-up a wireless usb stick. I thought for sure that it would work with the LiveDVD but it did not! I couldn't get it to work in the resuce disk either! Does anyone have any idea of what's going on? I've tried wireless-compat and other drivers. *Nothing* is working!! Can someone suggest a rock-solid NIC or wireless NIC that will work with these live DVDs? Or should I just ditch this Gigabyte mobo and get and ASUS one? I've spent hours trying to get something as simple as networking working properly!! (sorry, I'm a bit frustrated if you didn't already notice :-P)

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

don quixada wrote:
I get the following error: "no buffer space available"
I've never seen that one before...

dq


What does ifconfig show ?
Think that those buffer errors might have something to do with wrong (to large) MTU values for the buffer of your network interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1223
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had a gigabyte motherboard, for 4 months before it caught fire.... ASUS has been rock solid for me :?

ifconfig -a

will show all interfaces even down ones. it might be eth1, though id rather be safe than sorry, and return the motherboard.
_________________
cat /etc/*-release
Funtoo Linux - baselayout 2.2.0
consider this warning no. 1
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81Ku-vxIb3L._SL1500_.jpg
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Special:Contributions/666threesixes666
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifconfig -a shows the interfaces but only shows one of those 169.254 default ip addresses. How do I fix the buffer stuff?

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lexflex
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Posts: 168
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don quixada wrote:
ifconfig -a shows the interfaces but only shows one of those 169.254 default ip addresses. How do I fix the buffer stuff?

dq


But what does it say about the size of packages?
Should be something like tihis, thew MTU part is the size of the packages. If those are set to bigger then 1500, your buffer might not be big enough.

Code:
# ifconfig
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.0.30  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.0.255
        inet6 fe80::52e5:49ff:fe4f:c3c3  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 50:e5:49:4f:c3:c3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 16315703666  bytes 22330105932657 (20.3 TiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 1625  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 73644641  bytes 82903276657 (77.2 GiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 613

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will check when I get home. In the meantime I purchased a wired *and* a wireless PCIe NIC. One is Intel and the other is an Asus that supports "Linux" (whatever that means). There is downloadable firmware (i.e. .bin) files so maybe this is something that will work since the LiveDVD documentation explains pretty well how to install firmware. I will report back...

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 73
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don quixada wrote:
ifconfig -a shows the interfaces but only shows one of those 169.254 default ip addresses. How do I fix the buffer stuff?

dq


Can you send the output of :
Code:
dhclient eth0
(if not installed, please emrege net-misc/dhcp)

If you see eth0 in the output of ifconfig, it seams that the interface works, but there is a network configuration issue.
Are you behind a router ?
If yes is it configured as dhcp server ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2633
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The minimal install CD doesn't have any wireless firmware, so it's basically useless for wireless installs. Use SystemRescueCD instead. But, as always, post "lspci -nn" output (the -nn is important!), that's the only way you can determine which driver is needed. For the Gentoo install, most wireless firmwares are in the linux-firmware package, so make sure you'll have that installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4560
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way you describe it it may be bad hardware. One of my motherboards went back to factory with same Realtek chip, driver loaded, no connection.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum