Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network configuration
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ivanradanov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:02 pm    Post subject: Network configuration Reply with quote

So I installed gentoo, managed to boot it, but cant get the inet to work. I have a router with 192.168.1.1 address and I have reserved 192.168.1.100 for my pc.

/etc/conf.d/hostname:
Code:
hostname="ivan-desktop"


/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
config_eth0="dhcp"


I emerged dhcpcd.

What should I have in my /etc/hosts file? I couldn't find how to configure it for dhcp. Sorry if it has already been explained somewhere, I did not manage to find it.

Edit: with /etc/hosts
Code:
127.0.0.1   ivan-desktop localhost
::1      ivan-desktop localhost


the output of ifconfig is:
Code:
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet6 fe80::21a:92ff:fe3e:b756  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:1a:92:3e:b7:56  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 12  bytes 7128 (6.9 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 99  bytes 11130 (10.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 17  memory 0xcfee0000-cff00000 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 8  bytes 560 (560.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 8  bytes 560 (560.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


And there is no internet (When I try pinging google it says "unknown host")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
druggo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 289
Location: Hangzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forget it:)
_________________
HighWayToHell(blog)
http://blog.druggo.org/


Last edited by druggo on Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

druggo wrote:
you need a dhcpclient, just install one:
Quote:
emerge -av dhcpcd

druggo ... the OP stated "I emerged dhcpcd" ... so that isn't the issue.

ivanradanov ... it looks as though your routers dhcp server isn't handing out the address, a possible misconfiguration on your part. How did you assign 192.168.1.100 to your machine? I would look at the router again, as it doesn't seem to be configured to hand out addresses correctly.

As for your configuration, you could self assign the address and not use dhcp like so:

Code:
modules_eth0="!plug iproute2"
config_eth0="192.168.1.100/24"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.1.1"
enable_ipv6_eth0="false"
dns_servers_eth0="192.168.1.1" # assuming your router is also providing DNS

Otherwise, a dhcp configuration doesn't require anything in /etc/conf.d/net as its automatically assumed if nothing is provided therein. However, here is an example dhcpcd configuration.

Code:
modules_eth0="!plug dhcpcd"
dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10" # passed as parameters to dhcpcd, here a timeout of 10
enable_ipv6_eth0="false"
dhcp_eth0="nodns" # don't request DNS
dns_servers_eth0="8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4" # for using google's DNS servers

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

didja as root
Code:

rc-update add dhcpcd default


??????

merging the package is half the battle, you need to add the service to your startup scripts or on reboot it will not fire up or pull your ip info from the router.

after that ping 192.168.1.1

after that

Code:

cat /etc/resolv.conf


to show your dns is in it....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666 wrote:
Code:
rc-update add dhcpcd default

merging the package is half the battle, you need to add the service to your startup scripts or on reboot it will not fire up or pull your ip info from the router.

666threesixes666 ... that is incorrect, you do not need dhcpcd in a runlevel as net.${IFACE} calls the dhcpcd client if its is configured to do so, or by default if no configuration is provided in /etc/conf.d/net.

So, this ... again ... has nothing to do with the issue.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum