Wpa_supplicant drops wireless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Quicken2k
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:29 pm    Post subject: Wpa_supplicant drops wireless Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to Gentoo. I have it setup and working (for the most part). However I can't seem to stay connected to my wireless access point. I am using Genkernel, I have a wireless card by Ra Link with the rt2800pci module loaded into the kernel

Router settings:

WPA2/WPA Mixed mode

Config Files:

# WPA_SUPPLICANT.CONF

Network={
ssid="edited"
proto=RSN
#psk="edited"
psk=edited

NOTE: siid name and key were removed. Passkey was inserted with wpapassphrase command

LOG OUTPUT:

OUTPUT:

Association request to the driver failed
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=20:aa:4b:ff:6f:a7 reason=0
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=00:00:00:00:00:00 reason=0
Trying to associate with 20:aa:4b:ff:6f:a7 (SSID='dasilvam' freq=2462 MHz)
ioctl[SIOCSIWFREQ]: Device or resource busy
Associated with 20:aa:4b:ff:6f:a7
WPA: Invalid EAPOL-Key MIC when using TPTK - ignoring TPTK
WPA: Could not verify EAPOL-Key MIC - dropping packet
Authentication with 20:aa:4b:ff:6f:a7 timed out.
ioctl[SIOCSIWMLME]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Device or resource busy
Failed to initiate AP scan.
ioctl[SIOCGIWSCAN]: Resource temporarily unavailable

Any help would be great. Thanks

Mark Da Silva
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Wpa_supplicant drops wireless Reply with quote

Quicken2k ...

Looks to me as though the driver doesn't get as far as scanning for the AP, which leads me to think that your not supplying a driver to wpa_supplicant, and/or WEXT/NL80211 isn't enabled in the kernel.

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules_wlan0="!plug !iwconfig  wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211" # or '-Dwext'