Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo on PIII?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
artonweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:24 am    Post subject: Gentoo on PIII? Reply with quote

Good morning.
I have an old PC with CPU PIII at 1,7 MHz.
Can I install gentoo, in order to administrate backend of webpages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2726
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:59 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo on PIII? Reply with quote

artonweb wrote:
Good morning.
I have an old PC with CPU PIII at 1,7 MHz.
Can I install gentoo, in order to administrate backend of webpages?
Long time ago - IIRC in 2002 - I run Gentoo on a P3 (were my first steps I think) - and I'm sure you can install it - but I'm completely unsure, how many P3 bugs you will be experiencing with modern software packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 1942
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
[..]how many P3 bugs you will be experiencing with modern software packages.

What bugs are you referring to?

Most binary distros are still using i486 (maybe i586 or i686 if you're lucky), so there should not be any issue. PentiumIII is rather old, therefore I expect the compiler to build stable binaries, even with using -march=native.


Quote:
I have an old PC with CPU PIII at 1,7 MHz.
Can I install gentoo, in order to administrate backend of webpages?

Possible for sure, but do not expect any wonders in speed, build wise and runtime wise. IIRC you'll get about the same speed out of Intel Atom.
depending on what kind of applications you want to run, the amount of ram and disk space might also be of interest.
_________________
read the portage output!
If my answer is too concise, ask for an explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7883
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Until fairly recently, I had Gentoo running on a 90MHz P1 with 128MiB of RAM. It had the horsepower to work fairly well as my home router machine. No GUI, of course.

But, a P3? Piece of cake!

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 80
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have gentoo running on a 800 Mhz PIII with 512 Mb of ram. It's used as router, web server, mail server and network proxy.
For compiling you can use distcc and distribute the load to other machines in the network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1707

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run Gentoo on my ThinkPad T23 with 512MB of RAM - it's my main laptop.
It's reaching the end of its life not because of Gentoo, but because modern
Linux distros need a more powerful video driver than the T23s Savage.
Given 512MB or more of RAM a PIII is no problem; I rebuilt the system
only a month or so ago.

(You may have a problem compiling GCC - check Bugzilla. The answer is
to set mtype to i686 in /etc/portage/make.conf for that compile.)

Will
(Oh, and it can't handle YouTube - but that again is the video chip.)


Last edited by cwr on Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From 2002 to 2007 I sported a Thinkpad T23 with Gentoo on it. It will work pretty well as long as you don't expect it to be a playing rig or a CAD workstation.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
artonweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your response.
I will try to install :D :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum