Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Chrome Auto-Reload
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 788
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:26 am    Post subject: Chrome Auto-Reload Reply with quote

Do you know when you open your laptop in a cybercafe, and then you open chrome, expecting to see those pages you left open but didn't have time to check...
And then all of them turn into the cyber cafe's login page. You log in, but there is no way to retrieve the original page you left open.
That is very annoying. Do you guys know any way to avoid that? (chrome is set to start together with my WM).
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this is a Chrome feature.
_________________
The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand? --Capt Jack Sparrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sikpuppy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Central Coast, NSW

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

notageek wrote:
Not sure if this is a Chrome feature.

It saves all sorts of stuff if you log into your Google account. Bookmarks, extensions, don't know about history though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 788
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
notageek wrote:
Not sure if this is a Chrome feature.

It saves all sorts of stuff if you log into your Google account. Bookmarks, extensions, don't know about history though.

It is not even that what I am referring to. When you open the browser it tries to reopen (and apparentely, refresh) all the pages that were left open in the last session, regardless of being logged in my google account or not. It is the refreshing that screws everything.
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure there's an option deep within Chrome that has disabled cache.

Here's the oposite of what you want: http://superuser.com/questions/89809/how-to-force-refresh-without-cache-in-google-chrome

Maybe some clues in there.

Also, pay attention to my username before believing anything I just posted. Thanks.
_________________
The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand? --Capt Jack Sparrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonnevers
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 1593
Location: Gentoo64 land

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holysword wrote:
sikpuppy wrote:
notageek wrote:
Not sure if this is a Chrome feature.

It saves all sorts of stuff if you log into your Google account. Bookmarks, extensions, don't know about history though.

It is not even that what I am referring to. When you open the browser it tries to reopen (and apparentely, refresh) all the pages that were left open in the last session, regardless of being logged in my google account or not. It is the refreshing that screws everything.


mmm i thought it only auto-reloaded the active tab ( which is also what FF does ). which doesn't help b/c you still lose that tab.

but i feel your pain, its almost as bad as when im on a proxied wifi network and get redirected to the proxy's login page and it redirects to some default page instead of what i wanted to access to begin with and i have to retype in the address i wanted originally. its just so amatuer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John-Boy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 439
Location: Desperately seeking moksha in all the wrong places

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sikpuppy wrote:
notageek wrote:
Not sure if this is a Chrome feature.

It saves all sorts of stuff if you log into your Google account. Bookmarks, extensions, don't know about history though.


There is an option to track history - if switched on it'll log all pages visited, Google History
_________________
Only in our dreams are we free. The rest of the time we need wages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bogamol
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 84
Location: Detroit, Michigan - The Home of Rock and Roll

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if you block the address of the cybercafe so it doesn't automatically load in all your windows. Then you put the cybercafe address in bookmarks and load it in a new tab. Then when you are logged in, you can kill the login tab and then refresh the other tabs. Would that work?
_________________
Freedom is the oxygen of the soul. -Moshe Dayan

Juniper wrote:
I fail to see the relevance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 788
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bogamol wrote:
What if you block the address of the cybercafe so it doesn't automatically load in all your windows. Then you put the cybercafe address in bookmarks and load it in a new tab. Then when you are logged in, you can kill the login tab and then refresh the other tabs. Would that work?

I'm not sure if I understood it correctly, but if I did, then it would try to refresh all the pages in exactly the same way, but instead of displaying the login page on each of them, it would display the 404 error. Moreover, that aims at solving the problem for one cybercafe, not all/most of them.
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum