Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DigiKam 3.0.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:57 pm    Post subject: DigiKam 3.0.0 Reply with quote

DigiKam 3.0.0-RC was released late December.

Are there any plans to include it in Portage soon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1146

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can file a bug for version bump if there is a release.
I expect far more bugs for 3.null because they made a very reshape of their codings ...
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's in the kde overlay, but no bug report for bumping the release currently in portage. (Do packages usually transition from the main overlays like kde, over to the portage tree anyway?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ulenrich wrote:
You can file a bug for version bump if there is a release.
I expect far more bugs for 3.null because they made a very reshape of their codings ...

I don't expect a perfect smooth release from day one. But yeah, good that you mention it anyway.

jasn wrote:
It's in the kde overlay, but no bug report for bumping the release currently in portage. (Do packages usually transition from the main overlays like kde, over to the portage tree anyway?)

That depends on the overlay. It could transition, but not necessarily so. It's whatever the portage maintainers want to make of it.

But thanks for the overlay tip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So my curiousity was piqued, and I thought after I just installed my KDE desktop, I would try installing digikam-3.0.0_rc. However, I was greeted with the following message when doing the initial emerge --pretend --verbose =digikam-3.0.0_rc;
Code:
#required by =digikam-3.0.0_rc (argument)
# /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.mask:
# Andreas K. Hüttel <dilfridge@gentoo.org>
# digikam-3 and friends requires kde-4.10

I'm thinking that after just getting the regular portage KDE 4.9.5 running, I'll wait until 4.10 hits the portage tree, to try for digikam-3.0.

Good Luck..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Q-collective
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 2056

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasn wrote:
So my curiousity was piqued, and I thought after I just installed my KDE desktop, I would try installing digikam-3.0.0_rc. However, I was greeted with the following message when doing the initial emerge --pretend --verbose =digikam-3.0.0_rc;
Code:
#required by =digikam-3.0.0_rc (argument)
# /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.mask:
# Andreas K. Hüttel <dilfridge@gentoo.org>
# digikam-3 and friends requires kde-4.10

I'm thinking that after just getting the regular portage KDE 4.9.5 running, I'll wait until 4.10 hits the portage tree, to try for digikam-3.0.

Good Luck..

Ok, that is a good reason to wait a little. Shouldn't be too long anyway :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum