Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kdm stopped working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwezel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Effretikon, Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:18 am    Post subject: kdm stopped working Reply with quote

I had just installed my system and got KDE working. When logging in some messages were displayed saying something about dbus. I checked and saw dbus isn't running, so I started it and did a rc-update add dbus default. That's when KDE stopped working. Since then, when I start xdm, X briefly shows a blank screen and the X wait cursor but then crashes. The Xorg log does not show any error, but /var/log/kdm.log shows the following at the end:
Code:
Loading extension GLX
resize called 1680 1050
libGL error: failed to load driver: nouveau
libGL error: Try again with LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose for more details.
libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast
libGL error: Try again with LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose for more details.
klauncher(10921) kdemain: No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.
kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!
kdmgreet(10915)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*): KSystemTimeZones: ktimezoned initialize() D-Bus call failed:  "Not connected to D-Bus server"

kdmgreet(10915)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*): No time zone information obtained from ktimezoned
kdmgreet: Fatal IO error: client killed
using visual class 4, id 15f
Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.


dbus is started however.

X still starts with xinit or startx, so X is apparently working happily. So the error about the failure to load the nouveau driver is confusing, especially because KDE worked previously.

I saw many forum messages dealing with the message "No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.", but nowhere did I see a solution.
_________________
Johnny Wezel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1411

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
select opengl set xorg
/etc/init.d/dbus restart
startx

_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imaginasys
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
Code:
select opengl set xorg
/etc/init.d/dbus restart
startx


try "eselect" instead of "select". probably a typo...

Regards,
BT :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwezel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Effretikon, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
Code:
select opengl set xorg
/etc/init.d/dbus restart
startx


No difference.

opengl was already at xorg-x11, but I did:

Code:
jellyfish ~ # eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   xorg-x11 *
jellyfish ~ # eselect opengl set 1
Switching to xorg-x11 OpenGL interface... done
jellyfish ~ # /etc/init.d/dbus restart
 * WARNING: you are stopping a boot service
 * Stopping ConsoleKit daemon ...                                                                                                                                                                                                      [ ok ]
 * Stopping D-BUS system messagebus ...                                                                                                                                                                                                [ ok ]
 * Starting D-BUS system messagebus ...                                                                                                                                                                                                [ ok ]
jellyfish ~ #  * Starting ConsoleKit daemon ...                                                                                                                                                                                        [ ok ]

jellyfish ~ # /etc/init.d/xdm restart
 * Stopping kdm ...                                                                                                                                                                                                                    [ ok ]
 * Setting up kdm ...                                                                                                                                                                                                                  [ ok ]


But still the same.
_________________
Johnny Wezel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1411

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge twm xclock xterm
nano -w /etc/conf.d/xdm
update kdm to xdm
startx


try running kdm in the xterm, and yes that was a typo...

if kdm reports errors in the term post them here
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwezel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Effretikon, Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
Code:
emerge twm xclock xterm
nano -w /etc/conf.d/xdm
update kdm to xdm
startx


try running kdm in the xterm, and yes that was a typo...

if kdm reports errors in the term post them here


I just did a xinit, and in the xterm I started kdm.

kdm detached and (apparently, from ps) ran, but did not start a session, not on VT7 nor any other console.

There was no error in kdm.log.
_________________
Johnny Wezel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imaginasys
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you stop dbus, are you able to start kde again ? (as before) ?

Something seems wrong with opengl/mesa.

Can you show results of the following commands :
    eselect mesa list
    eix media-libs/mesa
    eix x11-apps/mesa-progs


?


Regards,
BT :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwezel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Effretikon, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

imaginasys wrote:
If you stop dbus, are you able to start kde again ? (as before) ?

Something seems wrong with opengl/mesa.

Can you show results of the following commands :
    eselect mesa list
    eix media-libs/mesa
    eix x11-apps/mesa-progs


?


Regards,
BT :mrgreen:


Unbelievably, no. I might have done something after it worked, and that something might have caused the mess, but I'm sure it was nothing that should have had this effect. I think it's a bug somewhere in the base KDE stuff.

The command you suggested produced:
Code:

jellyfish ~ # eselect mesa list
i915 (Intel 915, 945)
i965 (Intel 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x)
r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
sw (Software renderer)
  [1]   classic
  [2]   gallium *
jellyfish ~ # eix media-libs/mesa
[I] media-libs/mesa
     Available versions:  7.10.3 7.11.2 8.0.4-r1 9.0.1 ~9.0.2 ~9.0.3 ~9.1 ~9.1.1 ~9.1.2 9.1.2-r1 ~9.1.3 [M]~9.2_pre20130515 [M]~9.2_pre20130528 [M]~9.2_pre20130619 {{bindist +classic debug +egl g3dvl +gallium gbm gles gles1 gles2 hardened kernel_FreeBSD (+)llvm motif +nptl opencl openvg osmesa pax_kernel pic python_single_target_python2_6 python_single_target_python2_7 python_targets_python2_6 python_targets_python2_7 r600-llvm-compiler selinux shared-dricore +shared-glapi vdpau video_cards_freedreno video_cards_i915 video_cards_i965 video_cards_ilo video_cards_intel video_cards_mach64 video_cards_mga video_cards_nouveau video_cards_r100 video_cards_r128 video_cards_r200 video_cards_r300 video_cards_r600 video_cards_radeon video_cards_radeonsi video_cards_savage video_cards_sis video_cards_tdfx video_cards_via video_cards_vmware wayland xa xorg xvmc}}
     Installed versions:  9.1.2-r1(07:05:25 PM 06/24/2013)(bindist classic egl gallium gles2 llvm nptl python_single_target_python2_7 python_targets_python2_7 shared-glapi video_cards_nouveau -debug -gbm -gles1 -kernel_FreeBSD -openvg -osmesa -pax_kernel -pic -python_single_target_python2_6 -python_targets_python2_6 -r600-llvm-compiler -selinux -vdpau -video_cards_i915 -video_cards_i965 -video_cards_intel -video_cards_r100 -video_cards_r200 -video_cards_r300 -video_cards_r600 -video_cards_radeon -video_cards_radeonsi -video_cards_vmware -wayland -xa -xorg -xvmc)
     Homepage:            http://mesa3d.sourceforge.net/
     Description:         OpenGL-like graphic library for Linux

jellyfish ~ # eix x11-apps/mesa-progs
* x11-apps/mesa-progs
     Available versions:  8.0.1 ~8.1.0 {{egl gles1 gles2}}
     Homepage:            http://mesa3d.sourceforge.net/
     Description:         Mesa's OpenGL utility and demo programs (glxgears and glxinfo)

_________________
Johnny Wezel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imaginasys
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

eselect show you are configured to use "r600" as a video driver.
But mesa seems to be compiled to use "nouveau".

And you are not using mesa last version (9.1.2-r1 instead of 9.1.3 current version for ~).

I woud say something seems wrong with your graphic card setup.

Can you show your "VIDEO_CARDS" setup in your make.conf ? (grep -i video /etc/portage/make.conf)
Is r600 in your video string ? What do you have as graphic card ? And what graphic card driver are you using ?

Check video setup and then would you update to have mesa at the last version ?

Regards,
BT :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum