Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vi segmentation fault
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chreb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:44 pm    Post subject: vi segmentation fault Reply with quote

Hi,
I've just finished installing Gentoo on my Compaq 2800 laptot.
For now i've installed only system and emerged kernel.
I'd like to use a more familiar (to me) editor like vi instead of nano, so i emerge apps-editor/vi, it download, compile ... .But after all when i run vi i get a surprising segmentation fault :evil: .
Can anyone help me with this problem ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=7095
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sesquipedalian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 62
Location: Loveland, CO

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this has come up before, but no real solution has come forth (afaik)

however, vim emerges just fine :)
_________________
What tha........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setting TERM to vt100 works fine as stated in the link above. However, merging vi and then vim, even gives you the symlink from vi->vim :)
Sesquipedalian wrote:
this has come up before, but no real solution has come forth (afaik)

however, vim emerges just fine :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masseya
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or you could just emerge vim, not deal with the 'bloat' of having both vi and vim and using only vim, and make your own symlink...
_________________
if i never try anything, i never learn anything..
if i never take a risk, i stay where i am..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

True... I just don't like modifying anything directly in /usr/bin, etc., and prefer a way through the packaging system. I prefer the minor bloat!

Tristam29 wrote:
Or you could just emerge vim, not deal with the 'bloat' of having both vi and vim and using only vim, and make your own symlink...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ivo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I came accros this same bug tonight. Vi did work when telnetting to the box (when I installed it), but it segfaults at the console (different TERM setting). I would like to have vim (cursors in edit mode etc.), but emerge --pretend vim tells me he's about to install opengl stuff and xfree! I don't want that on my server. It's a P200 (took me half a day to bootstrap the thing :-) ) with a fairly small disk by nowaday's standards. Any way to have vim without all those additional packages?

--Ivo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ivo wrote:
Any way to have vim without all those additional packages?


Read the USE variable how-to. Try something like "-gnome -gtk -X".
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ivo wrote:
Any way to have vim without all those additional packages?

Read the USE variable HOWTO and USE="-X -gnome -gtk".
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=8447

You may actually have to use:
Code:

export USE="-gnome -gtk -X -python"; emerge vim

though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, a three-fer. ;)
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ivo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't have enough patience to wait for the replies (though you all were very fast! thanks :-) ) and did an emerge --nodeps vim to see what happened. The funny thing is that the configure script of vim 'sees' there's no X (and related libs etc.) and compiles perfectly. Vim works now.

I guess it's better to set the USE variable permanently (maybe rebuild vim?) to avoid further problems in the future?

--Ivo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice shortcut :).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ivo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darn, I hate the back button of my browser. This is the _second_ time in a few days my posting is submitted twice :-(

Sorry...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masseya
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 2602
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could just create an alias. This wouldn't work for every user, but then you wouldn't have to worry about editing things in /usr/bin/.

lvo -- That's a pretty neat emerge trick.

Naan Yaar wrote:
True... I just don't like modifying anything directly in /usr/bin, etc., and prefer a way through the packaging system. I prefer the minor bloat!

Tristam29 wrote:
Or you could just emerge vim, not deal with the 'bloat' of having both vi and vim and using only vim, and make your own symlink...

_________________
if i never try anything, i never learn anything..
if i never take a risk, i stay where i am..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would if you put it in /etc/profile or /etc/csh.cshrc...
Tristam29 wrote:
You could just create an alias. This wouldn't work for every user,...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum