Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[ati-drivers] No supported adapters detected
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"accept_keywords" version appears when automatic is used. you can manually add to accept_keywords. I'm old and rusty so still think the old way.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you get a new ati-drivers and xorgserver and evdev
Code:
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
ati-config --initial
xrandr | wgetpaste
url?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol

anyways... no joy, same problem (it's probb the res thing it can't find, tried both confs.)

tried emerge @x11-module-rebuild as per a message after xorg install for upgrades from <1.5

it just rebuilt the evdev and ati-drivers again.

alright, see you guys tuesday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
ati-config --initial
xrandr | wgetpaste
pretty please
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow... aticonfig (no dashes ^_^) looks waaaaay way leaner! looking good.. even names the monitor as "Generic autodetecting monitor!wohoo".. roll the drums...... NOPE :cry:

again, xrandr requires X running or it can't open display. no?


Last edited by MarcoMarin on Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

need to get control of resolution,
maybe by tuesday
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you guys come up with some other idea by then, I'm at a loss here. :cry:

See you then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may have it; if your xorg.conf looks like:
Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS" "true"
Option "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver "fglrx"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
add the bold red line (in regular font of course) and try startx

worked for me

amd may be using xrandr vice ati-config to make changes on the fly. got xrandr to work to change resolution first then located a good example of the option preferredmode hope it works for you
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't get it. What is the difference between the bold red line and the one in the file you pasted to neddy? (except the actual res of course, which I tried an even lower one)

problem is, it does read that option, but then it discards it and says it is not used. (as better described in my friday post?)

here it is described with the actual output and not in my own confusing words...

Code:
[   186.814] (II) fglrx(0): Output DFP1 using monitor section Monitor0
[   186.814] (**) fglrx(0): Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
...
[   186.814] (II) fglrx(0): Output CRT1 has no monitor section
...
[   186.814] (II) fglrx(0): Connected Display0: CRT1
[   186.814] (II) fglrx(0):  Display0: Failed to get EDID information.
[   186.814] (II) fglrx(0): Dynamic Surface Resizing Enabled
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): EDID for output DFP1
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): EDID for output DFP2
....
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): EDID for output DFP7
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): Cannot get EDID information for CRT1
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): EDID for output CRT1
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): Printing probed modes for output CRT1
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1600x1200"x60.0  162.00  1600 1664 1856 2160  1200 1201 1204 1250 +hsync +vsync (75.0 kHz eP)
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1400x1050"x60.0  122.61  1400 1488 1640 1880  1050 1051 1054 1087 -hsync +vsync (65.2 kHz e)
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0):
...
[   186.815] (II) fglrx(0): Output DFP1 disconnected
...
[   186.816] (II) fglrx(0): Output CRT1 connected
[   186.816] (II) fglrx(0): Using exact sizes for initial modes
[   186.816] (II) fglrx(0): Output CRT1 using initial mode 1600x1200
...
[   186.873] (WW) fglrx(0): Option "PreferredMode" is not used



Maybe your idea about disabling EDID in the kernel but I don't think it would work because it goes so far as probing the monitor successfully without edid anyways, so... (edit: and we did try IgnoreEDID to no avail either)

my idea is to somehow redirect that crt-1 it complains of not having a monitor section to the same monitor0 section. It is obvious dfp1 is using that one, so it is considered to be screen0, so maybe creating a screen1, calling it crt-1 somewhere and adding a monitor option "monitor0" on it would work, but how exactly should I go about writing that? (edit: I'll try copying it over and simply changing its name to screen1, when I'm back)
alternatively, having dfp1 disabled from the start and having crt-1 be screen0 should work too, but how to do it?

I believe dfp1 refers to the dvi port, there is an adapter there to vga which goes to the crt monitor. The thing is probb thinking there is a dvi monitor (with edid available? and maybe here your idea of disabling it in the kernel could take effect?) tries to get it, can't do it, "disconnects it" (as per output above), then crt responds instead it then "connects it", but by then screen0 was already used and thus this new screen is not instantiated, has no options, no monitor option in particular. (and thus "Option "PreferredMode" is not used ")

edit: Another idea I had right in the beginning was to run aticonfig --resolution=0,1024x768 (or whatever res) AFTER X is running, given that, as neddy noticed, X runs ok until I kill it. However, the ways I tried to accomplish this have all failed. Maybe you guys have a better idea on why they did and how to do it. I've tried the following approaches:

1) logging in a different console and running the command after running startx in the 1st console;
2) running startx && aticonfig [stripped]
3) placing the aticonfig command on xinitrc (Im not sure whether I've actually did try this one, but I should have : ))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try Option "PreferredMode" "1400x1050"

somebody with your monitor reported using that resolution.
PreferredMode needs a modeline defined

startx
blind type or open a new console
xrandr --output DFP1 --mode 1280x1024
xrandr --output CRT1 --mode 1280x1024
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"There I fixed" :lol: Unfortunately (I'm getting tired of this punch line,lol), input seems broken.. wouldn't that be cool to blind hack out of it? 8) I had tried it before (exit, to cleanly make for the alt-ctl-bksp, instead of ctr-c), thus not on my approach above. But we'll fix that when I get back. :wink: (Probb evdev/xkb simple misconfig)

There was no time to learn how to type a proper modeline now, but apparently aticonfig was magnanimous this time and decided to have mercy on my first approach there (thanks donahue for confirming it was a sound idea)

Apparently stubbornness repaid once more, Neddy :P

See you guys Tuesday for the final showdown with this damned box from hell :evil: .

Correction while previewing the post:

Got razorqt working and mouse and keyboard works! \o/

Glxinfo say direct rendering enabled!
Glxgears reports almost 3000 FPS!!!! MWAHAHAHAHAH :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your last report mean that fglrx is now working correctly? Or that some problem remains?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, it is working. Thanks! =)

Unfort... :lol: Just kidding, but maybe the only mystery is why the input didn't work with xterm alone but did with the whole DE.. I suppose a simple proper input section on xorg.conf will solve it (for example, toggle between xkb and evdev), or something like your 98-keyboard example from before.. (although I'd still wonder how razor can manage without it, can it add its own?)

I don't remember what default aticonfig leave the conf at, will check it out later and report back : )

edit: And also how it fixed the resolution, I don't think it used preferred mode, i think it has written directly in the screen section instead of the monitor section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6656
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
wgetpaste /etc/X11/xorg.conf
xrandr | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
url's would be of great interest
looks as though aticonfig --initial has stopped working as it should fpr me as well as you, --initial is supposed to backup an existing xorg.conf and replace it with a default; aticonfig --some other option is supposed to modify the existing xorg.conf; it appears that --initial is currently modifying instead of replacing with a default.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No no.. Sorry, I wasn't clear. When I referred to my approach #1, it was that aticonfig option (resolution setting). The initial option does still back it up. Although I don't remember if I've tried that new version, probably did... (yes, timestamp of latest backup is from sunday early morning, right before travel)

Fixed the keyboard and mouse the way I mentioned. Funny though, xterm is only picking up the keyboard if the mouse is over its box. Lol, it wasn't that way if I remember... (tested both kbd and evdev) Also, ctrl-alt-bksp doesn't seem to be working...

Yep, I recalled correctly, the resolution setting option changes not the monitor section but the screen section, though under a subsection named Display and the option string is "Modes".

X still ignored PreferredModes in that contrived way (reads and accepts for DFP1, then discards it and say it's not used for CRT1).

There you go:

http://bpaste.net/show/199598/
http://bpaste.net/show/199600/
http://bpaste.net/show/199601/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_Sir_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 337
Location: Russia, Togliatti

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After all this experiments with x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati and x11-drivers/ati-drivers it would be very interesting to see output of the command:
Code:
eselect opengl list
Personally I haven't upgrated to xorg-server-1.15.0 yet because of I don't like neither xx.0 versions of packages nor beta video drivers. But until I had changed selection from xorg to ati with eselect opengl my X didn't start. I have VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx", but I've changed it before I do upgrate last time from "fglrx radeon r600" so may be my portage tree have some stale dependenses. Nevertheless, xf86-video-ati has removed from current install.
So I'll be wating for somehow improvements by ati with their binary packs or xorg change their minor version from zero ))
But I can test 15.0 xorg-server on my oldy laptop where Radeon Xpress 1100 (aka radeon r300) is residing.
So when I saw my portage complains about ati and xorg-server, I've decided to do some googling before I'll start do weird thing. And here I am. )
_________________
(Sir) * Life is placeholder for Love *
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarcoMarin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dunno if helps, but here it is:
Code:
$ eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   ati *
  [2]   xorg-x11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum