Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wpa_gui wont work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ALF__
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:52 pm    Post subject: wpa_gui wont work Reply with quote

Hello.


Trying to get the nightmare of wireless lan to work on a fresh laptop install.

Trying to start wpa_gui, and it windows opens up, but nothing more shows, and i get this:


QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment.

Followed by many:

X Error: BadDrawable (Invalid pixmap or window parameter) 9
Major opcode: 62 (X_CopyArea)



Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tractor Girl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's simple config. No need for gui. Modify it for your needs.

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211 -qq"
config_wlan0="192.168.1.111/24"
routes_wlan0="default via 192.168.1.1"


/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
   scan_ssid=1
   ssid="NAME"
   psk="PASSWORD"
   proto=RSN
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP
   auth_alg=OPEN
   }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I will try that.

Though my card have gotten i really long name :)

After editing those files. What do i need to do to make it run? Like ifconfig up or something simmiliar?

Also, for using dhcp, what changes is needed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tractor Girl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For dhcp your /etc/conf.d/net should probably look like this:
Quote:
modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211 -qq"

The red part must be changed accordingly to your wifi card.

You can check interface name (wlan0 in this example) with:
Code:
ip link

Also make sure you're in whatever group you specify in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf ("wheel" in my example).
Apart from that standard handbook stuff should be enough:
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.INTERFACE_NAME
rc-update add net.INTERFACE_NAME default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way suggested here uses old-good netifrc, so you must create link named "net.<your interface name>" pointing at "net.lo", both located in /etc/init.d/
You start your interface like any other service started with init system, e.g. "/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 s tart" will apply predefined config to wlan0.
Good, easy way to make it work with static configuration, however since you mentioned laptop I suppose you're going to move it around a bit, so networkmanager or some other stuff doing the same job in graphic mode and without root permissions is likely to be preferable.
You can define multiple networks in wpa_supplicant's config and let it pick the one in range though, so if you only move between several, known locations, changing configs manually might be significantly less pain than it appears.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work Reply with quote

ALF__ wrote:
QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment.

ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.

Code:
# egrep '(_TMPFS|SHMEM)' /usr/src/linux/.config
# mount | grep shm

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:23 pm    Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
ALF__ wrote:
QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment.

ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.

Code:
# egrep '(_TMPFS|SHMEM)' /usr/src/linux/.config
# mount | grep shm

best ... khay


Thanks guys for your responses.
Khayyam: I will check this when I get home. Do you think this could affect the rendering problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALF__
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:50 am    Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
ALF__ wrote:
QnativeImage: Unable to attach to shared memory segment.

ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.

Code:
# egrep '(_TMPFS|SHMEM)' /usr/src/linux/.config
# mount | grep shm

best ... khay



Hello!

yep, TMPFS was in the kernel configuration, and it output:

shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 2244

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:03 pm    Post subject: Re: wpa_gui wont work Reply with quote

ALF__ wrote:
khayyam wrote:
ALF__ ... this is possibly due to missing tmpfs/shm support in the kernel.

yep, TMPFS was in the kernel configuration [...]

ALF__ ... ok, I should have said "wild guess" :) ... the error is infact from Qt, not sure why but you might provide/pastebin the output of 'emerge --info' and 'strace wpa_gui':

Code:
# emerge --info wpa_supplicant
# emerge --ask strace
# su - <your_user_name>
$ strace wpa_gui

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum