Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Alsa will not use HDMI as default device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mark4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:14 pm    Post subject: Alsa will not use HDMI as default device Reply with quote

Im not able to find a configuration that will make my HDMI audio the default. some info...

speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hdmi:0,1 gives me audio so i know my HDMI audio is working

i have "options snd-hda-intel index=1,0" as my last line in /etc/modules.d/alsa.conf to switch the order of my devices,

cat /proc/asound/cards gives me...

0 [NVidia ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
HDA NVidia at 0xfb080000 irq 28
1 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xfb720000 irq 100
so i know HDMI is the first device.

no matter what i put in ~/.asoundrc alsa will not push any audio out my HDMI. I have been to multiple pages claiming to have working configurations for this and nothing has supplied me with a working configuration. Worked 12+ hours on this on irc.freenode.net #gentoo and #alsa all to no avail.

Can anyone tell me how to get alsa to use my HDMI as the default audio device?

im not using pulseaudio or jack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2643
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If that speaker-test line give you audio via HDMI, it means your alsa.conf line is not doing what you want it to do. Doesn't surprise me, that line doesn't make much sense. Do this: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1045829#p1045829 <- not directly this of course, that user wanted to do the opposite of what you want :), but same principle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gusar wrote:
If that speaker-test line give you audio via HDMI, it means your alsa.conf line is not doing what you want it to do. Doesn't surprise me, that line doesn't make much sense. Do this: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1045829#p1045829 <- not directly this of course, that user wanted to do the opposite of what you want :), but same principle.


This didnt help me, this guys issue was that his HDMI and onboard sound cards were in the opposite order he wanted. My HDMI is card 0. card 1 is the default. and NOTHING i try has made it otherwise. :/

EDIT:

ACTUALLY my HDMI IS now my default... but playing anything still has blaring silence. I modified my modules.d/alsa.conf file so somehow my HDMI is the system default but i cannot get any audio out. Im guessing that this is now a channel issue.


now im totally confused. with the changes i have in my modules.d/alsaa.conf speakertest now needs to be

speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hdmi:1,1

and cat /proc/asound/cards returns

0 [HDMI ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xfb720000 irq 100
1 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
HDA NVidia at 0xfb080000 irq 28

and again no matter what i put in .asoundrc silence ensues
:/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark4 wrote:
speaker-test -c 2 -r 48000 -D hdmi:1,1

So presumably you could put in ~/.asoundrc:
Code:
pcm.!default {
    slave.pcm "hdmi:1,1"
}

_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any news on this ?

I have an intel sound card with the same issue as OP. I can play sound through HDMI with
Code:
mplayer -ao alsa:device=hdmi=1 some_sound_file.mp3
When i try some combination of
Code:
#!/bin/bash
for(( k = 0; k <= 1; k++ ))
do
for(( i = 0; i <= 10; i++ ))
do
echo "$k,$i"
mplayer -endpos 6 -ao alsa:device=hw=$k.$i Downloads/soundcloud_feedme_mix.mp3
done
done
the only one that makes some noise are the laptop speakers at i=1,k=0.
I've been trying to find some sort of alsa config setting so i do not need to pass the (device=hdmi=1)-command every time i want to play something through hdmi. Because now i do not have a way to play firefox (i.e. flash, for watching live streams) via HDMI.

Next im going to try to get pulseaudio to work, i assume/hope this will solve my problem. But still i would really like to know the native alsa setting with which i can make my HDMI-sound work.

p.s. PaulBredbury's suggestion for pcm.!default { slave.pcm "hdmi:1,1" } does not work for me.


Last edited by klz on Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 259
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at aplay -l
Create a .asoundrc
Code:
pcm.!default
{ type hw
  card X
  device Y
}

For me X=1 and Y=3 because aplay-l return
Code:
carte 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], périphérique 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

Restart aslasound service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi sebB,

Unfortunately that does not work. Instead of "carte 1: HDMI" mine states "hdmi: PCH".
My HDMI devices are on 3,7&8 on card 1. My laptop speakers are on card 1 device 0.

This is why mplayer -ao alsa:device=hw=1.0 some_sound_file.mp3 does give me some sound (over laptop speakers), but every other combination $i.$k gives silence ( on 1.3& 1.7 & 1.8 ) and fail immediately on the others.
The problem is that it only work when i put device=hdmi=1, and i do not know how to capture that in .asoundrc. Since none of the hw-combination play sound via hmdi.


Last edited by klz on Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 259
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your aplay -l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi SebB (i mistook -l for -L earlier)
aplay -l
Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CX20590 Analog [CX20590 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


aplay -L
Code:
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
sysdefault:CARD=Loopback
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, CX20590 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=1
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 1
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=2
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 2
    HDMI Audio Output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 259
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you test if one of this gives sound. Replace X,Y by 1,3 1,7 1,8
Quote:
aplay -D plughw:X,Y /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
aplay -D hw:X,Y /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum