View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:30 am    Post subject: A question of ethics or practicality? Reply with quote

Okay, I've got a question for you.

Say you write a computer program, using the laptop given to you by your company but on your own time and certainly not related to anything your employer does.

Can your employer claim your computer program as theirs?
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not a lawyer and I don't know, but here's my opinion.

They can try. I don't think most courts would uphold their assertion, though. Courts have been fairly reasonable about intellectual property rights of individuals, in cases like this.

For example, at one of the consulting firms I've worked for, we all had to sign fairly restrictive non-disclosure, non-compete, and intellectual property rights documents upon getting hired. One of them stated that anything we produced during our term of employment that was materially related to the nature of our work for the company belonged wholly to the company. In other words, even if you came up with something on your home computer, while on vacation, if it was the same kind of work you do for the company, they claim ownership.

A friend of mine left the company and started his own firm, and the company sued him for intellectual property theft because he was reusing the same boilerplate documents he had produced for clients, including the same diagrams, tables, charts, research, and even lots of verbatim text. He had written it at work, on the company's computer.