Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
tap interface failes to aquire ip
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4895

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:10 am    Post subject: tap interface failes to aquire ip Reply with quote

hello,

I have a bridge setup on my computer which I'm trying to configure to get ip tap based, here is my config:
Code:
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /usr/share/doc/openrc/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).

bridge_br0="eth0 tap0 tap1 tap2"
brctl_br0="setfd 0 sethello 10 stp off"

config_br0="dhcp"
rc_net_br0_need="net.tap0 net.tap1"
# net.tap2"

config_tap0="null"
tuntap_tap0="tap"
tunctl_tap0="-g virt_users"
carrier_timeout_tap0="0"
mac_tap0="0A:F8:1E:71:23:90"

config_tap1="null"
tuntap_tap1="tap"
carrier_timeout_tap1="0"
mac_tap1="0A:F8:1E:71:23:91"

config_tap2="dhcp"
tuntap_tap2="tap"                                                                                                                 
tunctl_tap2="-u htpc"                                                                                                             
carrier_timeout_tap2="0"                                                                                                         
mac_tap2="0A:F8:1E:71:23:92"                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                                 
config_eth0="null"


when I try to start the device I get this:
Code:
dagg@NCC-5001-D ~ $ service start net.tap2
Password:
Starting init script
 * Caching service dependencies ...
Service `libvirtd' needs non existent service `firewalld'                                                                   [ ok ]
 * Bringing up interface tap2
 *   Creating Tun/Tap interface tap2 ...                                                                                    [ ok ]
 *   Changing MAC address of tap2 ...                                                                                       [ ok ]
 *     changed to 0a:f8:1e:71:23:92
 *   dhcp ...
 *     Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd[9255]: version 5.6.4 starting
dhcpcd[9255]: all: configured as a router, not a host
dhcpcd[9255]: tap2: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[9255]: tap2: carrier lost
dhcpcd[9255]: timed out
dhcpcd[9255]: allowing 8 seconds for IPv4LL timeout
dhcpcd[9255]: timed out                                                                                                     [ !! ]

any ideas what is the issue and how to solve this?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1376
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remove Anything regarding tap from your config and let your VM Software Handle these, just create the Bridge by yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4895

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

py-ro wrote:
Remove Anything regarding tap from your config and let your VM Software Handle these, just create the Bridge by yourself.


I need per tap ip allocation, if I remove the config, I won't achieve that.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball


Last edited by DaggyStyle on Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1376
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dhcp can't work on your tap Interface, because it will broadcast on tap not on the bridge.

It would be helpful, if you describe exactly what you want to archive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4895

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

py-ro wrote:
dhcp can't work on your tap Interface, because it will broadcast on tap not on the bridge.

It would be helpful, if you describe exactly what you want to archive.


I have a three seat multiseat setup, I want to assign a tap to each seat.

the issue is that my router allocates ip per mac, I want each tap to have its own static ip.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1376
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did never use mutliseat setups.

But i think the bridge is the wrong solution, with way too much overhead.

You can setup new interfaces with "ip link", they will just behave like normal interfaces.

Beside this, you will need policy based routing, if u want to archive that every seat should use his own IP as outgoing IP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4895

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

py-ro wrote:
Did never use mutliseat setups.

But i think the bridge is the wrong solution, with way too much overhead.

You can setup new interfaces with "ip link", they will just behave like normal interfaces.

Beside this, you will need policy based routing, if u want to archive that every seat should use his own IP as outgoing IP.


can you point me to a tutorial on how to setup ip links?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum