Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Not visible on network...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
siknasa9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:59 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Not visible on network... Reply with quote

I have a strange problem that I've never encountered before. Of course I've Googled to no avail. I just switched my girlfriend's laptop from Ubuntu to Gentoo in hopes of seeing less problems as my server has literally zero issues, as bleeding edge as I keep it. Anyway, I can connect via ssh to all other computers and devices from the laptop, the internet works great, and my daap client connects without a hitch. The problems are that the connections are slow and I can't see the laptop on the network (I use Fing on my Android phone and nmap on the desktop for discoveries). I can't ping the laptop, I can't use either the host name nor the ip address directly for ssh, yet I can connect to the desktop and other devices using whatever protocol from the laptop. I'm baffled.

Some background: I connect with an init script using wpa_supplicant and a static ip. It captures the right ip at least.

Code:
randy@donnalw ~ $ ifconfig
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 84234  bytes 24801393 (23.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 84234  bytes 24801393 (23.6 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.127  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::76de:2bff:fe93:1689  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 74:de:2b:93:16:89  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 197798  bytes 239188957 (228.1 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 133615  bytes 18295646 (17.4 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


Code:
randy@donnalw ~ $ sudo iwconfig
Password:
lo        no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"dd-wrt" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: C0:C1:C0:23:82:26   
          Bit Rate=72.2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=66/70  Signal level=-44 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


Code:
randy@donnalw ~ $ cat /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /usr/share/doc/openrc*/net.example* and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
modules="wpa_supplicant"
config_wlan0="192.168.1.127 netmask 255.255.255.0"
routes_wlan0="default via 192.168.1.1"
dns_servers_wlan0="200.18.47.63 200.18.47.64"

wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dnl80211"


Not sure what other related files/commands I could show you, but it's way past my bedtime, so please let me know if I'm missing anything relevant.[/post]
_________________
Autobots... roll out!!


Last edited by siknasa9 on Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it were ssh only that was one-way, I would think "keys".
If other apps are also one-way only, sounds like "firewall".
(It clealy lets tcp reply packets back in for sessions
initiated from the laptop, but apparently blocks packets
from sessions initiated elsewhere.)

Nothing in wherever kernel log messages from iptables
end up? (/var/log/kern.log for me, but I have sysklogd
configured particularly for that. Might be in /var/log/syslog
or /var/log/messages.)
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siknasa9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iptables was removed. I let the hardware firewalls and a strong wpa password keep unwanted people out. Everything within the network is wide open. syslog-ng is bare bones right now since it's a fairly recent install. The /var/log/messages didn't have anything pertinent when I looked before but maybe another set of eyes is a good idea. I will post it here after work since I can't SSH in. Oh, and yes, I've tried samba, FTP, and HTTP in to the laptop and get nothing. Perhaps I forgot to remove iptables and just think I did. Will report back in about 5 hours. Thanks for the reply.
_________________
Autobots... roll out!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siknasa9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iptables was removed. I let the hardware firewalls and a strong wpa password keep unwanted people out. Everything within the network is wide open. syslog-ng is bare bones right now since it's a fairly recent install. The /var/log/messages didn't have anything pertinent when I looked before but maybe another set of eyes is a good idea. I will post it here after work since I can't SSH in. Oh, and yes, I've tried samba, FTP, and HTTP in to the laptop and get nothing. Perhaps I forgot to remove iptables and just think I did. Will report back in about 5 hours. Thanks for the reply.
_________________
Autobots... roll out!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21489

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the full output of your nmap probe and the output of iptables-save as run from the laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siknasa9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made it visible by changing config_wlan0 to dhcp and allowing the router to assign the static ip address and rebooting. Thanks for the help.
_________________
Autobots... roll out!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siknasa9
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An update: I had to take out routes_wlan0 and dns_servers_wlan0 from the net configuration file as well. I rebooted once again and had a very slow connection and removing those got everything back to normal.
_________________
Autobots... roll out!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum