Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Second Monitor (VGA) on Grub - Console Resolution Problems:
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nelsonwcf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:28 pm    Post subject: Second Monitor (VGA) on Grub - Console Resolution Problems: Reply with quote

Hello guys,

I have a notebook with Gentoo Installed. It's kind of a netbook so I use it in a different monitor connected to the VGA output. I have been trying to configure GRUB to use a greater resolution in console for this second monitor (23'' LCD). As it is now, GRUB can only use the maximum resolution that the main monitor can handle (it's a netbook so it's a ridiculous resolution) but on the secondary monitor the console appears only in the superior left quarter of the screen. X works normally. I am using video with uvesafb, but I don't know how to tell GRUB to use a greater resolution in the secondary monitor or use a resolution from the secondary monitor.
Can you guys help me ?

Regards,
Nelson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32334
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelsonwcf,

You want grub to use a different screen resolution itself, for the grub menu, r you want the kernel command line to pass a new framebuffer resolution to the kernel as the kernel boots.

grub legacy (grub1) only supports standard 640x480 VGA mode. I don't use grub2 yest, so can't comment on it.

The netbook will support three video settings at the console, internal only, external only, or both. In both mode, the display settings are as you have describled, limited by the lowest resolution screen.
You uvesafb may be ignored too. If you have an Intel chipset, you should be using the Intel KMS helper, so you will be gettting an intelfb for free. Hence your uvesa settings may be ignored, or applied to a framebuffer you are not actually using.

Please post your grub.conf and put your dmesg onto a pastebin site.
wgetpaste is your friend.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelsonwcf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although I did not get 100% of what you explained, the last part, about the framebuffer being not really used, seems true as I can't change the resolution using the settings I current have in the grub. Anyway, here are the files you requested.

Here is my grub.conf:

http://bpaste.net/show/66493/

and my dmesg:

http://bpaste.net/show/66493/

Thanks in advance,
Nelson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32334
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelsonwcf,

I think your dmesg is http://bpaste.net/show/66494/ :)

Here
Code:
 [    0.700547] fbcon: inteldrmfb (fb0) is primary device
we see that the console uses inteldrmfb. as its the first framebuffer devie.
vesafb is not mentioned in your dmesg.

In your grub.conf change
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo root=/dev/sda3 ro video=uvesafb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1920x1080-24@60
to
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-3.5.7-gentoo root=/dev/sda3 ro video=inteldrmfb:mtrr:3,ywrap,1920x1080-24@60

Only the framebuffer name is changed, so that the values you provide are used by the framebuffer you are actually using.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelsonwcf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi man,

Sorry for the delayed answer. I changed the line from uvesafb to interdrmfb but no changes. Same resolution as it was previously. Can this be happening because the main monitor doesn't support this resolution ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32334
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nelsonwcf,

Please post your grub.conf as it is now.
nelsonwcf wrote:
... uvesafb to interdrmfb ...

interdrmfb isn't quite right. We need to know that your grub.conf is correct, even if your post was mistyped.

It may be a limitation of the hardware while both displays are connected.
I may be able to test here on my Netbook, which has an Intel 945 chipset and a VGA output. I am not sure I still have a VGA capable display to connect it to.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelsonwcf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Oct 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again, sorry for the delay.

Here is my grub.conf:

http://bpaste.net/show/68642/

Thanks again,
Nelson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum