Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
My system produces no sound
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:44 am    Post subject: My system produces no sound Reply with quote

I have the system installed, following the manual.

And everything goes well, except my sound card seems not work.

Here is my sound card info :
Code:

 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0559
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6513
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you used
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml
or
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/PulseAudio

Code:
dmesg | grep -i hda
alsamixer -V all

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
have you used
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml
or
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/PulseAudio

Code:
dmesg | grep -i hda
alsamixer -V all



Code:
dmesg | grep -i hda                                                                     /usr/src/linux (1)
[    7.009943] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[    7.009992] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 43 for MSI/MSI-X
[    7.010023] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
[    7.047645] hda_codec: ALC269: SKU not ready 0x598301f0
[   48.553735] hda-intel: IRQ timing workaround is activated for card #0. Suggest a bigger bdl_pos_adj.
[  470.770113] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A disabled
[  471.423858] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: restoring config space at offset 0xf (was 0x100, writing 0x107)
[  471.423868] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: restoring config space at offset 0x4 (was 0xdc000004, writing 0xf0800004)
[  471.423872] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: restoring config space at offset 0x3 (was 0x0, writing 0x10)
[  471.423875] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: restoring config space at offset 0x1 (was 0x100006, writing 0x100102)
[  471.424533] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[  471.424538] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
[  471.424579] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 43 for MSI/MSI-X


Yeah, I have read it. But alsaconf gives this:
Code:
No supported PnP or PCI card found.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6513
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

menuconfig:
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
<M> Sound card support --->
--- Sound card support
[*] PCI sound devices --->
--- PCI sound devices
<M> Intel HD Audio ---> Only choice selected here
--- Intel HD Audio
(64) Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver
-*- Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver
-*- Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration (EXPERIMENTAL)
[*] Support digital beep via input layer
(1) Digital beep registration mode (0=off, 1=on)
[*] Support jack plugging notification via input layer
[*] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio
[*] Build Realtek HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support
[*] Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support
[*] Build VIA HD-audio codec support
[*] Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Cirrus Logic codec support
[*] Build Conexant HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support
[*] Build Creative CA0132 codec support
[*] Build C-Media HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support
[*] Enable generic HD-audio codec parser
Theoretically all you need is ' [*] Build Realtek HD-audio codec support ' but I have had bad luck guessing

Code:
emerge alsa-utils
rc-update add alsasound boot
rc-update add alsasound default
/etc/init.d/alsasound restart


Code:
alsactl init
shows?

Code:
lsmod | grep -i snd
yields here:
Quote:

snd_hda_codec_hdmi 24195 4
snd_hda_codec_analog 84284 1
snd_hda_intel 24827 3
snd_hda_codec 94090 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 6068 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 78495 4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer 20005 2 snd_pcm
snd 64321 11 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore 6506 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 7677 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
menuconfig:
Quote:

<M> Intel HD Audio ---> Only choice selected here


Sorry, I search in menuconfig but not found this line, nor anything about HD-audio aslike...
My gentoo version is 3.2.12.. Does it matters?

Code:

lsmod | grep -i snd                                                           /usr/src/linux-3.2.12-gentoo
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     20961  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek   148077  1
snd_hda_intel          18815  3
snd_hda_codec          60882  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4452  1 snd_hda_codec

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kidov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 55
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you mean you can't find this:

Code:

Location:                                                                 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                       
  │       -> Sound card support (SOUND [=y])                                     
  │         -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (SND [=y])                     
  │           -> PCI sound devices (SND_PCI [=y])                               
  │             -> Intel HD Audio (SND_HDA_INTEL [=m])
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kidov wrote:
Do you mean you can't find this:

Code:

Location:                                                                 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                       
  │       -> Sound card support (SOUND [=y])                                     
  │         -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (SND [=y])                     
  │           -> PCI sound devices (SND_PCI [=y])                               
  │             -> Intel HD Audio (SND_HDA_INTEL [=m])



I could find this . And under Intel HD Audio , I found many options checked. But it does not help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 778
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my current system, I have the sound drivers (also Intel HD) built in - perhaps you should try that.
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clad in Sky wrote:
On my current system, I have the sound drivers (also Intel HD) built in - perhaps you should try that.


I think I also have the sound driver built in :
Code:

Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0559
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel


When I open my video player, it play no sound and no images, gives this:
Code:

The audio playback device HDA Intel (ALC269VB Analog) does not work.
Falling back to default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5525

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, that output says it's a module, but it still works.
So, lets try some tests with the card.
'aplay -v < /dev/urandom' should produce some output and white noise.
amixer should show you the volume set on the device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
No, that output says it's a module, but it still works.
So, lets try some tests with the card.
'aplay -v < /dev/urandom' should produce some output and white noise.
amixer should show you the volume set on the device.



Code:
'aplay -v < /dev/urandom'
produces no sound.


Here is some debug output , anything wrong here ?

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=a33ca48ba667e01a626c21fe2cdc04387714a4fa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5525

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of that output says you've got a few tools missing.
emerge media-sound/alsa-utils and check with alsamixer if some of the outputs aren't muted as some of that output suggests so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
Most of that output says you've got a few tools missing.
emerge media-sound/alsa-utils and check with alsamixer if some of the outputs aren't muted as some of that output suggests so.


I have checked and makes the master and headphone unmuted, heard nothing...

I have recompiled and reset ,follwing the alsa manual. It still doesn't work. Here is New alsa-info :
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=c8addde18db1ed737204d97e72277d36e1f2ad62
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2342
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to that both your headphone and speaker controls are set to 0% and muted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larmbr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
According to that both your headphone and speaker controls are set to 0% and muted.


But it doesn't matter . Even I unmute them, there is still no sound...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
!!Modprobe options (Sound related)

snd-hda-intel: model=acer-aspire position_fix=1
snd-hda-intel: model=acer-aspire position_fix=1
snd-hda-intel: model=auto

Should only be 1 entry, not 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum