Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 4.9.3 - krunner(Alt-F2) not reacting on Enter/Down key?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Qcumber-some
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2007
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:27 pm    Post subject: KDE 4.9.3 - krunner(Alt-F2) not reacting on Enter/Down key? Reply with quote

After last update to KDE 4.9.3 I found that the krunner (or whatever that little box coming up with Alt-F2 is called) does not react on Enter anymore. Last KDE version I typed 3 letters and pressed enter for the first entry, or pressed Down and then Enter for the second one. Now I have to use the mouse to click the entry, or I have to use Up twice, then Down to get the first entry which I then can also select with Enter.

But it looks like the first entry is selected. It just isn't.

From my feeling I would say this is a bug in KDE? But I can not find this bug nowhere on the 'net, only one about the search feature taking too much time and krunner eating some keystrokes. But that's not my problem.

Can someone please verify that this is not only my machine?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 3886
Location: Irgendwo im Nirgendwo

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can verify this on ONE machine, the others (2) never had this problem with 4.9.3.
_________________
"der mac dennoch wesen geil"
Wolfram von Eschenbach, Parzival (Buch 1, Z. 7).
Ein frühes Statement gegen Windows.

My overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b00l
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirmed. This seems to be the bug report on kde.org: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=309787
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1347
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah! Eventually I have the answer to this strange behavior. And it is nice that it is fixed in 4.9.4.

I guess I'll add 4.9.4 to my package.keywords, then. It is very annoying to have to use the mouse when the keyboard should be (and always had been) enough. ;)
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b00l
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yes, it is really annoying. I've requested a backport of the patch to 4.9.3 (https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=447136) because I'd rather not flood my package keywords with all the KDE stuff...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1347
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b00l wrote:
I'd rather not flood my package keywords with all the KDE stuff...
Well, I use a little script to flood it, and "portpeek -arf" to de-flood it when the packages hit stable. ;)
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1347
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the late reply. The update is finished, and krunner is again starting the first found match on enter.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesuno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi! I found a workaround that works for me:

1) Alt+F2
2) start typing the name of the program (e.g. "fi")
3) that will be extended with grey letters (e.g. "firefox")
4) press end, then enter immediately (in fast succession)
5) firefox starts : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum