Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ati-drivers won't install [somewhat solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:39 pm    Post subject: ati-drivers won't install [somewhat solved] Reply with quote

Hello.
I have the problem of X not finding any screens, and runing it with -configure will just inform me it's missing output drivers as expected.
The drivers won't install. I want the proprietary due to me needing "MOAR PERFORMANCE".
The chip in question is an AMD HD6850 (barts i think?)
Kernel is manually configured to work, as seen here: http://bpaste.net/show/61537
Output from emerge ati-drivers: http://bpaste.net/show/61533
Line 99 and forward is the interesting.
It can't build glxgears for some reason, but I don't need glxgears, do I? Isn't that just for benchmarking and testing?
Anyways, I'd be grateful for any help, and i will paste output of any command.
Thank you,
onii


Last edited by oniichan on Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:50 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4106
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like more GLU fallout...

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-943260-highlight-.html
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Looks like more GLU fallout...

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-943260-highlight-.html


Emerged that, and now fglrx installs, but X -configure doesn't work.

Code:
[...]List of video drivers:
   fglrx
No devices to configure. Configuration failed.
Server terminated with error (2). Closing log file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oniichan,

I think you should be using aticonfig --initial
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
oniichan,

I think you should be using aticonfig --initial


oh thank GNU that solved it, I feel stupid.
note to others, it has to be run as root or the command was not found
I got a black screen running now but I'm not sure i've installed TWM and xterm yet.
Thank you

EDIT: xterm and twm installed, yet it only gives me a black screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4106
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you see a mouse cursor at least? Screen saying out of range?

How are you starting X11? If you have xinit installed with USE=-minimal it should pull in twm, xterm, etc. and pull up a rudimentary windowing environment.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Do you see a mouse cursor at least? Screen saying out of range?

How are you starting X11? If you have xinit installed with USE=-minimal it should pull in twm, xterm, etc. and pull up a rudimentary windowing environment.


No mouse cursor, nothing at all. Just a illuminated, black screen. Clicking does nothing, I can't switch TTY and blindly login as root to pkill/shutdown either.
http://bpaste.net/show/61557/ is my xorg.conf.
if I run "twm" in TTY it says
Code:
twm: unable to open display ""

if I run "exec twm" it will throw me back at TTY login.
my .xinitrc is simply
Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec twm


I was told X should "JustWerk" without a xorg.conf, but it whines about no screen found.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you eselect opengl set ati :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
Did you eselect opengl set ati :?:


Doing so gived me something I've never seen before; http://ompldr.org/vZ2l5eA
Anyways, I can't do anything at this screen. No mouse cursor, no (to me) known keyboard combination does anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I switched to the open source driver at the beginning of the year so I'm going by recollection and not an actual configuration setup.

Is VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx" in your make.conf and are you in the video group :?:

I also noticed CONFIG_AGP_AMD64=y According to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/ati-faq.xml
If you want to use AMD/ATI's internal agpgart support instead of the Linux kernel one, the agpgart driver and the chip set specific driver (in your kernel configuration) must be built as modules or not at all - I compiled everything as a module.

Also, I don't believe these should be set:
CONFIG_AGP_INTEL=m
CONFIG_AGP_SIS=m
CONFIG_AGP_VIA=m
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
Is VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx" in your make.conf and are you in the video group :?:


make.conf: http://bpaste.net/show/61569

BillWho wrote:

I also noticed CONFIG_AGP_AMD64=y According to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/ati-faq.xml
If you want to use AMD/ATI's internal agpgart support instead of the Linux kernel one, the agpgart driver and the chip set specific driver (in your kernel configuration) must be built as modules or not at all - I compiled everything as a module.


can you please explain this further - I don't think I understand this fully.

BillWho wrote:

Also, I don't believe these should be set:
CONFIG_AGP_INTEL=m
CONFIG_AGP_SIS=m
CONFIG_AGP_VIA=m


They won't do anything unless they're loaded, right? Meaning that they do nothing but "bloat".
I'll remove them if I have to recompile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oniichan wrote:
can you please explain this further - I don't think I understand this fully.

That's an excerpt from the web page I provided - I thought amd's agpgart support would provide better performance.

Is fglrx loaded :?: lsmod|grep fglrx

You're probably right about the extraneous modules just bloating things.

Also, just to cover all bases try emerge -av1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:

Is fglrx loaded :?: lsmod|grep fglrx

http://bpaste.net/show/61573

BillWho wrote:
Also, just to cover all bases try emerge -av1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)

ran that and it wanted to emerge three packages, which I allowed, but no change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4106
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using 'xinit' or 'X' to start X11? or startx?

When you run X clients you should either set your DISPLAY variable or use the -display option to set to ":0"...

That watermark is weird... usually means you're trying to run on an unsupported video chip...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
are you using 'xinit' or 'X' to start X11? or startx?

When you run X clients you should either set your DISPLAY variable or use the -display option to set to ":0"...

That watermark is weird... usually means you're trying to run on an unsupported video chip...


I am running startx, just tried X and it did exactly the same. So did xinit.

Yeah, about that DISPLAY thing, shouldn't that be taken care of by the xorg.conf? I generated it earlier as you can see, and it's posted in this thread. So is my .xinitrc;
how is the DISPLAY usually set?

I searched on that watermark, and I couldn't find it anywhere else. It'd say "unsupported chip" or something else everywhere else i searched.
The driver is the latest one fresh from portage...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For lack of any brilliant ideas is an .xsession-errors file created in your home :?: startx as user - not root

What does env|grep DISPLAY return after trying to start X :?:

Check Xorg.0.log to see if the card is getting detected...
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 840
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oniichan

the drivers are working and to get the the watermark away you can disable it in your package.use file(x11-drivers/ati-drivers disable-watermark).

like this:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild U ] x11-drivers/ati-drivers-12.11_beta8:1::x11 [12.11_beta:1::x11] USE="disable-watermark modules (multilib) qt4 -debug -static-libs" 112,105 kB

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 112,105 kB


what do you want to star in xint?

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
For lack of any brilliant ideas is an .xsession-errors file created in your home :?: startx as user - not root

Nope, the only .{X,x,}*-files in my home director are .Xauthority, which I didn't create, and .xinitrc, which I did create.

BillWho wrote:

What does env|grep DISPLAY return after trying to start X :?:

Uh, it freezes after trying to start X I think. Well, I get at a situation where I can't do anything, I'm not sure it's frozen.
Before starting X it returns nothing. I guess this means DISPLAY isn't set?

BillWho wrote:

Check Xorg.0.log to see if the card is getting detected...

The file is empty and so is Xorg.0.log.old .

hedmo wrote:
oniichan

the drivers are working and to get the the watermark away you can disable it in your package.use file(x11-drivers/ati-drivers disable-watermark).

like this:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild U ] x11-drivers/ati-drivers-12.11_beta8:1::x11 [12.11_beta:1::x11] USE="disable-watermark modules (multilib) qt4 -debug -static-libs" 112,105 kB

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 112,105 kB


Re-emerging them with that set, it caused no watermark on X start, however it's still a black illuminated screen. (No powersave from the physical monitor, it gets "told" to "show black".)
hedmo wrote:

what do you want to star in xint?

regards hedmo

I want to start my Window Manager...? (twm) I think? You made me unsure now... In all other distros i've entered "exec twm" or something like that to start installed window manager twm, after setting some stuff. Isn't that correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another long shot here:

Enable CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y and CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y and recompile the kernel. While you're in there disable the extraneous CONFIG_AGP's.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho wrote:
Another long shot here:

Enable CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y and CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y and recompile the kernel. While you're in there disable the extraneous CONFIG_AGP's.


Done and done, yet no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 840
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:22 pm    Post subject: Re: ati-drivers won't install [somewhat solved] Reply with quote

oniichan wrote:
I want to start my Window Manager...? (twm) I think? You made me unsure now... In all other distros i've entered "exec twm" or something like that to start installed window manager twm, after setting some stuff. Isn't that correct


oniichan

that sounds correct.if you have "emerge twm" and to start it is twm,the first line in xinitrc will be exec twm.if you emerge a terminal like xterm and put exec xterm in xinitrc you should have the xterm when you hit startx at the console.

my first lines in xinitrc=

myserver xinit # ls
xinitrc xinitrc.d xserverrc
myserver xinit # cat xinitrc
exec startkde


#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/Xmodmap

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4106
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The DISPLAY variable is set by X11 and only its children has it set. So if you're running any X clients from another virtual terminal or network, DISPLAY is not set automatically.

Curiousity - if you type "X -retro" do you get the stipple pattern or is it still black?

Does your /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc contain anything? How about /etc/X11/chooser.sh?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oniichan,

Can you boot native and run emerge -pv $(qlist -IC x11-drivers) 2>&1 | tee drivers.log and lsmod>lsmod.log and startx 2>&1 | tee start.log then past the files :?:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniichan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:

Curiousity - if you type "X -retro" do you get the stipple pattern or is it still black?

Same thing, all black.
eccerr0r wrote:

Does your /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc contain anything? How about /etc/X11/chooser.sh?


/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: http://bpaste.net/show/61712
/etc/X11/xinit/chooser.sh: http://bpaste.net/show/61712

BillWho wrote:
oniichan,

Can you boot native and run emerge -pv $(qlist -IC x11-drivers) 2>&1 | tee drivers.log and lsmod>lsmod.log and startx 2>&1 | tee start.log then past the files :?:


http://bpaste.net/show/61716
http://bpaste.net/show/61717
((startx command makes screen black and forces me to hard shutdown, i had it there for a few minutes but the log file isn't created))



Oh, and another thing. Ever since I recompiled kernel for the first time, it's been taking awfully long at "Switching to clocksource tsc" at boot. Like, 40-60 seconds. Tried googling it but couldn't get anything useful from it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 840
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oniichan

remove x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-7.0.0.it is not good to have them both(ati-drivers and xf86-video-ati).if you startx and it is black.hold ctrl+alt and hit f11 then alt+f1.this will take you to a login.is this correct?

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum