Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't emerge/unemerge gcc - system in a muddle
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
radnip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:56 am    Post subject: can't emerge/unemerge gcc - system in a muddle Reply with quote

Hello all,

I've been trying to fix my system for the last ten days and things are getting worse rather than better.

I'm now in a situation that an equery check on gcc passes only 17 of 5134 files.

However running emerge -u gcc, tells me that the system is up to date.

An attempt to unemerge gcc, hung for twelve hours with the message
checking for hardcore paths (I forget the exact wording).

All this happened after an update --deep world command.[/post]
Any how to proceed ?

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DawgG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
An attempt to unmerge gcc,

what are you trying to do? you shouldn't unmgerge gcc. (except an old version or in very few, very special cases)
first try
Code:
gcc-config
it will set the paths and versions.
if you want to re-emerge gcc to the already installed version, use
Code:
emerge -av gcc
omit the -u which will only emerge a newer version if one exists.
if you already have an up-to date pkg in your $PKGDIR, you could use that one with
Code:
emerge -aK gcc
(it will reinstall from the binay package). is the current gcc working? then you can build a binary pkg from it.
GOOD LUCK!
_________________
DUMM KLICKT GUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7663
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DawgG wrote:
if you want to re-emerge gcc to the already installed version, use
Code:
emerge -av gcc
...
Correction. Use
Code:
emerge -1av gcc
to prevent world set pollution.

radnip wrote:
I've been trying to fix my system for the last ten days and things are getting worse rather than better.
A symptom or two would be nice, as would the exact command you're issuing that doesn't work and the exact output of that command. Otherwise, it's going to be almost impossible to help you.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radnip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First a real big thanks to both John R Graham and DawgG for your very quick replies.

So I followed DawG's advice and did a :
Code:
 gcc config.


I then ran
Code:
 emerge -av gcc


The emerge has now been running for 20 Hours 47 Min, and has been stuck at the same place for around 20 hours. Here's the last few lines of the screen output


    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-nm... i686-pc-linux-gnu-nm
    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-ranlib... i686-pc-linux-gnu-ranlib
    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-strip... i686-pc-linux-gnu-strip
    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-windres... no
    checking for windres... no
    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-windmc... no
    checking for windmc... no
    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-objcopy... i686-pc-linux-gnu-objcopy
    checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-objdump... i686-pc-linux-gnu-objdump
    checking for cc... cc
    checking for c++... c++
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking for gcj... gcj
    checking for gfortran... gfortran


If I run
Code:
 htop

I see that the emerge process is running
Code:
gcc -E conftest.c

The the process is still consuming a lot CPU time, but otherwise it seems pretty much dead to me. I'll still let it run for a while until I receive further feedback.


Answering DawG's initial question:
what are you trying to do? you shouldn't unmgerge gcc. (except an old version or in very few, very special cases)
first try


Well it all started out because I was having problems trying to get imagemagick to work. What every packages I installed , there always seemed to be something missing. So, having read round a bit, I thought it might be useful to do a complete update of the system i.e.
Code:
 
emerge  --deep --with-bdeps=y world


After which I tried to install imagemagick again. At this point the system blocked on what seem to be some compilation. So I checked the gcc package with equery check and found that around five files failed the check. At that point I unwisely decided to unemerge gcc, with the idea of emerging again and getting all the files working.

I hope this also answers John's request for more symptoms.

I await your invaluable advice.
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7663
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have more than one gcc installed? What's the output of
Code:
gcc-config -l
? That's an ell, not a wun. :wink:

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radnip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running
Code:
gcc-config -l


I get:


    [1] i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.4 *
    [2] i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.4-hardened
    [3] i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.4-hardenednopie
    [4] i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.4-hardenednopiessp
    [5] i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.4-hardenednossp


From the list it would appear that gcc-4.5.4 isn't installed.
However if I run
Code:

emerge -l gcc


I get

    [IP-] [ ] sys-devel/gcc-4.5.4:4.5


I also run another command earlier (I'm sorry I can't remember which) which told me that the the latest usable version
for my system was 4.5.4 and that version was installed (or something to that effect).

In the meantime, I thought I'd try and breakdown the emerge process of gcc-4.5.4 and try and step through using ebuild.

I checked the /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc directory to find there are ebuilds for a range of different gcc packages. A directory listing gives me:


    ChangeLog gcc-3.1.1-r2.ebuild gcc-4.1.2.ebuild gcc-4.4.2.ebuild gcc-4.5.1-r1.ebuild gcc-4.6.2.ebuild
    ChangeLog-2006 gcc-3.2.2.ebuild gcc-4.2.4-r1.ebuild gcc-4.4.3-r3.ebuild gcc-4.5.2.ebuild gcc-4.6.3.ebuild
    Manifest gcc-3.2.3-r4.ebuild gcc-4.3.3-r2.ebuild gcc-4.4.4-r2.ebuild gcc-4.5.3-r2.ebuild gcc-4.7.0.ebuild
    files gcc-3.3.6-r1.ebuild gcc-4.3.4.ebuild gcc-4.4.5.ebuild gcc-4.5.4.ebuild gcc-4.7.1.ebuild
    gcc-2.95.3-r10.ebuild gcc-3.4.6-r2.ebuild gcc-4.3.5.ebuild gcc-4.4.6-r1.ebuild gcc-4.6.0.ebuild gcc-4.7.2.ebuild
    gcc-2.95.3-r9.ebuild gcc-4.0.4.ebuild gcc-4.3.6-r1.ebuild gcc-4.4.7.ebuild gcc-4.6.1-r1.ebuild metadata.xml


So I ran (and have run many times) :
Code:

ebuild /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc/gcc-4.5.4.ebuild unpack

The routine creates the ./homedir and the ./temp dir my Portage Temp directory (in my case)

    /dev/shm/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.5.4

And then hangs again.


To try and find out where ebuild was hanging I added the "python-trace" to the "FEATURES" keyword in /etc/make.conf and ran ebuild again with the --debug flag. I found that the ebuild was cycling on the whirlpool.py script. I looked in the whirlpool.py script to find I couldn't understand a word !

I'm pretty much exhausted by the all business.

Any ideas would be welcome.

Thanks
Andrew
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1338
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the compilation of a conftest hangs, you can kill the process. configure will then continue. In you case, it will fail on the fortran part, but (hopefully) continue with what is necessary.

Another question: For what exact reason are you using /dev/shm ?

Oh and could you post the last log of your try to build gcc on pastebin, please?

If everything keeps failing you might as well grab a binary version of gcc from http://tinderbox.dev.gentoo.org/ to (at least) be able to continue.
_________________
I *do* know that I easily aggravate people due to my condensed writing. Rule of thumb: If I wrote anything that can be understood in two different ways, and one way offends you, then I meant the other! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum