Job Interview
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nomilieu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:58 pm    Post subject: Job Interview Reply with quote

I need to prepare for a job interview. I don't know many details about the position, but supposedly it involves some C coding. (The title is programmer analyst, with C listed as a desired skill.)

I haven't coded much in C since I was an undergraduate. (I pretty much do everything in bash or python, as I take the path of least resistance.) That said, I'm sure I could pick it all back up quickly. Through my social channels, I know that this company doesn't necessarily mind training know-nothings, although I don't know how much that depends on the particular position. (I know of a guy with zero programming knowledge who got hired there as a programmer. They sent him through a training program.)

More to the point, are there any obvious technical questions I should be prepared to answer? I would hate to come off as a pleasant guy but give a headsmack-inducing answer to an easy question. If you were the hiring manager, what would you want to know?
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somebody at work once shared this link: https://sites.google.com/site/steveyegge2/five-essential-phone-screen-questions

Of-course I didn't read it but might be useful (or not).
nomilieu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, that's useful, as this is actually a phone screening (although they call it a phone interview). It's not with some random screener though; it's with the person directly responsible for hiring, and if I don't fuck up, there would be a more traditional interview afterward.