Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Battery drain Gentoo > Windows. Any solutions?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 7:44 pm    Post subject: Battery drain Gentoo > Windows. Any solutions? Reply with quote

Hi there,

I have been using Gentoo for ~5 months now and I love it. I don't like coming back to windows but I must do it when I use my laptop. There was a Gentoo installed on it once, before it has its motherboard changed (dunno if it was Gentoo, or rather misconfiguration fault). Back then it could handle max 2,5h of working w/o stressing much. Windows gives me 4h+ at same situations. I have used all governors available but it did no good (on demand, conservative etc).

My laptop is HP 6560b with i5 2nd gen, 1600x900 LED, 4GB ram, some radeon 6000 series i believe (not very strong of course).

I'd love to install here Gentoo too, but i simply cannot if there is no way to fight that fast battery drain...
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe should I install Sabayon Xfce? :)
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you installed Gentoo the last time, what did you do with power management? Have you seen the Gentoo Power Management Guide?

- John
kbzium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep I've seen it. I did what they recommended. Maybe there is no support for my gpu (downthrottling) or something?
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kbzium,

There is a lot more to power saving than the CPU governor.