Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Connecting to internet before installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Omead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:23 pm    Post subject: Connecting to internet before installation Reply with quote

Hi everyone,
I am new to Gentoo and am trying to install it on my Toshiba Satellite L650D laptop (and this is my first post here). After booting from a live usb (amd64 iso) I can not connect to my adsl modem (wired). There is no password for the internet and my other systems connect to it with no problem. I have tried all the solutions of the handbook with no luck. Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7939
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Omead. Welcome to Gentoo. :)

Is there not a router associated with your ADSL modem? Or is this one of those things that connects directly to a PC only has Windows instructions?

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The modem is a wireless CIsco Liksys WAG 120N modem that is connected directly to the phone line and I can connect to it wirelessly (with password) and wiredly (without a password) through both my Windows and Arch Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7939
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, it does have a router. Two choices. First, connect to it wired for the installation, which will probably work out of the box. Second, the SystemRescueCD has better wireless support, is Gentoo-based, and supports a basically unmodified Handbook install.

The 3rd choice is to start troubleshooting, which we can do, but it's much easier to start with something that Just Works™. :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I tried again and unfortunately I couldn't connect to the internet. But I realized from your answer that I can use other live CDs, so I googled and found out that I can even install it from my Arch. This would be better as I can follow the instruction step by step. I will report about this later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 342
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just setup gentoo on a Portege R830, and the ethernet didn't come up automatically. However, running
Code:
net-setup eth0
did work, and allowed the installation to proceed according to the handbook. I have had some fun with the kernel settings, and (horror of horrors!) I resorted to genkernel to get a working kernel, and I am now off to play with the settings for my own kernel.

Best of luck with your efforts!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My situation is kind of strange. Two weeks ago I tried to install x86 live cd and the command "net-setup eth0" worked well (although I gave up installation later). But this time with x86-64 live cd I can not connect to the internet with the same command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32452
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Omead,

If you want to troubleshoot, we need much more information.

Connect wired networking, boot with the CD, if networking does not JustWork, run
Code:
ifconfig -a

Do you have an interface called ethX, where X is a number?
Thats your wired interface. Run
Code:
 net-setup ethX
where X is the number from the command above.
X is normally 0 but need not be.

If there is no ethX, the kernel driver for your ethernet interface is not loaded. We may be able to fix this with modprobe but there are hundereds of different ethernet drivers so we need to know the right one.
Run
Code:
lspci
and post any lines that say Ethernet or Network.

If you have more than one ethX, you need to connect to the correct one. ie, if the wire is connected to eth1 and you set up eth0, its not going to work.
Worse, the boot order is not deterministic. It can swap from boot to boot with the liveCD but we can fix that in your own install.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I managed to install gentoo amd64 on my system from inside my Arch, based on this guide and then Creating necessary device node files. So I have a command line gentoo but still I can not connect to the internet. The output of lspci is this:
Code:

02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8152 v1.1 Fast Ethernet (rev c1)

and here is the output of
find /lib/modules/(kernel version)/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko'
Code:

/lib/modules/3.4.9-gentoo/kernel/drivers/scsi/scsi_wait_scan.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.9-gentoo/kernel/drivers/char/kcopy/kcopy.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.9-gentoo/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-logitech-dj.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.9-gentoo/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/test_nx.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.9-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_mark.ko
/lib/modules/3.4.9-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_LOG.ko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WOW :!: I installed gentoo several times and never encountered these problems 8O

To check if there's any driver associated with your network devices, check the output of:
Code:
awk '/Atheros/,/Kernel/' <(lspci -k)

awk '/Realtek/,/Kernel/' <(lspci -k)

What you're looking for is the last or next-to-last line which says Kernel driver in use: e.g
Code:
laptop bill # awk '/Atheros/,/Kernel/' <(lspci -k)
09:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1702 802.11bgn Half-size Mini PCIe Card [AR9002WB-1NGCD]
   Kernel driver in use: ath9k

If the driver is compiled in-kernel, then no .ko files will be present in /lib/modules/$(uname -r) :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Omead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I reinstalled the system, this time with systemrescu and then in kernel configuration I enabled both driver and now wired network is working and I am trying to connect via wireless that I think I will be able to do it. Thank you all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum