Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
tuxonice-userui-1.1 kills fbsplash (resolved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Odysseus
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:40 pm    Post subject: tuxonice-userui-1.1 kills fbsplash (resolved) Reply with quote

I'm running ~amd64 on my laptop. Before you make some smart-ass sarcastic remark, I know what I'm doing is risky. However, I've been running ~arch for over 6 years and have experienced only minor issues.

That said, yesterday when I updated my system sys-apps/tuxonice-userui-1.1 was one of the packages in the cue. It built and installed as expected, however, now when I hibernate or resume from hibernation my beautiful fbsplash is missing. All I get is a black screen and nothing indicating progress. The result is similar to the standard Suspend2 hibernation on an unpatched kernel. It does succeed in properly hibernating and resuming, but I want find a way to get my fbsplash screen back.

I filed this bug report yesterday https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=439120 but I hope someone here could help point me in the right direction in getting this issue resolved.

Previous versions of tuxonice-userui installed the executables, 'tuxoniceui_text' and 'tuxoniceui_fbsplash' in '/sbin'. The new version only installs one executable, 'tuxoniceui' in '/sbin'.

Running 'tuxoniceui --help' gives the following output:

Code:
"Usage: /sbin/tuxoniceui [options]

-t, --test
     Specifying -t once will give an demo of this module.
     Specifying -t twice will make the demo run as fast as it can.
     (useful for performance testing).
  -f
     Use fbsplash interface by default.

TuxOnIce UserUI version 1.1 (modules:text )"