Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No spellcheck in Firefox 15
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PM17E5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: No spellcheck in Firefox 15 Reply with quote

Apologies in advance if this is a dumb post, but how do I enable spellcheck in firefox 15? I used to have it a few versions ago, I looked up and found a few mentions of useflags related to it, but they were very old and it seems to have changed because now I don't see anything spell related.

My emerge --info is:

Code:
Portage 2.1.11.18 (default/linux/amd64/10.0, gcc-4.6.3, glibc-2.15-r2, 3.5.3-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-3.5.3-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-2620M_CPU_@_2.70GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 18 Sep 2012 18:30:01 +0000
app-shells/bash:          4.2_p37
dev-lang/python:          2.7.3-r2, 3.2.3-r1
dev-util/cmake:           2.8.9
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.27.1
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2
sys-apps/openrc:          0.10.5
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.6
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13, 2.69
sys-devel/automake:       1.9.6-r3, 1.11.6, 1.12.3
sys-devel/binutils:       2.22.90
sys-devel/gcc:            4.6.3
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.7.3
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.2
sys-devel/make:           3.82-r3
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 3.5 (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.15-r2
Repositories: gentoo x-portage
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="${EPREFIX}/etc/gconf /etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--autounmask=n"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles news parallel-fetch protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
LINGUAS="en"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acl amd64 berkdb bzip2 cli cracklib crypt cxx dri fortran gdbm iconv jpeg mmx mmxext modules mudflap multilib ncurses nptl openmp pam pcre pppd readline session sse sse2 ssl ssse3 tcpd unicode zlib" ALSA_CARDS="hda-intel" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard evdev mouse synaptics" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" LINGUAS="en" PHP_TARGETS="php5-3" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_2 python2_7" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby19" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="intel" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, USE_PYTHON


My firefox version is:

Code:
[ebuild   R    ] www-client/firefox-15.0.1  USE="alsa custom-cflags custom-optimization dbus ipc jit minimal webm -bindist -debug -gstreamer -libnotify -pgo (-selinux) -startup-notification -system-sqlite -wifi" LINGUAS="-af -ak -ar -as -ast -be -bg -bn_BD -bn_IN -br -bs -ca -cs -csb -cy -da -de -el -en_GB -en_ZA -eo -es_AR -es_CL -es_ES -es_MX -et -eu -fa -fi -fr -fy_NL -ga_IE -gd -gl -gu_IN -he -hi_IN -hr -hu -hy_AM -id -is -it -ja -kk -km -kn -ko -ku -lg -lt -lv -mai -mk -ml -mr -nb_NO -nl -nn_NO -nso -or -pa_IN -pl -pt_BR -pt_PT -rm -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -son -sq -sr -sv_SE -ta -ta_LK -te -th -tr -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW -zu" 81,757 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 5282

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if it's no longer a compile option and you have to download and install a dictionary as an add-on?

I am not a fan of this rapid development crap Mozilla has been pulling lately. A year from now, what? Firefox version 526? That flies in the face of what version numbers are supposed to stand for.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: http://gentoostudio.org
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/gentoostudio
G+: https://plus.google.com/113947758237122861689/posts
Pappy's Kernel Seeds: http://kernel-seeds.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquous
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 646

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't you simply go to Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced and tick the box saying 'check my spelling as I type'?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PM17E5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef: Me neither, I was surprised to see how quickly they just blew through all those numbers. I rarely ever see applications get into double digits with version numbers. I wonder that too, it's an area I'll have to do some reading in.

Aquous: I was hoping it would be that simple but upon checking that option, turns out it's enabled despite my lack of a spell checker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PM17E5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still having this issue, a couple firefox recompiles/upgrades later. Anyone got any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PM17E5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfieh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2009
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to install the dictionaries as addons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PM17E5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did that and it still doesn't seem to work. It worked for a little while when I first installed it, in some instances. But doesn't seem to ever highlight anything or offer suggestions any more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dewhite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 54
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wanted to chime-in that I'm experiencing the same issues with firefox & thunderbird (versions 17.0.2 for both) on two different systems.

From googling around, it looks like maybe it's a widespread issue with upstream?
_________________
Work FS: X4 805 || 4Gb DDR2 || nVidia 7200GS || 5x 250Gb SATA Drives in RAID5

Home FS: C2Q Q6600 || 4Gb DDR2 || ATi x800pro || 4x 2TB SATA Drives in RAID5

Home Desktop: Phenom X6 1045T || 8Gb DDR3 || nVidia GTS 250 || Samsung 840Pro SSD w/ FDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PM17E5
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It wouldn't surprise me, I've long since uninstalled the plugin and given up on this because no matter what I do it doesn't seem to have much of an effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dewhite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 54
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, in fiddling around with Thunderbird, I noticed that while composing a new message, I was able to select English (US) from a drop-down next to the 'Check Spelling' Button. That got inline spellcheck working for t-bird.

1 out of 2 is better than none.

I wonder if the problem is related? Something like, Firefox has the required dictionary installed, but none is selected by default? Hmm...

Also, while I was playing around, I upgraded to Firefox 18.0-r1 ~amd64. No joy, so I'll downgrade back to stable for now, I guess.
_________________
Work FS: X4 805 || 4Gb DDR2 || nVidia 7200GS || 5x 250Gb SATA Drives in RAID5

Home FS: C2Q Q6600 || 4Gb DDR2 || ATi x800pro || 4x 2TB SATA Drives in RAID5

Home Desktop: Phenom X6 1045T || 8Gb DDR3 || nVidia GTS 250 || Samsung 840Pro SSD w/ FDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dewhite
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 54
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Success!

I installed the "dictionary switcher" add-on, and surprise surprise - no default dictionary had been set in Firefox (just like t-bird). Selecting English (US) now allows my browser to remember the difference between spelling, and speeling...

Yay.

For any that want to play along, you'll notice that after installing the add-on (and restarting FF) you'll have to add the control to one of your toolbars, it is called: "spell checker".
_________________
Work FS: X4 805 || 4Gb DDR2 || nVidia 7200GS || 5x 250Gb SATA Drives in RAID5

Home FS: C2Q Q6600 || 4Gb DDR2 || ATi x800pro || 4x 2TB SATA Drives in RAID5

Home Desktop: Phenom X6 1045T || 8Gb DDR3 || nVidia GTS 250 || Samsung 840Pro SSD w/ FDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum