Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Install Gentoo over NFS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:14 pm    Post subject: Install Gentoo over NFS Reply with quote

I try to boot my system over nfs and got following error at boot time:

Booting (initramfs).mount: mounting /dev on /newroot/dev failed not such file or directoy


my pxelinux.cfg/default :

default 2012-07-10 14:56:16

default kernel-genkernel-x86-3.2.12-gentoo_10
prompt 0
timeout 100

label default kernel-genkernel-x86-3.2.12-gentoo_10
prompt 0
timeout 100

label kernel-genkernel-x86-3.2.12-gentoo_10
kernel kernel-genkernel-x86-3.2.12-gentoo_10
append root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/nfs vga=791 video=vesafb:ywarp,mtrr:0x317 nfsroot=10.10.103.52:/cast2/nfsroot,ro,nolock,rsize$


any help?? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

How did you make your initrd ?
I see genkernel ... so I guess you let genkernel do it for you?

Either /newroot is missing, /newroot/dev is missing or you don't have DEVTMPFS set in your kernel.
You are not compelled to using an initrd either, provided you set up your kernel with everything needed as built in <*>, not <M>.

I have two netbooting systems here, so I can post a worked example if you want.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes i use genkernel.

How can is set DEVTMPFS in my kernel?

Can you post an example for me?


Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

Its unlikley genkernel builds a kernel that will boot over NFS without some help from you.
If you really want to use genkernel, you need to help it out by using
Code:
genkernel --menuconfig --all

I'm not a genkernel user, so the -- may only be a -.

If you want me to look at your kernel configuration for you to tell the options you need to set, please make friends with wgetpaste.
wgetpaste is on the Gentool liveCD.

boot the CD, mount your root filesystem at /mnt/gentoo (over nfs if you need to) then issue the command
Code:
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config
This will put your .config file on the web and return a web address where it can be found.
Tell us the web address. The .config is too big to fit in a post.

I'm tempted to reccoment kernel.seeds.org but Pappy does not support root over NFS. Its still a better starting point than genkernel, and you won't need an initrd, unless you have a separate /usr or /var, use raid or lvm. The root over NFS changes to a seed are very few, so its not that hard.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is my config:

https://gist.github.com/3714014
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

From your .config you appear to have everything built in that you need to netboot, so no initrd is required
Unfortunately, I can't check your network card setting as I need your lspci output for that.

Don't load or call the initrd. As your append line in your first post is truncated, I can't edit your own append line.
This boot block works for me
Code:
LABEL Radeon-New
        MENU LABEL 3.4.4-Gentoo With Radeon
        KERNEL /3.4.4-gentoo
        APPEND ip=dhcp root=/dev/nfs rootfstype=nfs nfsroot=192.168.100.55:/var/mediaplayer rootpath=/var/mediaplayer radeon.audio=1

Map that onto your install or post your entire APPEND, even if its in several parts.

If you post your lspci, I can check that you have the right network card driver configured as =y too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my network card is on board so i no can use lspci command is there a other way for get the information?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i could install lspci now my network card information can be found at:

https://gist.github.com/3722007
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

Your network card is
Code:
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)

That needs
Code:
CONFIG_E1000E=m


Its unfortuname that this is a module as you need it to mount root over nfs.
Using make menuconfig, set this to <*>, rebuild and rinstall your kernel.

If you post your full APPEND line, I can edit it to not call the initrd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is my default conf:


Code:
append root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/nfs vga=791 video=vesafb:ywarp,mtrr:0x317 nfsroot=10.10.103.52:/cast2/nfsroot,ro,nolock,rsize=8192,wsize=8192 ip=dhcp noapic acpi=off noraid nodmraid combined_mode=libata initrd=initramfs-genkernel-x86-3.2.12-gentoo_13 splash=silent,fadein,theme:cast2_default console=tty1 quiet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

Try
Code:
append root=/dev/nfs rootfstype=nfs vga=791 video=vesafb:ywarp,mtrr:0x317 nfsroot=10.10.103.52:/cast2/nfsroot,ro,nolock,rsize=8192,wsize=8192 ip=dhcp noapic acpi=off noraid nodmraid combined_mode=libata splash=silent,fadein,theme:cast2_default console=tty1 quiet

If that fails, reduce it to
Code:
append root=/dev/nfs rootfstype=nfs nfsroot=10.10.103.52:/cast2/nfsroot,ro,nolock ip=dhcp
If that fails too, post the error message.
Provided that works, you can add the other things back a bit at a time.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

both time i got : VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, try floppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

Please post the /etc/exports file from 10.10.103.52 and check that nfsd is running there.

As the diskless system booted, did its network configuration get set as you expected?
The messages may still be on the screen.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/cast2/nfsroot 10.10.103.0/24(ro,sync,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check,insecure,nohide,no_acl)


I restarted the nfs daemon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

The ro option is a problem as the boot process will want to write into /etc and to /var, both of which are on root.
I don't think this stops you getting to the login prompt but if you do, lots of thhings will have failed to start.

If you really want a read only root, you need a separate /var and /etc/mtab needs to be a symlink to /proc/mounts, since /etc/is read only.
Make it work first, before you go there.

If you bring the diskless box up with a liveCD/DVD can you do a manual nfs mount to say, /mnt/gentoo.
You did not answer my earlier question about the diskless sysem gettinga an IP address?
Does it and what is it?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after change to rw I have still the same issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

Can you nfs mount the exported filesystem anywhere at all?
Just to test the the nfs server works as expected.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no i got following error:

Code:
portmap query failed: RPC: Authentication error


after:

Code:
 mount -t nfs  10.10.101.52:/cast2/nfsroot /mnt/nfs/ -v -o nfsvers=3,vers=3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andytheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 71
Location: BASEL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works with:
Code:

 sudo mount  -t nfs  10.10.101.52:/cast2/nfsroot /mnt/nfs/ -v -o nfsvers=4,vers=4
mount.nfs: timeout set for Tue Sep 25 15:35:15 2012
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'nfsvers=4,vers=4,addr=10.10.101.52,clientaddr=10.10.101.52'
10.10.101.52:/cast2/nfsroot on /mnt/nfs type nfs (rw,nfsvers=4,vers=4)



but still problem with nfs mount to client
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31982
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

andytheg,

nfs ver 3 should work for root over nfs. Version 4 looks like it requires an initrd.

You need net-fs/nfs-utils on the server and nfs ver 3 support in the sever kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum