Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bus Error When Attempting to Initialize Links
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cutless
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:56 am    Post subject: Bus Error When Attempting to Initialize Links Reply with quote

First, let me say I've tried Google and my Google Fu has failed me. I also tried searching around here, but with an unspecified bus error from the program links, it's quite difficult to find anything. I'm not far into the install process, I've only setup an account, network settings, partitions, and filesystems; now I've found myself stuck already. :? I have irssi going and I'm able to connect, so I'm guessing it isn't directly related to my network settings. It's an older Pentium 4 box. I'm trying to retrieve the Stage3 tarball to continue the install.

I'm probably going to facepalm when the answer is something basic, so thanks in advance for any advice offered. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cutless,

Welcome to gentoo :D

Try using a live cd media like mint or ubuntu. It will make it a lot easier being able to use firefox to navigate the installation handbook and gentoo download sites.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cutless
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the minimal install CD, and I'm doing this as a learning experience. Could you point me in the right direction as to how to troubleshoot something like this. Basically, I'm following a guide loosely and am here. I'm trying to do this GUIless, I want the challenge. Would you still recommend using a different distro's LiveCD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cutless wrote:
Would you still recommend using a different distro's LiveCD?

Absolutely :D

The only thing you'll circumvent is having to use links to navigate the web. If you're a masochist and insist on using links then by all means we'll try to help you, but more information about the error would be required.

I've never used links and I'm not sure about others in the forum so try to reply with the error message that you get - pasting it here would be the best procedure.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cutless
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't get an error ID, unfortunately, merely a readout after I enter the command "links *link to tarball*" that reads "bus error." I'm more or less concerned that if that's happening now it may be a problem that rears its ugly head in the future.

Edit: I should mention that this old box doesn't boot from USB, and I've already altered the partitions so I'd have to do a decent amount of backtracking from a terminal to reset the partitions to the old default to boot into Linux Mint, my previous primary OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cutless,

I'd bet it's an error unique to links and you'll probably never use it again.

If you can use wget instead, here's the links to the i486 and i686 stage3

ftp://ftp.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/current-stage3/stage3-i486-20120710.tar.bz2

ftp://ftp.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/current-stage3/stage3-i686-20120710.tar.bz2

ftp://ftp.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/current-stage3/stage3-i486-20120710.tar.bz2.CONTENTS

ftp://ftp.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/releases/x86/current-stage3/stage3-i686-20120710.tar.bz2.CONTENTS
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cutless
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I told you I was going to facepalm at how easy the solution was. :lol:

Now I've encountered another problem, when issuing the command "emerge gentoo-sources" I get error 12 (errno 12). A quick Google mentioned extending the swap partition, so I did, to 2GB. I just tried again and had the same issue. I issued the command "free" and it's showing no space left on my swap partition. I would think 2GB is plenty. Is there something I need to set to mark the swap partition as such? My fstab perhaps?

I really appreciate the help. Hopefully I'm not being too much of a nuisance. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cutless,

The fstab for gentoo doesn't come into play until you boot the kernel. What live media are you using and what's the memory :?:
Code:
cat /proc/meminfo |grep Total

_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cutless
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MemTotal: 513580 kB
SwapTotal: 0 kB
VmallocTotal: 515728 kB

I'm using the latest minimal ISO burned to a CD-RW.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8938

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillWho: that is a UUOC.

Cutless: it appears that you do not have swap activated, so the system is attempting to fit everything into physical memory, of which you have only 0.5GB. I believe running free showed that you have no active swap, which is why you have no free swap space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cutless.

Maybe you overlooked activating the swap partition :? If you had more memory it probably wouldn't matter, but in your case it is needed.
Code:
swapon /dev/sda2

Naturally you're going to use the right partition.
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum