Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
1st gentoo minimal install, new computer, blank screen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the lenovo blessed (or cursed) with a uefi motherboard?
booting the mint livecd on usb was offered as a way to boot a linux system.
installing mint was offered as a way to establish internet connection.
Do you, corellon, now have an internet connection from the lenovo??
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is motherboard information.
Code:

Motherboard
   Manufacturer   LENOVO
   Model   Lenovo (Socket FS1r2)
   Version   IdeaPad Z585
   Chipset Vendor   AMD
   Chipset Model   A55/A60M FCH
   Chipset Revision   00
   Southbridge Vendor   AMD
   Southbridge Model   A55/A60M
   Southbridge Revision   11
   System Temperature   44 °C
      BIOS
         Brand   Phoenix Technologies Ltd.
         Version   60CN09WW
         Date   04/26/2012


Update: The internet works, but only from windows 7, which I have just cloned from the stock drive to my ssd... Give me a minute to install mint.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The internet now works within the mint livecd. There was no need to install mint and I believe all I had to do to solve that issue was a simple reboot with the ethernet cable plugged in beforehand.

Now the question remains. How to install gentoo within a different operating system's livecd?
EDIT: I just want to know where to begin with this. I know you guys have said already to just start from chapter 4 in the handbook, but isn't it different from a livecd perspective? Please, once again, take into consideration that I have never done this before..


Last edited by corellon on Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot the mint cd to a gui,
open a terminal window in the mint gui
open a browser in the mint gui, open the gentoo handbook in the mint browser window, suggest arranging browser window and terminal window side by side.
as root (sudo -i) in the terminal window:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo

proceed as directed by the gentoo handbook from http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?style=printable&full=1#book_part1_chap4 executing commands from the handbook in the terminal.
(repartitioning and installing a file system should remove any trace of a mint install)
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
boot the mint cd to a gui,
open a terminal window in the mint gui
open a browser in the mint gui, open the gentoo handbook in the mint browser window, suggest arranging browser window and terminal window side by side.
as root (sudo -i):
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo

proceed as directed by the gentoo handbook from http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?style=printable&full=1#book_part1_chap4 executing commands from the handbook in the terminal.
repartitioning and installing a file system should remove any trace of a mint install


Thanks. This is more or less what I was looking for.


Last edited by corellon on Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:14 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know mint, assumed it like ubuntu boots to a desktop.
if it does not boot to a desktop you will have to type commands into the mint terminal, presumably running a browser with the handbook open in it on the inspiron.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Solid_State_Disk may be worth a read
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How does this look so far? Haven't screwed anything up too badly yet, have I?
Code:

mint ~ # df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/cow            2.7G  335M  2.4G  13% /
udev            2.7G  4.0K  2.7G   1% /dev
tmpfs           1.1G  980K  1.1G   1% /run
/dev/sdb1        30G  802M   30G   3% /cdrom
/dev/loop0      770M  770M     0 100% /rofs
tmpfs           2.7G   12K  2.7G   1% /tmp
none            5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
none            2.7G  260K  2.7G   1% /run/shm
/dev/sr0        164M  164M     0 100% /media/Gentoo Linux amd64 20120621
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have been thinking about the limited writes available to SSD's. I really hate that laptops have such limited number of drives.

Since the gentoo boot and swap partitions dont really need a ton of space (50GB~), wouldn't it be better, in theory, to install them to something like an sd card? Would that even be possible?

Update: Should I be worried about this?
Code:

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boot at 50mb is usually plenty. 6 gb swap should hiberate with room to spare. I am no expert on hibernate. an external drive of some sort is certainly possible. using the card reader should work as long as driver exists. if you have a flash card handy see if mint sees it.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you got mint into a gui you can use gparted. and 'see' the disk layout.
if no gui
Code:
parted -l
should show your partitioning.
if mint tried to install i presume it defaulted to gpt partitioning.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything is smooth sailing from now (unless I run into another problem).

Thanks to everyone thats helped so far.
Thanks DONAHUE!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

buon viaggio!
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 4 partitions already and cant make anymore. They are called "SYSTEM_DRV" "Windows7_OS" "LENOVO" and "LENOVO_PART". They came stock on the machine. What can I do at this point?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in your first post I took
Quote:
Note: the only thing I have done to the laptop that is not stock is replace the hard drive with an SSD, so Gentoo will be the first operating system installed to it.
to mean that you personally had physically removed the hard drive that came with the lenovo and replaced it with an ssd purchased separately. From your description of the partitions you've found I now guess that you exercised an option when making your purchase to have an ssd instead of a hard drive. In which case the maker/seller installed an oem copy of windows 7 and a lenovo software package and a lenovo recovery package on the ssd. If this guess is correct the maker/seller has probably used all the space on ssd which would prevent making any new partitions.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are correct in that there is a discrepancy in the note i posted before and what I am saying now.
I believe I did, however, say somewhere in the thread that I cloned the original windows 7 os from the hard drive to my ssd. I may be mistaken though and may have left that out from the thread.
The reason I installed windows 7 was to possible make life easier by using something I was already familiar with, but apparently it is only making it worse.
You say that these partitions are only backups? Now, that I think about it, I already have this information (the two lenovo partitions) on two disks already. If these two partitions are not integral to the operation of the windows 7 os, do you think it would be fine to just delete them?
Also, I do have enough space - over 40GB of it... From what I have read in the handbook there is a limit of 4 partitions that can be made, more if you create an extended partition. I do not, however, wish to make an extended partition out of one of the lenovo paritions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the limitation of MBR, not a problem with UEFI.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just downloaded the stage3 tarball without changing directory to the mountpoint. Is this a problem? If it is a problem, how can it be fixed?

Its part 5b in the handbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mv /path/tarball /mnt/gentoo
where /path/tarball is replaced by the current location
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I dont know my current location though. This is where Im at right now in the terminal:

mint ~ # ls
blank.gif
mint ~ # ls -l
total 4
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 148 Sep 9 19:34 blank.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo
does it work?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you made /mnt/gentoo and have cd'ed into it run
Code:
wget http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/autobuilds/current-stage3/stage3-amd64-20120621.tar.bz2
check that ls /mnt/gentoo shows
Quote:
stage3-amd64-20120621.tar.bz2


edited to add wget to command
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corellon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I caught my mistake. I didnt install the right thing, which explains the "blank.gif" file. Also, the directory that its in is this: "~". Didnt know that was an actual directory, my apologies.

I will attempt to delete whatever those 4 files were that I downloaded and download the right thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

links is hard to navigate; use wget procedure above
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for portage snapshot use:
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo
wget http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/snapshots/current/portage-latest.tar.bz2

Code:
ls /mnt/gentoo
to check
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 2 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum