Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to install Radeon HD 7640G Card
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cat /etc/portage/package.keywords

x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati

Please can you tell me what you see in this new message ??
http://bpaste.net/show/44456/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 443
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing new, it is still the same message (see the time).

As for the drivers - are you running the 'emerge -avuDN world' from the chrooted environment?
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2280
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've put it in the wrong file. Unfortunately portage is next to useless at providing diagnostic warnings for errors like that.
Code:
echo "x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati" > /etc/portage/package.unmask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is what I did I know how to put an atom to /etc/portage/package.keywords.
cat /etc/portage/package.keywords
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati

I properly installed the xf86-video-ati, I wouldnt know what the problem is.I love gentoo, I cannot
afford to give up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please here is my .config workaround - > http://bpaste.net/show/44531, can you tell me the error in
this messages , here is my /var/log/messages - > http://bpaste.net/show/44532
Please can you tell me what this error referring to ??
[drm] Loading TURKS Microcode
ni_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin"
[drm:evergreen_startup] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!

could it be that /lib/firmware/ directory ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not configured a system with the Radeon Southern Islands (7000 series) chipset yet. My system uses the 6970, (Northern Islands), chipset. However, my advice is to configure your radeon driver as kernel modules, and don't build them into your kernel. The benefit of this approach is that your system will autoload the correct firmware when your system boots.

I'm not sure why the Gentoo Radeon wiki pages, (1, 2) instructions are only that radeon drivers and firmware should be built into the kernel, especially given that one of the hints in this wiki, is to configure the kernel for modules, and look to see which firmware blob is autoloaded, in order to manually configure the kernel. Easier to just leave the kernel radeon drivers as modules, don't configure any firmware blobs in kernel, and the system will autoload the correct firmware.

If you go back and configure your kernel as you described in the original post of this thread;

Configure your kernel with;
Code:
1) Device Drivers -> Graphics Support -> <M> /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
1a) and under /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) ---> <M> AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support

2) Device Drivers -> Graphics Support -> <M> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
2a) and under Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) ---> <M> ATI Radeon
                                                                                   [*]   Enable modesetting on radeon by default - NEW DRIVER

UPDATE: My previous configuration of using the ATI framebuffer driver gave me a blank console screen, on my recent system installation. In order to get my framebuffer working correctly I configured my kernel with these settings;
Code:
3) Device Drivers -> Graphics Support -> {*} Support for frame buffer devices --->
3a) and under Support for frame buffer devices ---> [*]   Enable firmware EDID
                                                    [ ]   Framebuffer foreign endianness support  --->
                                                    [*]   Enable Video Mode Handling Helpers
                                                    [*]   Enable Tile Blitting Support

and do not select any framebuffer drivers.

Then continue configuring your kernel and do not include the radeon device firmware blob;
Code:
4) Device Drivers -> Generic Driver Options ---> -*- Userspace firmware loading support
                                                  []    Include in-kernel firmware blobs in kernel binary
                                                  ()    External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary

Then build and install your kernel and modules. You then need to emerge either;
Code:
x11-drivers/radeon-ucode-20120320

for installing only the Radeon firmware blobs, or;
Code:
sys-kernel/linux-firmware-20120816

for installing the Radeon firmware blobs along with a bunch of other device firmware, like the Intel WiFi firmware, etc.

Then edit your /etc/make.conf VIDEO line to be;
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon radeonsi"

Finally make sure you update and rebuild your world, which should mean you will have the following installed;
Code:
x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.39
media-libs/mesa-9_pre20120831-r1
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1

If you don't have those versions installed, then you may have accidentally masked something somewhere. You'll need to remove them, and make sure to emerge the latest version. Reboot and check your dmesg output. You shouldn't have any microcode failed loading messages anymore.

Good Luck..

UPDATE: I recently performed a clean install of the latest Gentoo ~amd64, (gentoo-sources-3.5.4), on my Clevo P150HM/ATI 6970M laptop and found out that I could not now get the framebubuffer console display to work correctly with the instructions I had previously used above. I'm updating my post with what did work.


Last edited by jasn on Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:26 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2280
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tobigen wrote:
That is what I did I know how to put an atom to /etc/portage/package.keywords.
cat /etc/portage/package.keywords
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati

I properly installed the xf86-video-ati, I wouldnt know what the problem is.I love gentoo, I cannot
afford to give up.

Firstly: that configuration you have created does absolutely nothing, you're supposed to put "**" at the end to keyword it. Secondly, the drivers aren't keyworded, they are package.masked. Which is why I said you've put it in the wrong file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 443
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ekhm, Ant, I don't want to argue with you, but I think you are wrong twice: xf86-video-ati is just keyworded, not masked, and there is no need to use '**' in package.kewords...
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2280
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, after re-reading the manpage again it looks like I screwed up. Apologies, I haven't used portage in years so it's easy to miss these things.

radeonsi cards won't run well on released drivers for a few weeks/months regardless.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what exactly are you suggesting ? Should I go ahead and add x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.6-r1 to /etc/portage/package.use or /etc/portage/package.masked ?? I have successfully installed this driver. It was not masked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The result is the same . Shall I send you the .config of Linux SysRecueCD that I am using to boot my laptop maybe it may suggest where the problem lies ?
This is the /var/log/messages http://bpaste.net/show/44761 and .config http://bpaste.net/show/44762

These are the Errors so far ?
No AGP bridge found
ACPI: No dock devices found.
[drm:radeon_dp_link_train_ce] *ERROR* channel eq failed: 5 tries
[drm:radeon_dp_link_train_ce] *ERROR* channel eq failed


[drm] Loading TURKS Microcode
ni_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/TURKS_pfp.bin"

[drm:evergreen_startup] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
[drm:evergreen_init] *ERROR* radeon: MC ucode required for NI+.
radeon 0000:01:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init

My other question is how about using the Catalyst proprietary drivers "fglrx" in VIDEO_CARDS ? I dont just want to guess?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2280
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those errors are nothing to do with the X11 driver. Your kernel is missing firmware files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I cannot to boot to X I think my system should be able to boot to the shell prompt ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 412
Location: Maryland, US

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tobigen wrote:
My other question is how about using the Catalyst proprietary drivers "fglrx" in VIDEO_CARDS ? I dont just want to guess?

You probably should. I'm suspicious that the error codes;
Code:
[drm:radeon_dp_link_train_ce] *ERROR* channel eq failed: 5 tries
[drm:radeon_dp_link_train_ce] *ERROR* channel eq failed

and the fact that your system is saying that it failed to load the TURKS firmware, may mean there's something wrong with the hardware. Testing the fglrx driver, (under linux or windows), should be able to determine that.

Good Luck..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows, Linux Crunchbang & slitaz 3.0 run ok on the machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2280
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are those latter two using the radeon driver or some generic VESA framebuffer driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tobigen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes slitaz uses VESA framebuffer driver, I dont know what crunchbang uses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geekamole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much, jasn, with switching everything to modules. After months of trying different kernels and manually specifying firmware blobs, my new laptop (Toshiba Satellite L875D-S7232, an A8-4500M fusion APU) is now running the open source radeon driver for the first time! That method should definitely be in the wiki.

One stumbling block was that when I switched AGP to a module, menuconfig disabled the following needed options, breaking udev:

CONFIG_TMPFS=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_XATTR=y

I just had to re-enable them and it's working great. Quite helpful of menuconfig to disable options with disabled dependencies, but it would also be helpful to re-enable those options if the dependency is immediately restored.

Now to get the WiFi to stop freezing up and I'll have this machine at 100%!

EDIT: I tried to reproduce the AGP thing to see if it turned anything else off, and it didn't happen with a blank config. So maybe it was one of the other options or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hardburn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I've been having issues myself with a AMD A8-4500M APU (aka HD 7640G). I had a problem with the console being blank after uevents run on startup (but was fine once X loaded), but this works now. The two remaining issues are:

1) X session becomes scrambled intermittently. Switching to a console VT is still scrambled.
2) Doesn't detect the VGA output
3) Setting "eselect opengl" to the ati driver causes glxgears to fai. Using xorg-x11 is fine. Here's the error:

Code:

X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  154 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12


Some other details:

* Kernel 3.12.21-gentoo-r1
* Using "radeon.modeset = 0" in kernel args
* Loading both ARUBA and TURKS firmware blobs
* Kernel drivers for agpgart, drm, and radeon are set as modules

Complete kernel config: http://pastebin.com/RGEf9ADG

Edit: Also, my Xorg.0.log shows the 'radeon' module getting unloaded because it can't find a framebuffer device:

Code:

[    19.063] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[    19.063] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[    19.063] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libfbdevhw.so
[    19.097] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    19.097]    compiled for 1.15.0, module version = 0.0.2
[    19.097]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 15.0
[    19.097] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory
[    19.097] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fbdev
[    19.097] (II) Loading sub module "fbdevhw"
[    19.097] (II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
[    19.097] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libfbdevhw.so
[    19.097] (II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    19.097]    compiled for 1.15.0, module version = 0.0.2
[    19.097]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 15.0
[    19.097] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory
[    19.097] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[    19.097] (II) UnloadModule: "radeon"
[    19.097] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[    19.097] (II) UnloadModule: "fbdev"
[    19.097] (II) UnloadSubModule: "fbdevhw"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TobiSGD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2014
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using radeon.modeset=0 efectively disables any acceleration for the video hardware. Enable that again and you should be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hardburn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So with "radeon.modeset=1", Xorg.0.log no longer shows the radeon driver being unloaded, which is great. But it also returns the system to where I was before--the boot terminal goes blank after uevents are processed, and X can't show on an external VGA screen at the same time as the main display.

The VT going blank is something I could live with (not preferable, but not the end of the world), but I do need the VGA out to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum