Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce without thunar[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:20 pm    Post subject: xfce without thunar[solved] Reply with quote

Hi , i removed thunar from xfce because i don't need and without it i don't have a background ... I try to set it with feh or nitrogen but i fail. What can i do?(except from emerging thunar...) :)

Last edited by pelargos on Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if you right click on the desktop, then go to settings->desktop , you can't set the wallpaper?
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
So if you right click on the desktop, then go to settings->desktop , you can't set the wallpaper?


Yes i can't set it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What error do you get?
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
What error do you get?

It's like i don't have desktop... i can't right click and when i go to change the background it does nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah nevermind xfce without thunar = no desktop...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thunar should not be required to get desktop functionality -- that is provided by xfdesktop, which is pulled in by the xfce4-meta package.

With xfdesktop installed you should be able to right click and set the wallpaper.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
Thunar should not be required to get desktop functionality -- that is provided by xfdesktop, which is pulled in by the xfce4-meta package.

With xfdesktop installed you should be able to right click and set the wallpaper.


No, because i tried to reemerge it and it automatically installed thunar..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pelargos wrote:
No, because i tried to reemerge it and it automatically installed thunar..

Only if you have the "thunar" USE flag enabled. Without this USE flag, xfdesktop won't automatically install Thunar, but you still get the right-click menu and the ability to set the wallpaper.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
pelargos wrote:
No, because i tried to reemerge it and it automatically installed thunar..

Only if you have the "thunar" USE flag enabled. Without this USE flag, xfdesktop won't automatically install Thunar, but you still get the right-click menu and the ability to set the wallpaper.


Wow you pwned me! Thanks for the tip! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hypnos
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 2868
Location: Omnipresent

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No "pwnage" here, just usually how Gentoo works: if something seemingly unnecessary is being pulled in, probably due to a USE flag.
_________________
Personal overlay | Simple backup scheme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pelargos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Jul 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hypnos wrote:
No "pwnage" here, just usually how Gentoo works: if something seemingly unnecessary is being pulled in, probably due to a USE flag.


Yeah just for fun i said it. i didn't mean it. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum