Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] eth0 does not exist
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:31 pm    Post subject: [Solved] eth0 does not exist Reply with quote

Hello,

I've just finished the install of gentoo, but after reboot my network device cannot be found.

I configured and compiled the kernel from hardened-sources. When it was done compilling this messages appeared:
"Found 8 modules mismatch(es)"
Is this bad, and could this be the reason it can't find my network device?

I'm installing on a Intel Desktop Board D425KT (Intel Atom), which have this network controller:
Realtek RTL8105E

In the kernel menuconfig, I enabled all Realtek and Intel under "Ethernet device support".
How ever when I run "make menuconfig" from the same .config file, only Intel (82586/82593/82596) devices are enabled and the list way shorter than before - containing no realtek.

lspci -k from livecd:
Code:

Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 05)
Subsystem: Intel Coporation Device d626
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169


Last edited by KLIM8D on Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:01 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Oct 2011
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds to me, as you are working with other kernel sources as you did when you configured it. Do you remember the version?

What do
Code:
eselect kernel list
and
Code:
ls /usr/src/
say?
_________________
https://plaintext.blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

olek wrote:
Sounds to me, as you are working with other kernel sources as you did when you configured it. Do you remember the version?

What do
Code:
eselect kernel list
and
Code:
ls /usr/src/
say?


I backed up my old kernel build and ran emerge hardened-sources afterwards.

eselect kernel list:
Quote:

[1] linux-3.4.5-hardened *
[2] linux-3.4.5-hardened-bak



ls /usr/src/
Code:

linux
linux-3.4.5-hardened
linux-3.4.5-hardened-bak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oquol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:25 pm    Post subject: Re: eth0 does not exist Reply with quote

KLIM8D wrote:
Code:
Kernel modules: r8169


The right kernel option you need is probably this:
Code:

Device Drivers  --->
 Network device support  --->
  Ethernet driver support  --->
   [*]   Realtek devices
   < >     AT-LAN-TEC/RealTek pocket adapter support
   < >     RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support (EX
   < >     RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter supp
   <M>     Realtek 8169 gigabit ethernet support

_________________
Dell N5010, ATI HD5650 1GiB, HDD 500GiB, Core i3 370 2,4GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: eth0 does not exist Reply with quote

oquol wrote:
KLIM8D wrote:
Code:
Kernel modules: r8169


The right kernel option you need is probably this:
Code:

Device Drivers  --->
 Network device support  --->
  Ethernet driver support  --->
   [*]   Realtek devices
   < >     AT-LAN-TEC/RealTek pocket adapter support
   < >     RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support (EX
   < >     RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter supp
   <M>     Realtek 8169 gigabit ethernet support


Does it matter if it's compiled with <M> or <*> ?

I've compiled the kernel using <*> infront of that driver

heres my .config:
http://pastebin.com/ve6VTebK

and full output of lspci -k:
http://pastebin.com/t11aTZAL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oquol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:19 pm    Post subject: Re: eth0 does not exist Reply with quote

KLIM8D wrote:

Does it matter if it's compiled with <M> or <*> ?
It doesn't matter. (At least I think so).

What does
Code:
dmesg | grep r8169

say?
_________________
Dell N5010, ATI HD5650 1GiB, HDD 500GiB, Core i3 370 2,4GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54244
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KLIM8D,

It only matters a little if you use <M> or <*>.

<M> means make a loadable module, so the code can be removed from the kernel. Loadable modules are stored in /lib/modules/`uname -r`/
Most modules are auto loaded but udev or the kernel but not normally network modules, so if you use <M> you may need to name the module in /etc/conf.d/modules so its loaded at boot.
You can load it manually too.

If you use <*> the selected code is built into the kernel binary. Its loaded with the rest of the kernel and cannot be removed from memory.

There are several advantages to <M>. You can compile and load a module into the running kernel, no reboot required.
Many modules take module parameters at load time. Sometimes the correct module parameter needs to be determined by trial and error.
Loadable/unloadable modules mean you can try a parameter, if its not right, unload the module and try another one.
With <*> (built in) code a reboot is required.

Many USB Wifi devices and a few sound cards are like this.

What does
Code:
ifconfig -a
show now?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seems like it didn't boot with the right kernel, it used the one from the install media.

How ever, new problem. I'm not able to boot - my system now gets kernel panic at boot.
Here's some pictures of the screen:
http://imageshack.us/g/443/img20120921012642.jpg/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
supperskidvn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The drivers for your Network card are either:

- Not installed
- Failed at start up
- Not configured correctly.

If you include the Make/Model/version of your network card we can start helping from there.

In linux device names are assigned to hardware devices. Skyhome In this case: eth0 corresponds to an ethernet card.

In a terminal (console) type the following and paste the result along with your card information:
Code:
Quote:
dmesg | grep eth0

Oh, and as a second opinion. Although some people may say that Gentoo is 'newbie friendly' my personal opinion is that you already need some background to play with it.

I would highly recommend starting with a different distribution and then, play with Gentoo.

I like Gentoo, I've installed and used Gentoo, I like the concept, I think that you can learn a lot. I just think that you can get the most of Gentoo after you have used another distribution.

Why?

- Well, Some parts of the installation steps just say 'Include the required drivers' (For example, network card drivers). If you haven't installed another distribution, you may note even know that you need a driver. This is not a criticism of the installation documents, they are awsome, just the nature of the problem.

- During the Gentoo installation you have many options and that's great. Except that you need to know what the options are before deciding.

- The most talked about advantage of Gentoo is the ability to optimize to your own needs. Well, you need to know what you are doing to take full advantage of this 'feature', If you just do a level three and don't play with the optimizations, then Why do you want Gentoo? (Actually the install documentation asks this same question)

- As a 'first experience' new users may get the idea that installing linux is always very labour intensive. Well, Some distributions are as easy as popping in a CD, configuring two or three things and you are on your way in 15 minutes. (For example, puppy linux)

So, I see that you've come a long way installing Gentoo. Congratulations! It's been fun eh?
So, send us that info about your card and we'll help you the next mile.
_________________
[URL="https://top1betting.net/2019/07/13/188live/"]188live[/URL]|
[URL="https://top1betting.net/v9bet/"]V9bet[/URL]|
[URL="https://top1betting.net/dafabet/"]DafaBet[/URL]|
[URL="https://top1betting.net/vwin/"]Vwin[/URL]|


Last edited by supperskidvn on Sat Mar 30, 2024 12:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note: booting what you suspect is the wrong kernel would be a
"/boot/grub/grub.conf" problem. (That is where you list kernels
to be displayed as boot options in the grub boot menu.)

grub.conf syntax and logic is a whole subject of its own.

If the Gentoo manual is not enough:
http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/grub/index.htm

There is a sea change in progress from grub-1.x to grub-2.x
in the upstream grub project. Grub-1.x, also known as "grub-static"
in Gentoo Portage, is still the stable grub bootloader in Gentoo,
but many systems are now using grub-2.x for a variety of reasons.
There are differences in syntax, etc.

(Some of the reasons for moving to grub-2.x are GPT, a new partition
table format that can accomodate large disks and has other
advantages over DOS MBR format, and EFI system
initialization:
http://rodsbooks.com/gdisk/booting.html
http://www.rodsbooks.com/efi-bootloaders/index.html
http://rodsbooks.com/gdisk/bios.html
)

You probably do not need to make this change from grub-1.x to
grub-2.x simply to boot kernels in your new Gentoo system, but if
the online grub documentation seems to be talking about two
different programs at times, this may be why. You need to know
whether it is grub-1.x or grub-2.x that a page is referring to.
_________________
TIA


Last edited by wcg on Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wcg wrote:
Note: booting what you suspect is the wrong kernel would be a
"/boot/grub/grub.conf" problem. (That is where you list kernels
to be displayed as boot options in the grub boot menu.)

grub.conf syntax and logic is a whole subject of its own.

If the Gentoo manual is not enough:
http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/grub/index.htm

There is a sea change in progress from grub-1.x to grub-2.x
in the upstream grub project. Grub-1.x, also gnown as "grub-static"
in Gentoo Portage, is still the stable grub bootloader in Gentoo,
but many systems are now using grub-2.x for a variety of reasons.
There are differences in syntax, etc.

(Some of the reasons for moving to grub-2.x are GPT, a new partition
table format that can accomodate large disks and has other
advantages over DOS MBR format, and EFI system
initialization:
http://rodsbooks.com/gdisk/booting.html
http://www.rodsbooks.com/efi-bootloaders/index.html
http://rodsbooks.com/gdisk/bios.html
)

You probably do not need to make this change from grub-1,x to
grub-2.x simply to boot kenels in your new Gentoo system, but if
the online grub documentation seems to be talking about two
different programs at times, this may be why. You need to know
whether it is grub-1.x or grub-2.x that a page is referring to.)



What was causing the system to boot the wrong kernel, was I used the syslinux from my USB install media and not the new installed bootloader, When the system booted, my booted kernel was of version 3.2.12 which is not the version I compiled (3.4.5)

It's booting the right kernel now, and using Lilo as bootloader. Now I'm struggling with the kernel panic as the pictures show above
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, it's solved now. I found this post: http://askubuntu.com/questions/71332/kernel-panics-with-cannot-open-root-device-error-where-do-i-append-the-root

Where the guy had the same error messages as I did. Followed some of the suggestions and compiled my kernel with all ext3 + ext4 options and nvidia-sat, and some more. Finally I can get started setting up my system :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, grub issues are not relevant to this system, and you probably know
lilo's config file from use with another Linux distribution. Your error log
shows that the kernel is possibly not finding the root partition. In grub.conf,
it is specified as "root=/dev/[partition on a device]" as part of the
"kernel" command.

Perhaps you need lilo to pass the same information to the kernel,
with an "append=" within the "image=" sections for the different kernels.

Code:

man lilo.conf


You might be able to run that logging in from the install cd and
chrooting. If not, the man page for lilo.conf can be found online:
http://netadmintools.com/html/5lilo.conf.man.html

(Scroll down to "Kernel Options".)
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KLIM8D
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wcg wrote:
So, grub issues are not relevant to this system, and you probably know
lilo's config file from use with another Linux distribution. Your error log
shows that the kernel is possibly not finding the root partition. In grub.conf,
it is specified as "root=/dev/[partition on a device]" as part of the
"kernel" command.

Perhaps you need lilo to pass the same information to the kernel,
with an "append=" within the "image=" sections for the different kernels.

Code:

man lilo.conf


You might be able to run that logging in from the install cd and
chrooting. If not, the man page for lilo.conf can be found online:
http://netadmintools.com/html/5lilo.conf.man.html

(Scroll down to "Kernel Options".)



Yes I've been using ArchLinux for some years now, so I'm not completely now to Linux. How ever it's one of the first times I compile my own kernel, and wanted it to get as minimal as possible for my server.
As my post above says, the problem is solved now. It was some kernel modules that wasn't enabled and therefore the system couldn't understand my filesystem or partition scheme or what ever. Well I enabled some sata modules and a few ext4 modules aswell and everything runs perfect now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum